We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique surprise”
Review of Paia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

So often 'boutique' hotels seem to disappoint. These are places that try too hard and lack coherence. That's not the case at Paia, where the hotel pretty well lives up to its billing - and manages a few pleasant surprises too.

Yes, it's relaxed, a little chic in a beachy sort of way, and it's in the middle of the Paia action. The rooms are nice (ours was on the front, and although the road is busy, the double glazing is effective), comfortable, clean and welcoming.

Surprises? The private alley from the back of the hotel to the garden is a delight - clean, well maintained and decorated with nice touches on the way. Then, you arrive at the garden, right on the beach! All the gear you need is right there for you to pick up - chairs, towels, boards - and when you step out of the gate, the beach is amazingly empty and provides a lovely view as the sun goes down, and a tranquil place to nibble breakfast away from all the buzz.

Paia Inn was the perfect end to our Maui visit!

PS We tried Mamas Fish House a couple of miles away for dinner, and had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FastTraQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Paia Inn. The staff was terrific and made you feel at home with a welcoming glass of wine. Just a few steps out the back door led you to a “private” beach with very few subscribers and beach towels and chairs were included. Internet access was free and speedy at 15 mbps. Quality coffee in the morning was included at their “bistro” but nothing else. If you needed ice, you had to buy it next door at the gas station. Parking was free if you parked your car ½ block away in their special lot.
The room was very clean and uniquely stylish, but admittedly was smaller than a cruise-ship room. There was no room to place your luggage so you had to stack it in a pile. The bed was a mattress (foam?) on a platform, and was uncomfortably rock hard. The “Garden View Deluxe” was a wooden wall out your door. The online pictures of the rooms were well done because they certainly made the rooms to appear much better than they really were.
While we enjoyed our stay, along with the terrific staff, we felt the accommodations were grossly overpriced for value received.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Applejacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

What a great place! We had one day left in Maui and had fallen in love with the town of Paia, so were fortunate to get a room at the Paia Inn. From the outside, we had no idea what to expect. Cute like the rest of town. But from the moment we pulled our car into the driveway, the Paia Inn became an experience. We were promptly met and shown to our beautiful room, and given just a few directions with our keys. The rest was one lovely discovery after the next. Beautiful gardens, incredible beach just beyond a grassy sitting area! The rooms and the grounds are impeccably maintained, yet the entire atmosphere is very welcoming and informal. Walked to everywhere in town- restaurants, coffe shops, gelato, shave ice, and one of the best markets we have ever seen. Laid back elegance. Deserves the highest rating.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff about your needs. They are extremely helpful and kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My boyfriend gave me a questioning look when we pulled into this hotel adjacent to a gas station parking lot, but he ended up loving it as much as I did. They do an excellent job of soundproofing so that even the Friday night of the block party with music and pingpong just outside our room, we didn't hear a thing. And you have all the benefits of being in town with plenty of yummy casual restaurant choices, coffee bars, shops, etc. I only wish we had checked out the beach behind the hotel sooner. We were off doing and seeing other things around the island and almost missed it. The staff is very friendly. This is a welcome alternative to the generic, Disney World-esque resorts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brusheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We wanted a hub for Haleakala, Hana, and Upcountry. Looked at lots of places and so glad we stayed in Paia and at the Paia Inn. My boyfriend and I are generally low maintenance and don't require much but we like a quiet, clean, comfortable spot at the end of the day. Certainly more pricey than other options in the area, but I picked the Paia Inn because I knew we wouldn't have to worry about anything. The staff is awesome - how many times do you come back after dinner and the hotel staff greet you by your first name because they remember it from the day before. Our room (#2) was small, which I knew when I booked. But we were hardly in our room except to sleep and plan our day. If you are worried about a small room, then go outside - you're on vacation. If I stayed in the room, I would have used the provided AppleTV to watch netflix. We are early risers and Anthony's Coffee shop across the street opens at like 5:30am so we always had amazing coffee (the hotel has complimentary coffee for later risers). We used the free parking lot a block from the hotel so no charges there. We didn't use the private beach access but I overheard that it was redone. We ate breakfast at the hotel on our last day and it was really good. Would easily stay at the Paia Inn again and have no hesitation recommending it to a friend. Notes on Paia: skip Mama's Fish House - so expensive and frankly not that good. Moana's cafe was way better.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of a room that faces the street. You don't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chartfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

You definitely should consider staying at the Paia Inn. It's a gem! We couldn't have been happier with our stay there. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Someone was always ready to help. They'll even take your luggage from the car to the room. There are so many little touches that make the difference between having a place to stay and a place to call home for a few days. For example, the inn has a noise machine in every room--not because there are bothersome noises to mask, but just to help make sure guests get a good night's sleep. The bedding, linens and toiletries are all top-rate. The inn has its own beach access and provides chairs, towels and beach toys. The tree-covered courtyard is where custom-made breakfasts are prepared, and they are delicious. The location is great--right on the Hana Highway, in the middle of the business district. The rooms are all in the back, though, so there is no street noise at all. There are two computers and a printer, which was a great help when we needed to print boarding passes. We had a two bedroom suite, and it had a fully-equipped kitchen. While we didn't prepare and cook food, it would be a great convenience and savings for those who want to do that. We appreciated just having a nice big refrigerator with cold water and ice, with room to store fruit, beverages and restaurant leftovers that we could reheat the next day. The small living room had only a three seat couch, however, and the kitchen table sat four. This was adequate for us (three people) but might be a problem for bigger groups. The bedrooms were small and didn't have much space for storing clothes or even leaving an open suitcase, but the beds are super comfortable. There are flowering trees everywhere. It is serene!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I retreated to Paia for a couple days after a week in Wailea/Kihei. I just wanted to stay someplace that didn't feel like a typical resort. The Paia Inn definitely fit the bill. The boutique feel was a welcome change from the other accommodations I'd just experienced in Maui. My room (1) was small (and without a window), but the bed was comfy, the furnishings nice, and the bathroom felt pretty luxurious. The staff was super friendly, too -- as was every person I spoke with in Paia. There's no elevator, but they'll help you with your stuff. Parking is tricky in town, so you'll want to snag a spot in the designated parking lot down the block.

The beach access is nice, although it was overcast and drizzly for most of the day I was here, so I didn't get to partake much. My one quibble is that the price is really high for what you get -- which is a small room -- and because it's an inn, they lack some of the amenities that the resorts offer. That's not a bad thing, but it doesn't really feel like the best value. Still, when I travel, I like to visit unique places, so I'd definitely spend a couple nights here again. Paia was my favorite town on the island.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pourtant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
30.9 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
503 reviews
27.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.8 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
27.2 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 8 in Wailea
1,056 reviews
26.2 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range: $273 - $1,256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique inn seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing