We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paia Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paia Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed at the Paia Inn after reading Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed! The staff members are all extremely friendly and helpful and Paia Inn was completely charming, in an off-beat and quirky way. I really cannot say enough about the fabulous staff. We stayed in the two bedroom ground floor suite with our two young adult sons. It was modern and clean, with super comfortable beds and nice linens and towels. The kitchen was well equipped and very clean.
We spent half of our week in Paia and half on the more dry west coast. We loved Paia for its hippy, comfortable, relaxed air with restaurants, coffee shops and Mama's Fish House. Paia Inn is in a fabulous location: It is RIGHT in the heart of Paia, but quiet and with private beach access. One of the great advantages about staying at the Paia Inn is that you can do the "must do" bike trip to the Haleakala Crater through the Maui Sunriders on Baldwin Avenue, just five minutes on foot from Paia Inn. Waking up at 3:00 a.m. and walking over to the Sunrider's store in the dark was a wonderful experience, as was the unguided bike ride down, neither of which we would have had through a pick-up/drop off tour starting from the large west coast hotels. It is also a perfect place to start from when you do the de rigueur Hana Highway trip: Also a "must do" when you are in Maui.
We ate breakfast at the Paia Inn on our last day, and wished that we had eaten there every morning, although there is a coffee house two minutes down the road by foot, on the Hana Highway just past the lights, that has breakfast burritos, great coffee and super nice hosts. Everyone seems to be happy and friendly in Paia.
Jane Arness

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    122
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
490
38
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We started our trip in Maui by staying the first two days at the Paia Inn. We loved this boutique hotel. The front desk staff were fun, helpful, and certainly wanted us to be happy staying there. They gave us great restaurant recommendations and tips on the area. The one bedroom suite was fabulous and met all of our needs. Loved the extras - including use of beach bags and suntan lotions down by the easy to access beach. Our next trip to Maui will definatley include a few more days at this great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLOVEMauiNOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our family stayed in several of the rooms while staying in Maui for our wedding. We arrived on Maui in the evening so we wanted a hotel close to the airport for our first night on the island. We stayed in one of the two bedroom units - it was very clean, had a kitchenette and small bathroom, and an outside covered patio. On our second stay on the back end of the trip, my husband and I stayed in one of the smaller one bedroom units that had an outdoor shower - it was very cool. They have a wonderful dining area where they offered breakfast, and you could buy additional breakfast items such as omlets. The staff was warm and super friendly. It is right in the center of the small town with retail shops and restaurants in walking distance. I would highly recommend going across the street to the Paia Fish Market and try the opa fish tacos. It was a wonderful hotel and we look forward to going back! Actual stay - Sept 2010.

Room Tip: Try the room with the outdoor shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneBagJustForShoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

While this is a review of the Paia Inn, it sort of isn’t. I will explain. We stayed in the one bedroom guest house. We thought the guest house would be close to the inn, on or near the beach (where the inn is). In reality, the guest house is literally someone’s house in a residential neighborhood about a half mile from the inn. It is not on or near a beach. So in a way it felt a little less like a vacation and more like staying at a friend’s house. I am not saying that is bad, it was just a little different than we expected. I wish the Paia Inn website had been a bit more descriptive on the location of the guest house.

As for the house itself, it was very nice. While they say it is one bedroom, there is a second bedroom with a trundle bed. The house was nicely appointed and was very well stocked. There is a nice kitchen and a barbeque grill should you want to cook. There is a washer and dryer. The house has wi-fi (free). There is a nice yard with a hot tub and lounge chairs, but the cushions on the lounge chairs were very dirty and moldy, making them unusable.

Be aware that there is no daily maid service at the guest house. So no one will be making your bed each day, bringing you fresh towels and doing dishes/glasses. The inn sends a maid out every third day to do a cleaning and make the beds. When we got to the house, there was no bar soap in either of the two showers. So we had to use liquid hand soap until we ran out the next day to get a bar of soap.

One thing to note, the bed is extremely noisy. The box spring on the bed makes creaking and crunching noises every time someone makes the slightest move on the bed, even rolling over. I know that may sound weird, but I have never come across such a noisy bed.

Since we were not staying in the inn, we did not have breakfast there, so we can’t comment on that. We did use the beach at the back of the inn a couple of times. They provide chairs, towels, boogie boards and snorkel gear. They even provide suntan lotion. There are two places you can lay out, a grassy yard at the back of the inn (with lounge chairs) or on the beach itself. The beach is nice, but it is narrow and much of it has a steep slope. This side of the island tends to be windier and the surf is bigger than on the south side of the island (e.g. Wailea).

Paia itself is a nice little town. It is on the Hana Highway and is the last major town heading east before getting to Hana. If you are staying in the inn, you can walk to several restaurants (all casual). Shorts, tee shirts and flip flops seemed to be the uniform of the day in all the restaurants.

I read a lot of reviews on this site, looking for something on the one bedroom guest house, but info was scare. So I hope this helps someone considering the guest house. While the guest house was very nice, for the price (almost $400/night) I would probably stay somewhere on the beach next time. The guest house location is why I gave it four stars instead of five. If you don’t need to be on the beach and are OK with a house in a residential neighborhood, I would recommend the guest house.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neutron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed two days in Paia and had another excellent stay at the Paia Inn. We were in a one bedroom suite. You are steps away from the beach as well as steps away from dining or shopping. The room was well appointed, quiet, and a peaceful place to hang out. The service is always excellent and the hotel and location are highly recommended. PS, The french toast for breakfast was ono.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank South_Pacific_Seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Friendly cordial staff made this a fine spot. The room was comfortable and well appointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I are fortunate to travel to Maui often and have stayed at many hotels, a few condos and some rustic accomodations in Hana. But we both love the room we stayed in at the Paia Inn to be our favorite because it is so charming, so eclectically decorated and because it feels like our own little secret bungalow tucked away in the foliage. We love the path to the beautiful beach, the delicious breakfasts prepared for us each morning, the delightful patio with music, the great location in Paia and to top it off the fantastic and caring staff. The hotel has thought of alot of little extras to make your stay more comfortable. I miss it and wish I was there right now!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JulieBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paia
30.8 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
44.8 km away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
27.5 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
32.4 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
27.2 km away
Hotel Wailea
Hotel Wailea
#1 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paia Inn

Property: Paia Inn
Address: 93 Hana Hwy, Paia, Maui, HI 96779
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Paia
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The postcard perfection of Maui’s North Shore (white sand beaches, raging waterfalls, stylish cafes, and world-class surfers) just got even better with the opening of the Paia Inn. This beach town boutique hotel seamlessly blends modern amenities with the historic character of its building. In a nod to the town’s plantation trade days, the building’s exterior has retained its charm with tin rooftops and rustic hues; yet, the interior mixes contemporary island furnishings with the chic lushness of the W Hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paia Hotel Paia
Paia Inn Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing