We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Curry”
Review of Thai Spice

Thai Spice
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Paia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 6, 2018

With a hankering for Thai, we drove from Kahului to Paia to try Thai Spice based on the reviews I read. They did not disappoint! While the restaurant is quite small (maybe seats 10 people at 5 tables), they pack a punch in the food they serve. There was a curry seafood special written on the board which we both tried. We did wonder if it was truly a special or something they have on the menu every day. Regardless, it was good. We also had the Summer Rolls which didn't quite meet our expectation as they seemed like they might have been made earlier in the day; the accompanying peanut sauce was spot on. The staff seemed preoccupied which did deter from the level of service. But we would go back? ...Most definitely. We saw a lot of people getting take-out - locals included.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GDawgs_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

Our friend that lives on Maui recommended Thai Spice since we are Thai foodies! We invited him to join us too! He ordered Masaman Curry which had a great flavor. Almost an Indian taste to it. Wifey had Pad Thai and I had an amazing Panang Curry with Chicken!
The Pad Thai was our least favorite as it didn’t have a traditional Pad Thai flavor but since the other two dishes were so friggin good and the service was impeccable, we give this joint 5 stars!
Thank you Thai Spice! We hope to come back and eat with you soon!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank MikeandMeliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

The food was very very good overall. My wife had the drunken noodles which were very good. I had the coconut fried Mahi Mahi and it was excellent. Only detractor was group of 3 women who were drunk pulled up with loud music playing which they left on after they exited the car and sat down at a table. They seemed to know the owner and/or workers because they welcomed them and hung out with them while music played and drunk behavior ensued.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank davidcQ1205MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

This is a very small place right on the Hana highway. Very good spring rolls and chicken satay. Reasonably priced. I’d definitely go back.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank davidloew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing! This is the best place in town! This was my first time eating Thai food. I recommend Thai Spice!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Juanita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Spice also viewed

 

Been to Thai Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing