We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Day in Maui!”

Platinum Tours of Maui
Ranked #14 of 23 Tours in Wailuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A luxury tour of the Road to Hana. Our buses were originally designed for a maximum capacity of 24 standard touring seats, we removed all 24 and replaced them with 14 luxurious, custom-designed captains chairs. A spacious, luxury ride. Views from outside broadcast into the bus via HD video. Our latest addition to the luxury fleet include fully customized Mercedes Benz Sprinters, 9 luxury seats for max comfort. All vehicles fully stocked with complimentary beverages and snacks. Well-thought-out breakfast and lunch menus for your dining pleasure.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 3, 2016

The day trip was excellent. Dave was full of knowledge about all aspects of the island, the flora and the fauna, history, folk tales. When some of us were hesitant to jump into the hidden cave pool, he showed us how it was done and left us no choice but to jump in after him. The travel was comfortable with captains chairs for 9 people. The food was great, off a menu at two local spots. There is no better way to enjoy a day learning about the island of Maui and visiting some of the most beautiful vistas, water falls, beaches. Thank you Dave for a great experience.

Date of experience: January 2016
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mercedes van"
in 4 reviews
"willie nelson"
in 3 reviews
"tour guide"
in 10 reviews
"road to hana"
in 37 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 6 reviews
"answered all of our questions"
in 2 reviews
"day trip"
in 5 reviews
"excellent guide"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful tour"
in 3 reviews
"rental car"
in 4 reviews
"farm to table"
in 2 reviews
"black sand beaches"
in 2 reviews
"banana bread"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 3 reviews
"great lunch"
in 2 reviews
"hawaiian history"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

29 - 33 of 65 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2016

It was a great tour around Maui leaving from wailea to Hana. Ask for Will he was a wealth of Hawaian history! Nice to relax and drink a beer if I wanted to.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank rebelmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2015

A truly fabulus all-day trip from Wailea to Hana and back again along the west coast road, guided by a a most impressive young man who seemed to know everything that can be known about the Island, its people, history, topogra[gy,customs, flora and fauna, economy and the simple details of everyday life. Twelve full, rich hours! Dave was superb: highly well informed, well-prepared for every eventuality, aan excellent driver, funny, attentive yet not officious, amiable and kind. A rare guide it is, who possesses all these qualities.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 7, 2015

We began the day being picked up at 6:30 am by Dave. Ask for him...he knows his stuff (Island history, plants, locations...) and he is great to spend a day with. We stopped at all the places you would want to see...hidden cave pool, black sand, red sand, turtle resting spot, waterfalls. When you meet Willie, try the coconut candy. I don't usually like coconut at all, but I was a fan of this.

Unlike many of the other tours we saw on the road, we chose from a menu at Charleys and Traavasa. No buffet, no box lunch...real meals. We took our time at each and every stop, we had a conversation with Dave...we weren't just being read facts from a page. He obviously loves what he does, he loves his home island, and he loves sharing with visitors.

We couldn't have been happier with our day. Oh...and Jocelyn (hope I spelled that right) who answered our calls in the office, was a pleasure as well. The website was having issues letting us book and she stepped in and answered all of our questions and got us booked up with a great attitude.

You may think you want to drive the road, but if you want everyone in your group to truly experience Hana and the journey to and from, let Platinum do the driving.

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2015

I was worried about a day tour this long.....the van was incredible comfortable and we stopped for delicious breakfast and lunch (all included). It was terrific. Will, the tour guide rocked.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank babsr626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Platinum Tours of Maui also viewed

 

Been to Platinum Tours of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing