We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food on the Island”
Review of El Charro Mexicano

El Charro Mexicano
Ranked #35 of 172 Restaurants in Aiea
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 4, 2017

We have tried many different Mexican restaurants on the island and this is by far the best overall. Delicious fajitas and combination plates with generous portions and the rice is excellent!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kstravelress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 24 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

My wife asked for some mole sauce on her cheese enchiladas. We were told there would be an extra charge; we should have asked how much! The extra charge was $7.00! Seems they're pretty proud of their mole sauce. We won't be back.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We visited as a family; wife, 2 year old, and myself. The pork taco was delicious, as were the fajitas and enchiladas. The serving size on the fajitas was actually filling, somewhat of a rarity on the island. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2016

I loved the milanesas. Probably the best spot for Mexican food in Oahu, and is also affordable compared to other places.
The staff was friendly, and the place had a good ambiance. Not too quiet, not too noisy.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank garciad607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2016

Real good and tender chicken in a white sauce with poblano peppers. The tripas mini tacos were really crispy. Loved their Jamaica because it was freshly made real good.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SolHnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Charro Mexicano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing