We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Swim with sea turtles, lounge on the Lanai, what...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beach in front of cottage looking north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beach in front of cottage looking north
Beach directly in front of cottage 4-plex cottage view from the beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Beach in front of cottage looking north
Beach directly in front of cottage
4-plex cottage view from the beach
Living room view toward the beach
Living room view from the patio
Bedroom view toward the living room
Bedroom
Fully equipted kitchen with gas stove, refrigerator, microwave
Bathroom consists of 2 rooms: sink and separate room with WC and tub/shower combinaton.
Cottage lanai (patio)
Cottage lanai (patio)
Cottage lanai (patio)
Looking out to the ocean from the cottage patio
Looking across the lawn to the south from the cottage
Beach path in front of cottage
Children swimming in the water in front of the cottage
Looking south from the beach in front of the cottage
Main high-rise building in the condo complex
Warm crystal clear waters--ideal for swimming
Looking north on beach in front of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hauula, Oahu, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
CJ95838
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swim with sea turtles, lounge on the Lanai, what else could you ask for, except...”
Reviewed October 4, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If you are traveling with elderly relatives or are sensitive to high humidity, the first part of my review is for you:

When I booked the property air conditioning (a/c) was listed under amenities. I see it is no longer listed. Hmmm. Since I traveled to Oahu with two relatives in their mid 80s, a/c was important. I first spoke to Kathleen, the booking assistant, who was very understanding about the lack of a/c, but told me I would have to speak to the owner, Karon. Karon said she was unable to provide a portable a/c unit due to restrictions in the complex. She offered to reimburse me if I bought two fans. I bought two fans, let her know, but am sill waiting for my PayPal account to be reimbursed. I must say, my elderly relatives were much more comfortable with the 2 additional fans..

The unit is accessible for the elderly through the sliding glass door on the lanai, not through the back door (there is a step down and cracked pavement). The parking area was directly outside the unit. That was a big plus.

Bathroom: The outer area of the bathroom with the sink had good storage, a small mirrored closet, and good counter space. The inner section of bathroom had a tub/shower that was difficult for one elderly relative to access. as a parenthetical aside, the bathroom has no window or exhaust fan, only an opening in the ceiling covered with screen. It got quite warm while showering and smelly after the toilet was used for a bowel movement.

Sleeping arrangements: While the bed in the bedroom was good for one relative, the futon was too low to the floor when opened into a bed for my other relative to get up from. We jury-rigged a way for her to sleep by not unfolding that side of the futon and building up an place for her feel with pillows in the unit.

Kitchen: Fine for elderly relatives to use and access. Not much counter space, but plenty of storage, a large refer/freezer, gas stove/oven, small microwave, and a plethora of other small appliances (e.g., rice cooker, toaster, coffee maker). Lots of plates, cups, flatware, pots, pans...

Overall, we all very much enjoyed this unit and the location just south of Hau'ula. It was very peaceful, deserted, and beautiful. The lanai for this unit is an amazing space with plenty of places to sit or recline as well as two tables. Most of our time was spent out on the lanai and not inside. The interior of the unit was cute, but could use a bit of updating. Since we weren't looking for anything fancy all was good! There is good internet access.

While the unit is very close to the beach and water, the beach just outside this unit is very steep. That made it almost impossible to my elderly relatives to get down to the water. The water was beautiful, warm, and had enough coral to make snorkeling fantastic! I saw and photographed many kinds of fishes including the Hawaiian State Fish! I spotted two moray eels, but the highlight of my snorkeling adventures was swimming with two huge sea turtles about 30-40 feet offshore from the unit!

There is a very well maintained, 6 foot deep swimming pool in front of the highrise that we enjoyed several times to cool off. There are stairs and a railing allowing easy access by my elderly relatives.

If I do return to Oahu (and more specifically Hau'ula) I would stay here here again. It is a great value for the price and who knows - maybe next time there will be a/c :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lanai
Liked least: This property was advertised as having air conditioning. It did not.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamlvn196...
Loomis, California
1 review
“heaven”
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

If you like being away from starbucks,fast food and city life, then this is the greatest place to be. Beautiful private beach just steps.away from your door. Very clean,quiet and 24 hr. Security. The condo was everything you would want. I would suggest a few more fans or bigger ones and a larger TV. I hated to come home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location,cleanliness and the beautiful beach
Liked least: not large enough fans
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olena M
Concord, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for the money in a great place.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed there for 2 weeks with our two kids at the end of May beginning of June. Wonderful option if you are traveling with young kids and looking for something relaxing and secluded out of town. Pros: great location right on the north shore. Close to most attractions and wonderful beaches. The property in a part of larger hotel that has a private beach. The hotel has a very few people and the often had a whole beach to ourselves. The beach is protected by the coral reef, so the water is very calm which is nice for kids. The snorkeling there is also nice for beginners and youngsters. My 7 years old had fun and even met a turtle while snorkeling there. The weather in this part of the island is also nice. We experienced several short tropical showers and witnessed a rainbow afterwords. There is always a breeze, so it doesn't feel hot even without a/c.
There are many inexpensive local eateries around, mostly serving Hawaiian and Asian food. This can be good and bad. After a week of eating local food, we were sick of rice and macaroni salad and craved for something fancier, so we drove to Honolulu on several occasions to have something different and attend some sit down restaurants after visiting attraction there.In Huula, we mostly did a take out, caz the places are super simple and we had much more fun eating on our open patio and enjoying the sunset. The other nice thing, we could jump in the water right after.
Cottage itself is simple, elegant, a bit outdated but has everything for life there. The bed in okay but the sofa is not meant for sleeping, so there is room for improvements. The best part about the cottage is patio though)
The manager is nice and very accommodative.We had a pleasure booking and communicating with her. We were traveling with infant and needed a crib, she got us one in a timely manner. She also gives a discount if you are coming back. Thank you Karen, we really enjoyed our vacation.
Verdict: Nice location, okay cottage with nice patio, great beach but make sure you rent a car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach,location, patio
Liked least: sofa.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foothills...
placerville ca
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location but walls need hangers and tp aol”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in April 2012

We had a party of four and went to daughters graduation. Great location quiet nice sun beach steps away however narrow but good. Nites were serene but no AC just ceiling fans. Now could have requested April 2014 as 2nd daughter graduated but decided that living space had no place to sit except beds and not enough chairs, and no place to hang anything that was damp or wet- Hawaii is often damp so unless in dryer things stay damp unless in sun. April the shared pool is not heated so really cannot use but beach is better. Challenged to get cross breeze as this is upstairs corner unit with windows on east and north sides of unit. Beds were adequate but separated queen bed but queen bed in side room partitioned by sliding curtain like wall-good enough for some privacy. Kitchen adequate but bathroom and shower small. Best for two but steps up to second floor landing- washer dryer nearby downstair. Price is Ok for what you get. Location, quiet beach nite serene is what you get. No balcony but window view. Could use some upgrades like flat screen more than just basic cable as comfort for night time sit around and rain weather indoor waiting for showers to pass. Oh and we could not find a back up roll of TP but the neighbors downstair in the covered lanai place were friendly enough to give em. Budget minded stay. Parking was in front and easy but spaces were numbered and alittle hard to locate. Shape of parking was not real easy to park when other vehicles around but space was reserved. 2014 spent two weeks in x 2 in north shore.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location and serene evenings
Liked least: no extra space or places to hang out or hang up things except back of chairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2014
This review describes a different cottage than my ground floor cottage because the guest describes an upstairs cottage and my cottage is a ground floor unit with a large patio surrounded by a lava-rock wall. Also, my ground-floe cottage has lots of indoor and outdoor seating with 3 tables and a total of 12 dining chairs. (There is 1 expandable table inside and 2 patio tables) Last year guests in my cottage had a lovely wedding on this amazing beach and a reception for about 10 people on the patio and many guests return, year after year, for large family reunions on the patio too!
(Plenty of bathroom and kitchen supplies are included when guests arrive, but daily maid service is not included; so depending on the length of stay and number of guests and additional visitors, additional supplies may need to be replenished by the guests during their stay--this is so for all vacation rentals by owners.)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed March 9, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle
Reviewed February 23, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LoveHawai...
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This was a very quiet, very pleasant place to stay. The cottage offers everything you need, from kitchen necessities to beach towels and toys. The complex is under 24 hour surveillance and only permitted vehicles are allowed to park there.
The beach is wonderful, shallow and protected by a reef. You can snorkel, watch the turtles swim by and even see them come on the beach.
The cottage is a little far from Honolulu and Waikiki ( about 45 min) but it is very close to activities, like the Dole Plantation, macadamia farm, North Shore, Polynesian culture center, a tone of amazing beaches and the best scenery you can ever wish for.
If you are looking for a less commercial vacation, that is quiet and pleasant. This is the place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: To listen to the waves as I fell asleep!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing