We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family ”

Polynesian Cultural Center
Ranked #5 of 16 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Polynesian Cultural Center, voted the #1 attraction in Hawaii by USA Today, is located along the famous North Shore of Oahu. Explore 42 acres of tropical splendor featuring 6 authentic villages representing the island cultures of Hawaii, Fiji, Aotearoa (New Zealand), Samoa, Tahiti, and Tonga. Mingle with Pacific islanders as they share the majesty of their culture through music, dance and traditional hands-on activities. Our most popular dining option is the award-winning Ali’i Luau. This royal feast blends a delicious array of island and mainland dishes with the excitement of authentic island entertainment from across Polynesia. Finish your adventure though the power of “Ha: Breath of Life,” an action-packed evening show. Ignited by fire, song and dance featuring over 100 Polynesian performers, this story of passion will make this day a truly unforgettable experience. The Polynesian Cultural Center: all of Polynesia in one exciting place.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Very interesting place, creates an atmosphere of learning and understanding of the many countries that make up Polynesia.

Thank jph7378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha!

Thank you for bringing your family to the Polynesian Cultural Center! I'm glad to hear you had a memorable experience with us. We'll look forward to your next visit to Hawaii!

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,845)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"breath of life"
in 1,049 reviews
"ambassador package"
in 472 reviews
"canoe pageant"
in 353 reviews
"luau dinner"
in 208 reviews
"super ambassador"
in 139 reviews
"different cultures"
in 263 reviews
"brigham young university"
in 107 reviews
"canoe ride"
in 307 reviews
"ambassador luau"
in 90 reviews
"island buffet"
in 86 reviews
"no alcohol"
in 170 reviews
"prime rib"
in 102 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 158 reviews
"theme park"
in 131 reviews
"tour guide"
in 437 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 80 reviews
"front row seats"
in 103 reviews
Filter

2,333 - 2,337 of 7,829 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Alllow a full day and get there as early as possible! There is so much to see and do. If you opt for ambassador level you will end up with a native student who will act as your tour guide and make sure you make it to scheduled activities and be your docent throughout the day. The PCC is so large it would be easy to spend a lot of your time just trying to follow the map. It is money well spent. We did the prime dinner instead of the luau only because we had just attended a luau on the big island. However, I would choose the luau next time, because the prime rib dinner was nice, but we would have enjoyed the entertainment at the luau. Don't miss the Hawaiian Journey movie. It is short enough to put in either before dinner or after. The Ha, Breath of life is not to be missed. It is captivating and a cap to a great experience. Remember that this venue is a Mormon one so there will be no alcoholic beverages available anywhere which is a good thing. All of the costumes and dances are modest but very authenticity. Most importantly to note is that all of the proceeds are used to support scholarships for students from other countries. They participate in an "I work" program which means they work at the PCC and attend classes and receive full scholarships with the provision that they meet scholarship standards and return to their home countries to serve whether as an attorney, physician, or whatever career they have chosen. Our tour guide was Lupe, from Tonga. She did an incredible job taking care of us all day and making sure we knew what to do and where to go when she left us at 5 pm. A long day and a bit of a drive, but a memorable one not to be missed.

Thank Angela and Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha Angela and Ron!

Thank you for coming to the Polynesian Cultural Center and leaving a great review for us! It sounds like you had a terrific experience during your visit. We appreciate your feedback on Lupe. I have already forwarded your comments on to her managers so they're aware of her hard work! Please come back to visit us again soon.

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016

We were lucky enough to be able to enjoy the Ambassador package, and I would recommend this to any first time visitors. There is simply too much to see at this place to try and get it all in yourself. The villages are laid out beautifully, full of educational and entertaining activities, and the programs each village puts on are very well produced, visually stunning, and usually hilarious (especially Samoa).

Next comes the Luau buffet, and it does not disappoint. The food is delicious and plentiful, with next to no waiting, and the performances while we ate were as good as the village programs.

Finally, the Ha: Breath of Life show. Unbelievable. A wonderful narrative about the progression of life and death that wove the dances of all 6 cultures into one breathtaking (no pun intended) display of pageantry and skill. Be sure to stay until the end, because the finally is an amazing display of fire dancers and twirlers. Worth every penny, no matter how much you pay.

Thank nookleerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

This was a good experience on the North Shore. However it was not a luau in the sense that we think it is. It was a good buffet plus a theater show explaining The Hawaiian culture. My children found the show very entertaining. Allow the two hours to drive there and get there early so you can take the tour.

Thank Sendee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Aloha!

Thank you for coming to PCC and taking the time to leave us a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves for the most part. If you have any suggestions on how we could have improved your Luau experience, please reach out to me at quality_assurance@polynesia.com. I'd love to hear from you! We hope to host you again on your next visit to Hawaii.

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We would recommend getting there early in the day to make sure you have enough time to see all the cultural shows for each of the areas. Each show takes approximately half an hour. And then there's the cultural activities in each area that you can also participate in.

We got there a bit late on the first day, so we didn't get to see everything we wanted to semicolon however, they I offer you the opportunity to go back within 3 days. We took advantage of this and came back another day and so the remaining shows.

Our favorite show was the one from Samoa. We also enjoyed a luau and the ha Breath of Life show. Our favorite part of the Hot Breath of Life show was the fire dancers, but the dancing overall was incredible.

We enjoyed the canoe ride, as well as paddling the canoe in the Tonga area, and the coconut leaf weaving.

The stuff throughout the Centre was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Also, the Landscaping in the whole Centre was just beautiful.

Going to the Polynesian Cultural Center has definitely made me want to visit some of the other Polynesian Island it has added some new destinations to my bucket list.

Thank rexy_937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2016

Aloha Rexy!

Thank you for coming to visit PCC and taking the time to leave us a great review! We are so happy to hear your family enjoyed your time here. We do the best we can to create meaningful experiences for our guests, and preserve the Polynesian culture. Reviews like yours do a great deal to help spread the word about what our center offers the world. We appreciate your support, and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Hawaii!

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing