We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

Polynesian Cultural Center
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Laie
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Polynesian Cultural Center, voted the #1 attraction in Hawaii by USA Today, is located along the famous North Shore of Oahu. Explore 42 acres of tropical splendor featuring 6 authentic villages representing the island cultures of Hawaii, Fiji, Aotearoa (New Zealand), Samoa, Tahiti, and Tonga. Mingle with Pacific islanders as they share the majesty of their culture through music, dance and traditional hands-on activities. Our most popular dining option is the award-winning Ali’i Luau. This royal feast blends a delicious array of island and mainland dishes with the excitement of authentic island entertainment from across Polynesia. Finish your adventure though the power of “Ha: Breath of Life,” an action-packed evening show. Ignited by fire, song and dance featuring over 100 Polynesian performers, this story of passion will make this day a truly unforgettable experience. The Polynesian Cultural Center: all of Polynesia in one exciting place.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Overall, this place was kind of boring. Also we felt rushed to try to get everything done (we only got there about an hour after it opened). One of the shows was funny (the percussion one). The “luau” was not a luau. The evening show (Ha: Breath of Life) was kind of boring, but I enjoyed the fire portions of the show.

2  Thank Ethan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,841)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"breath of life"
in 1,049 reviews
"ambassador package"
in 472 reviews
"canoe pageant"
in 353 reviews
"luau dinner"
in 208 reviews
"super ambassador"
in 139 reviews
"different cultures"
in 263 reviews
"brigham young university"
in 107 reviews
"canoe ride"
in 307 reviews
"ambassador luau"
in 90 reviews
"island buffet"
in 86 reviews
"no alcohol"
in 170 reviews
"prime rib"
in 102 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 158 reviews
"theme park"
in 131 reviews
"tour guide"
in 437 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 80 reviews
"front row seats"
in 103 reviews
Filter

2,340 - 2,344 of 7,841 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2016

We visited the PCC for the luau and evening show Ha. We had never been to a luau but it seemed like a must do on a first trip to Hawaii, and we were very pleasantly surprised and enjoyed the PCC luau. We went in expecting the worst based on what we had read but we enjoyed the dinner, and it was the only chance that we had during our visit to try a few of the traditional Hawaiian foods like taro rolls, poi and lomi lomi salmon. The entertainment was enjoyable, what you would expect but not too cheesy. As others have noted, since this is run by the Mormon church/BYU there is no alcohol at the luau, contrary to what we had read we did not feel any pressure to take the tram ride and they were pretty up front about the fact that the tour went to the university and the temple. Instead we walked about the islands, which was really nice since it was a beautiful evening and since we had not had an opportunity to visit during the afternoon when they were open, and we were able to visit the ukelele factory exhibit which was interesting. We also liked the evening show, it is certainly a touristy experience but there was a lot of talent and it was an enjoyable evening and made for a change of pace while staying on the North Shore where there is not a lot of evening activity. Based on what we saw during our walk, there is a lot to do in the island areas and the park would be particularly good for families.

Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha Michelle!

Thank you for coming to PCC! I’m so glad to hear that you had a good experience with us. We do the best we can to provide an entertaining, enlightening and family-friendly experience. Thank you for leaving us a review to let us know how we are doing and to spread the word to others about what we have to offer. If you think of any ideas on how we can improve please reach out to me at quality_assurance@polynesia. I’d love to hear from you! We’ll look forward to your next visit with us.

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016

We loved the PCC! We went with the ambassador tour. With that came a Kukui Nut Lei, guided tour of the villages, dinner and a show. They have several packages to choose from and I think ours included more, but we came late in the day and our time was cut short. We were able to come back on another day to finish the tour, but did not have time before the end of the trip.
The dinner we had was a buffet, which consisted of crab, prime rib and all you can eat of salad bar and other offerings. The food was delicious and we walked away very sated!
The show, "Hā: BREATH OF LIFE," was amazing. It showcased some amazing talent and told a wonderful love story. Love of family and true love. Highly recommend!

Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha Jean!

Thank you for coming to visit PCC and taking the time to leave us a great review! We are so happy to hear your family enjoyed your time here. We do the best we can to create meaningful experiences for our guests, and preserve the Polynesian culture. Reviews like yours do a great deal to help spread the word about what our center offers the world. We appreciate your support, and look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Hawaii!

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Very interesting place, creates an atmosphere of learning and understanding of the many countries that make up Polynesia.

Thank jph7378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha!

Thank you for bringing your family to the Polynesian Cultural Center! I'm glad to hear you had a memorable experience with us. We'll look forward to your next visit to Hawaii!

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Alllow a full day and get there as early as possible! There is so much to see and do. If you opt for ambassador level you will end up with a native student who will act as your tour guide and make sure you make it to scheduled activities and be your docent throughout the day. The PCC is so large it would be easy to spend a lot of your time just trying to follow the map. It is money well spent. We did the prime dinner instead of the luau only because we had just attended a luau on the big island. However, I would choose the luau next time, because the prime rib dinner was nice, but we would have enjoyed the entertainment at the luau. Don't miss the Hawaiian Journey movie. It is short enough to put in either before dinner or after. The Ha, Breath of life is not to be missed. It is captivating and a cap to a great experience. Remember that this venue is a Mormon one so there will be no alcoholic beverages available anywhere which is a good thing. All of the costumes and dances are modest but very authenticity. Most importantly to note is that all of the proceeds are used to support scholarships for students from other countries. They participate in an "I work" program which means they work at the PCC and attend classes and receive full scholarships with the provision that they meet scholarship standards and return to their home countries to serve whether as an attorney, physician, or whatever career they have chosen. Our tour guide was Lupe, from Tonga. She did an incredible job taking care of us all day and making sure we knew what to do and where to go when she left us at 5 pm. A long day and a bit of a drive, but a memorable one not to be missed.

Thank Angela and Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCCManagement, Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing at Polynesian Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Aloha Angela and Ron!

Thank you for coming to the Polynesian Cultural Center and leaving a great review for us! It sounds like you had a terrific experience during your visit. We appreciate your feedback on Lupe. I have already forwarded your comments on to her managers so they're aware of her hard work! Please come back to visit us again soon.

Mahalo,

Eric Workman
Exec. VP Development, Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polynesian Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Polynesian Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing