We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Golf course, with great views

Our previous trip to Oahu, and Makaha included another Golf course, now closed, This Golf course... read more

Reviewed September 28, 2018
686idag
,
McAllen, Texas
Great Views

This course has some of the best views I have ever experienced in golf. The fairways are very open... read more

Reviewed March 20, 2016
wlyon
,
Norborne, Missouri
Read all 53 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Waianae
from US$96.75
More Info
from US$124.61
More Info
Oahu Shark Dive
630 Reviews
from US$73.30
More Info
from US$139.00
More Info
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
10
12
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
12
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews green fees nice golf course tee boxes mountains ocean
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 31 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2018

Our previous trip to Oahu, and Makaha included another Golf course, now closed, This Golf course and Country Club has exceptional views of the ocean and comfortable. Very convenient, close to our Condo rental in Makaha Valley Plantation. Initial visit, to inquire about fees, was negative, as employee in the Pro Shop, asked for a 'Hawaii, ID', (we were on vacation) otherwise, fees were $87.00 and more.Disappointed, we made another attempt, in which we were met, by another employee by the Golf Carts...we shared our experience, and he asked if we (my Husband) had a Military ID. Yes, my husband was in the Military...and surprisingly enough...they 'honored' and accepted his proof. Fees were greatly reduced, and we enjoyed 18 holes of Golf! The Golf cart, path, is very 'bumpy'...though we were able to maneuver around...we ended up, having a wonderful afternoon!

Thank 686idag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2018

Great golf course in the beautiful Makaha Valley with breathtaking view of the valley, mountains and ocean. After a round of golf, in 3 minutes you can spend time relaxing at the beach and surf of the famous surfing Makaha Beach. Reasonable green fees and the course is in excellent condition.

Thank Don A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 28, 2017

We visited Makaha Valley Country Club Golf course during the week of May 15th. We had a house less than 2 miles from the course and played there Monday May15th (18 holes), Tuesday May 16th (54 holes), Thursday May 17th (54 holes) and Saturday May 19th (18 holes). Two of us played.

The course itself has a lot of character, mainly due to elevation changes but also the use of doglegs. Unlike many resort courses that are much more expensive (more on that later), you can't just use driver wedge on every hole. We used every club in the bag. It is a bit short but again the elevation changes add to the challenge making it a more than respectable track. The views from the course were amazing and include both the mountains and ocean views (I have included a few pictures).

In terms of course condition it was what I would call average to above average. Do not expect the perfectly manicured greens and fairways of the resort courses that I personally find to be a bit fake. Instead the condition was much more natural. Yes there are some weeds here and there and the tee boxes may be a bit uneven sometimes. But to us that is much more natural and is the kind of golf course we like. It has a lot of character that the grounds crew work very hard to keep that way while also providing a solid golf course to play on. They do a great job.

We especially noticed the closeness of the staff - especially the grounds crew. In the late afternoons after most of the last tee times are out, the staff play a round together. There were more than courteous in letting us play through and were truly enjoying each others company.

If you are looking for a pristine golf course where all the grass is perfectly manicured but has very little character, this is not the place. But if you want a really nice golf course is a beautiful setting at a reasonable price (<$70 - less if you are a senior), you must play Makaha Valley Country Club. You will not regret it.

Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

Just played a wonderful round at this Makaha Country Club course. Rented Taylor made clubs in very good shape. Green fees and club rental was $120 per player..walked on at 1:30 and 18 holes done in 3.5 hours. Course was nice, not too difficult but greens were tricky. Gorgeous views, great friendly staff. Food was average...but very reasonable. This is a course I would recommend to friends...fun!

Thank Getaway30956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016

No longer in operation. Dry greens and noone there. Should be taken off Trip Advisor. It is not open.

2  Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

Take a stroll on these beautiful grounds and eat their devious meals for special holidays!!
Rarely rains here so perfect for golfing and tanning !!

Thank Barbisurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 20, 2016

This course has some of the best views I have ever experienced in golf. The fairways are very open and fair, lots of slope though. Watch out on the greens, lots of slope that is hard to read. 3 puts are not uncommon. Cart paths need work but the rest of the course makes up for it.

Thank wlyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2015

The volcanic mountains surrounding the course was unusual and beautiful. The course was just average and the greens conditions were nothing special.This is the dry side of the island so I wasn't expecting much greenery. Hawaii had a lot of rain this year so it was more green than usual.

Thank S_Scrib555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2015

Makaha Valley is literally located in a valley and scenically very nice and unique. Unfortunately they seem to be struggling financially. The conditions were poor with weeds growing everywhere and portions of greens burned out despite abundant rain. The price was reasonable, the staff was very nice and it was not crowded. Think of this as a low end muni with great scenery. If your expectation level is properly adjusted it's worth the drive.

Thank james c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2015

Great staff, excellent service, cart paths need work, but the course is just perfect. The views are something you will never forget...

Thank Petezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews