We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimanalo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellows Air Force Station
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This is a great place, no frills accomodations walking distance to an awesome beach!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeBatman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

Thanks to June in reservations great hospitality and customer service we will be back again! Wonderful facility all staff very friendly and courtesy.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbearden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

If you are assigned cabin 329A run do not walk away. Since they were full (which they usually are) there was no other cabins available. Cabin 329A is supposed to be a renovated beachfront. If this was their idea of renovated I really shudder to think what the un renovated cabins are like. All the window opening devices were rusted off and missing. The holes they used to occupy were taped over as were the edges of the screens. I found some sticks so I could at least prop the windows open enough to allow the air to flow through. The large front window screen was damaged and had at least a one inch gap in one corner, not good when you are trying to keep out the 4 - 5 inch centipedes. I taped that closed.

The fridge had more rust than metal and leaked water from somewhere.

The sink in the bathroom did not have a drain plug.

The shower was great....about the only plus of this place.

The turn table in the microwave did not work.

The couch looked like something you would find on the side of the road, extremely stained and dirty. We covered it with a spare blanket just so we could sit on it.

We were warned about the centipedes however both doors had at least a half inch gap at the bottom where the door sweep should have been. If you have to stay in this cabin, get LOTS of raid bug spray.

The floor lamp was held together with tape.

The flourescent lamp was unique, a light blue bulb and light red one in the same fixture.

This was supposed to be beachfront, there was NO beach in front, just a rock wall. The beach was actually 100 yards futher down.

I mentioned all this to the front desk and they basicaly blew me off. I am sure they already knew this place was a mess and did not care. To top off the visit the other half of the building was rented by a group who were camping across the street (30 people perhaps). Their doors were propped open 24 X 7 with a constant stream of people coming and going using the bath or shower. They were quiet but still, I do not think it was what renting a unit was supposed to be used for.

We will most likely never come back here or recommend this place to anyone who asks. There certainly are better places for military folks to stay, this one seems to be for the party crowd who are not picky about where they stay as long as it is cheap.

Arranging activites at Turtle Cove was pretty easy and the Shopette pretty well stocked. If you decide to hit a bucket of balls at the driving range, bring some tees as they are not provided.

Room Tip: Bring LOTS of bug spray and duct tape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BrightonBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom renovated unit for 5 nights. The unit was decent; clean, everything worked, plenty of room for the 4 of us. The beach was amazing; quiet, very private, great waves for bodyboarding, and just a few steps from our door. The tradewinds keep it comfortable throughout the day and night. We played miniature golf about 150 yards from the condo, went on a snorkling trip offered by the base where we were able to swim with sea turtles. The snack bar served great breakfasts and the shopette was only a short walk away. Although the units are not luxury, we loved the beach and you can't beat the price for arguably the best beach on the island (even according to the locals).

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gooseafcrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Check in and got settled in our cabin. I was a little disappointed that we didn't get a beachfront cabin, but overall couldn't complain as it was only an additional 20 yards to the beach. We went to Kaneohe Bay Marine Corps Base 30 minutes up the road for supplies and liquor. We grilled steaks and baked potato, served with Cabernet and watched the sun go down. A very nice ending to the day.

The cabins were clean and the only critter we had was one scared gecco. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great base camp to explore the island. Very quiet at night, not much nightlife, but that was exactly what we wanted.

It appears they are about ready to open some new hotel like units, the sign read September 2011, so they are a little late. From the looks of it, there will be 2 buildings, with 8 units each. Next time I am here I am going to try and check those out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Equinox03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The rooms are not air conditioned. They are underwired so that when you use the toaster the microwave doesnt work. Ants come in on a daily basis and I did kill a three inch centipede that was in the curtains. But who cares. We had a renovated beach cottage that looked right out over the Pacific. 50 steps from the back door to the waters edge. Perfect water temp. Pristine beach with perfect water temp. The water is about waist high out to about 300 yards. Maybe more since I'm poor at estimating distance. Good surf for boogie boarding and there are lifeguards from 0800 to 1700.

It does get crowded on weekends due to local military families coming in to spend the weekend or a day at the beach. Otherwise you normally share the beach with maybe 30 other people.

If you are going to stay for a week or two then make a run to the commissary at Kaneohe Marine Corps Base and get your food. It will save you tons of money over the local stores and the Shopette only has a limited selection of items.

I can't speak to the conditions in the unrenovated cabins but they are in the process of building a new lodging facility.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falconfixer86261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

First night we got an unrenovated cabin (all they had). We have four kids and lets just say that it was not what we were looking for. It was extremely small, very old and on the sea wall instead of the beach. The phone lines and TV cable were visible on the cinder block walls, the "living room" ceiling fan did not work and the paint was peeling from all the walls. In addition the windows were rotting out and ants were pouring in from the outside. In fact when my son went to pull his sheets out in the second "bedroom" (which was separated from the living room by an old partition) his bed was full of ants. Finally the kitchen was extremely small (but we would not cook in there because of the ants).

Luckly we got a renovated cabin for the next 5 nights. It was wonderful! The entire cabin was clean and updated. The bathroom had glass bricks in the shower (very modern), the walls were textured sheetrock instead of cinderblock, the windows were new and not rotting out, the kitchen had newer appliances and cabinets and there was a real second bedroom. In addition we were right on the beach....all my kids had to do was walk out and we could watch them swim in the ocean from our cabin (and Bellows has the most beautiful beach in Oahu). We rented boogie boards from the base and the kids (and I) had a blast. We cooked most of our meals in the cabin and had no problems with little critters (although we made sure all dishes were clean and the trash was taken out prior to bed).

There is no air conditioning but you really do not need it. We had no pest problems except for a very few aforementioned ants and one very small centipede we killed in the shower.

I will try to post pictures in the near future. Bellows is a great place with disc golf, tennis, bikes you can rent, mini-golf, paintball and the most beautiful beach you can imagine. SPEND THE EXTRA 20 DOLLARS FOR A RENOVATED CABIN!!!! We could not do more than 1 night in the unrenovated cabin but the renovated was perfect!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gozur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimanalo
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,635 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#80 of 84 in Honolulu
188 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellows Air Force Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellows Air Force Station

Address: 220 Tinker Rd, Hotel is for Military personnel ONLY, Waimanalo, Oahu, HI 96795-1903
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Waimanalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Waimanalo
Price Range: $9 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Also Known As:
Bellows Air Force Station Hotel Waimanalo
Bellows Air Force Station Waimanalo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing