We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
55
67
38
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
67
38
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goat island cafe american samoa private beach coffee maker the staff was great on premises view of the bay security guy lounge chairs cruise ship free continental breakfast terrible smell free snorkeling gear resident turtles washer and dryer bath towels literally feet
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 188 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2015

First visit here was two years ago. I'm glad to report that the hotel has improved. It seems cleaner, fresher -- and the fruit-bat-shaped pool is sparkling! The staff is absolutely fantastic and accommodating. Only downside is the restaurant. Service is good and attentive, but the food -- not so much. Best breakfast bet is the cream oatmeal with banana ($8.50). A hamburger was tough and gristly, and french fries were tasteless and woody. (I suspect they had not been fresh-cooked.) Internet service was not always reliable and strong. On the whole, though, a pleasant stay.

The beach fronting the hotel is lovely, but I don't think the water is fit to swim. Other beaches nearby were posted with a notice from the American Samoa EPA saying that the water had been tested and had been found to be contaminated. The duration of my stay (4 days), I saw no one in the ocean. Also, there are no warnings about drinking tap water, yet everyone I spoke to strongly advised against it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have better views and more privacy. First-floor rooms open onto a patio that fronts a sidewalk leading to the pool
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hilopatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

Can beat the rooms, views and the friendly staff. If you ever get to American Samoa you have to stay here. The hotel has its own private beach with kayak rentals. If your lucky enough you will be able to swim with the sea turtles and sea life right in front of the hotels reef.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank GrandTour85265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

We spent 3 evenings here, the first night in a room overlooking the pool and the following nights overlooking the beach. Both rooms are clean while both bathrooms should some signs of wear and tear.

The best thing about this place is it's central location in Pago Pago. You can easily walk to the market, 10 minutes away or even rent a Stand Up Paddleboard near the DWW cafe.

My wife and I slept extremely well lulled to the sounds of the ocean and ate almost every meal next door at the Goat Island Cafe.

WiFi was a bit slow but I guess that's expected with American Samoa's current broadband infrastructure so don't come here to stream your Netflix or Hulu movies.

SBTS also has free pick up and drop off from and to the airport.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a view of the ocean/ rooms 216-222
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2015 via mobile

I recently stayed at Sadies by the sea staff friendly food fabulous atmosphere great rooms were clean comfortable and nicely done out
The friendly staff made it a pleasure to stay
There is free Wi-Fi and constant food

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank davidia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2015

Stayed a few nights. Rooms very spacious and comfortable. Beds were comfy too. Too bad the kayaks and paddles were mostly broken, but didn't matter cause there was a swarm of blue-bottle jellyfish on the beach. Pool was being renovated as well. Front desk staff were very friendly, housekeepers weren't. Hotel needs more activities for guests. Yes there were but mostly out of service, broken, or being fixed. Views were awesome and the patio needs a good hose down, so does the garden.

Room Tip: Always make sure room are %100 operational. Check TV, AC, Clean Bedding, Lights, Wi-Fi, Sufficient Towels.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ivister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews