We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to downtown Bar Harbor”
Review of Mira Monte Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mira Monte Inn
Ranked #12 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We loved the location and the Inn was very cozy with cheery fireplaces and wine and cheese every late afternoon to chat with other guests. The breakfasts were delicious and generous and served buffet style every morning. Our room, the St. Sevier, was spacious and comfortable, but the king size bed was actually two twin beds pushed together with a foam covering. This would have been fine except my 6'4" tall husband found his feet hung over the end of the bed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a wonderful option for staying in the Bar Harbor area. The breakfast is a perfect 10! The B & B rooms are a much better choice than some run-of-the-mill hotel. Plus, evening wine, cheese and crackers. Another bonus, walking distance to the village area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeah09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed only 2 nights at the Mira Monte. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer! Very gracious from the moment we arrived. Location great; easy and pleasant walk to main street. Excellent breakfast. The innkeeper was very helpful as to area attractions, restaurants, etc.
If in the area again, we would definitely return to the Mira Monte Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed four nights at the Mira Monte, an extremely gracious B & B with an excellent quiet location near the main street. The inn keepers were extremely knowledgeable about the area and events and had excellent suggestions of appropriate activities during our stay that may not have been easily accessible to a newcomer. The breakfasts are delicious with a great variety of tasty choices and the wine, cheese,etc. in the afternoon a nice touch. I would reccommend this B & B highly to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunfl0wer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

A lot to like about our stay at Mira Monte...good location walking distance to downtown but away from main drag, 10 mins drive to top of mount Desert, nice schedule and set up for chatting with others to share findings about restaurants to go to etc.. Breakfast was really good...liked the fresh nature of everything and enjoyed sitting around the dining room table chatting with other guests. Things that could use some work: gardens needed tending to get them into beautiful category. "private" entrance and sitting areas? kind of....ours was in site of other sitting areas outside and maybe could have used a wiping down. Wine and cheese social was nice to sit and share with others but wine quality could be ratcheted up a little. Marian was nice to sit and chat with - not afraid to offer her opinions about best places to go here and there in Bar Harbor. rooms could use some sprucing up to get to Luxury description, but perfectly serviceable. all in all really enjoyed the stay and would recommend it - maybe a little TLC gets it up to Excellent, but on balance a very nice stay.

Room Tip: don't get that room overlooking the street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ralphs786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Mira Monte Inn and it was a very nice experience. Nice room, very nice breakfast, but the bed was a bit small for us. Location is fine and quiet near the main street.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank gongevangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This Bed and Breakfast is very nice. The breakfast is excellent, a huge variety of items to choose from, homemake granola, waffles, 2 types of egg casseroles, one always vegetarian.
Yogurt, cottage cheese, fresh fruit, types of muffins, the list goes on.....in the afternoon, there was wine and cheese, a jar of fresh homemade cookies, hot coffee is always in the containers waiting for us! Marion is extremely helpful, she knows everything about the area! The room was very nice, clean, with a very large bathroom. We had a jacuzzi and fireplace, and a canopy bed, it was all beautiful and peaceful. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Marlbough room has a private deck, two entrances, off the hallway, and from the outside deck. Very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank echoqueen116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
387 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,772 reviews
1.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
482 reviews
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,386 reviews
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mira Monte Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mira Monte Inn

Address: 69 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $133 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mira Monte Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Mira Monte Inn & Suites."Behold the Mountains"This historic Bar Harbor bed & breakfast inn reflects the grace and beauty of the mid-Victorian time. Each room features a fireplace and/or balcony and is uniquely styled with antique and period furnishings. The romantic atmosphere is said to be friendly, welcoming and cheerful. The morning full-breakfast buffet gets rave reviews; guests can choose to eat family style in the formal dining room, on the terrace, the breakfast porch, or in their own room.Mira Monte's mission is: to provide relaxation and comfort in beautiful, quiet surroundings of an elegant bed and breakfast inn. It's your vacation and you get to make the choices that meet your needs. Our friendly staff is always there for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mira Monte Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mira Monte Hotel Bar Harbor
Mira Monte Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing