We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$162
FindHotelUS$162
PricelineUS$162
Orbitz.comUS$162
CheapTicketsUS$162
TravelocityUS$162
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
39
24
11
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
39
24
11
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit keurig coffee maker rocky beach full kitchen a great stay definitely stay here again close to downtown kitchenette cabin motel acadia contactless units privacy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 85 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2020

We love Hanscoms motel, and I can’t wait for my next stay there in October. The cottages are dog friendly, tidy, and comfortable. They also have a nice new fire pit and patio. It’s right off rt 3, but on a nice quiet road that ends on a rocky beach, where it’s nice to catch the sunrise. Hanscoms is only a few minutes from downtown and the park entrance. We love this place and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Acadia.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2020

My wife and I stayed in Cottage 2 at Hanscoms Motel and Cotteges for two nights in early August. We found the cottage to be immaculate and well maintained! Due to the pandemic, it was contactless check in and everything was ready when we arrived with the AC cooling the room. It was just the right size for the two of us. The grounds were well maintained offering many sitting areas, free wifi, several grills as well as a bocce pit and fire pit at night. The units start at #1 near the road, and go back into the property. Number 2 was near Route 3 but it was very quiet in the cottage and we didn't hear any road noise. The kitchenette had everything two people might need including a Keurig coffee maker. There is a rocky beach a short 5 minute walk down a very quiet residential side road, making a nice place to stroll. Owners were very responsive when we texted asking for a few additional supplies. Parking is right in front of each cottage. The property is about a 5 mile drive into downtown Bar Harbor (not walkable on busy Route 3). Although we did not bring our dog, the property is pet friendly and there were several well behaved dogs there. Overall, a great stay and we will definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Cottage 1 is near Rt 3 with higher numbers near the back of the property. Cottage 1 & 2 seemed a little bit distanced from the others.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ToneMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 27, 2019 via mobile

We stayed only one night as they were completely booked. It’s a great quiet location. The room was very clean and comfortable, even had a Keurig coffee maker and a refrigerator and microwave . The sitting chairs were also extremely comfortable. The towels were some of the softest I’ve ever seen in a hotel. I would definitely stay here again

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank ylantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip44135267691, Owner at Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear ylantz,

Thank you very much for your nice review. Its refreshing to receive positive and honest feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you get a chance to visit us again!

Your Hosts,

Mark and Marydeane Hanscome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2019

We stayed in efficiency #5 a couple weeks ago. We had stayed at this property a few nights several years ago, and remember it being outdated but clean and comfortable. So we were anticipating a better stay in the newly renovated accommodations. Nope. Bath was tiny. Shower was tiny. Shower head did not swivel. Took forever to get hot water. Sink was tiny. Sink stopper did not work. I looked underneath. The drain plumbing was Mickey-Moused, so it will never work. Shower piping rattled around loosely. The linoleum had a pattern that resembled human hair so although the bath floor was clean it seemed gross. Not enough light in the bath and the fan was exceptionally noisy. The kitchen area was OK but could have been equipped better. The fridge froze our food overnight so we turned it down a notch and it defrosted all over the floor the next night. The sink was tiny, a bar sink, and way too small to use for a kitchen. The bed and furnishings were good. Overall impression of the inside was it was remodeled as cheaply as possible. We did not have a chance to use the outdoor facilities but they seemed nice. Too many other choices near Acadia/Bar Harbor, will not stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moelarrycheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip44135267691, Owner at Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Dear moelarrycheese,

Thank you for your review and also for being a repeat customer at Hanscom's Motel and Cottages. We hope you enjoyed your vacation on Mount Desert Island. If you visit the area again we hope you consider staying with us again!

Best,

Mark Hanscome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2019 via mobile

Cute little cottage with everything one would need. Clean and comfortable. Quiet and well placed in Bar Harbor area. In wooded lot with plenty of space between. The owner is very friendly and hospitable.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pegk_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trip44135267691, Owner at Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2019

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate it! We hope to see you again and thank you for visiting the Bar Harbor/Acadia area for your vacation!

Your Hosts,

Mark and Marydeane Hanscome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews