We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay for a weekend with a pet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay for a weekend with a pet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

My family stayed at this lodge for 2 nights along with our dog. I found that there aren't many places that allow pets around Bar Harbor, but this one has to be one of the best choices for those traveling with pets. The rooms floor is tile, so you don't have to worry about a dirty carpet from previous pets. Even though the pet rooms are on the main floor you still have a great view of the harbor with a nice small porch area.

The room itself was nice and big with all the amenities I like to have. Free coffee, free wi-fi, LCD TV, free continental breakfast and everything in the room was nice and clean. I was worried that the rooms might be outdated and seem old like a lot of motels in the area, but that was not the case at all. Everything in the room seemed to be in working order and newer looking. The only 2 negative things I can say is that the bathroom had no fan and I did not find the bed to be overly comfortable, but it was OK. The service was great throughout the stay. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jtolson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    150
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
162
213
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Sits up on a hill with nice harbor views, and sunrises can be quite spectacular. Very clean and well maintained. The owners (at least I think the couple who checked us in were the owners) were great - funny, informative and just great folks. Nice to have a second sink outside of bathroom, and rooms are very large. Also have refrigerator and microwave which is always nice. Free shuttle stops in for pick up for ride into town which is great in town where parking can be a challenge. Good size Flat screen TV as well. And and iPod docking station. Free Internet although it was a bit slow.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from long weekend in Bar Harbor and, due to other reviews on Trip Advisor, selected the Atlantic Eyrie. Would definitely return. Our 2nd floor room was very clean and comfortable. Had excellent view of Frenchman's Bay from our balcony. The gardens below our balcony were lovely and we saw 3 deer each morning in the gardens. Hotel is situated away from village noise and traffic but is an easy walk to town. We did walk once to the Village Green but used the free shuttle other times. Picks you up right at hotel door - did not have to drive into town. Very friendly and informative hotel staff. Continental breakfast, included in room rate, was just enough to get the day started. Hotel is closed in winter but we were told at checkout to call anytime for future reservations (or online) and call will be returned. Have stayed at other hotels in BH but would definitely return to Atlantic Eyrie.

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room (204) had a very good view of Frenchman's Bay. I'm sure other reviewers w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy40699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie for seven nights, September 15 – 21, 2011. We very much enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this property. We were on the fourth (top) floor in a king room and the view of Frenchman Bay from our balcony was gorgeous. Even though there were usually people in the surrounding rooms there was very little noise transfer, and because the property is not on the main highway, there is also no road noise. The bed was very comfortable. Besides the sink in the bathroom, there was a handy sink in the main room. The room was always clean. The towels and bathroom accessories were great. The continental breakfast was just perfect to get ready for a day at Acadia National Park; yogurt, fresh fruit, muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, etc. And the breakfast room was roomy and bright. After doing some research, I believe that the price that we paid was typical for Bar Harbor. One negative was that the WI FI signal in our room was very week. The management said that they are working on this issue and we were able to use WI FI in the lobby or in the ground floor breakfast room.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and had a great view of the Bay. We were not sure if lower floors would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_R_TravelingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

My husband & I just spent 4 nights at the Atlantic Eyrie. The room was spacious and clean and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was just what you need to get you going and always stocked. Even though it is supposed to be from 7 to 10 AM it was all ready with the delicious warm muffins at 6 AM on the day we left. The free shuttle is so convienent that you can park your car and not have to worry about parking in town(which is 5 minutes away). The lodge was quiet and the beds were very comfortable and the towels were big and fluffy. We recommend this lodge for your Bar Harbor stay. The only negative was a very poor WiFi signal but there is a computer in the lobby for guest use. Great view of the Bay and the sunsets are beautiful. The gardens are relaxing and well maintained.

Room Tip: Choose a third or fourth floor room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Let me first start out by saying that my wife and I are very particular when it comes to hotels. We have been to Bar Harbor several times but have never stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. This time, the hotel that we usually stay at did not have availability, but the Atlantic Eyrie did. We were given a top floor room and the view was awesome! The entire room was spacious and very clean. The room was equipped with everything one would need while on vacation. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast which included everything except hot types of foods. Perfect for those who want to eat and set out to do things. We did not use the pool, however it looked very well maintained. The hotel was very quiet and we slept well. The hotel staff was very accomodating and professional. For those who complained about the worker at breakfast staring, etc., they are just paranoid. This person was on the ball. Any foods that were getting low were quickly replenished. When people finished eating, their table was quickly cleaned. We never saw a dirty table when we arrived for breakfast. The whole area was well kept. I am sure these paranoid people would also complain if nobody was there to refill or clean. This hotel surpassed our expectations and we will definitely return here on our next visit to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We just spent 5 nights here and it was our first time to stay here. We will always come back to stay here. It is the best possible view of the bay. Free shuttle bus service, adequate breakfast, very clean rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onereal2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.6 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
1.2 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Property: Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
Address: 6 Norman Rd, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1114
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing