We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Kingsclear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel for the MDI marathon and it was a great place to stay. The room was very large, extremely clean and the finishings were nicer than expected. There was a flat screen tv and the bathroom counter was granite. The mini fridge was convenient and the location (less than 2 miles from Main Street) was excellent. Very quiet overall. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they gave us an end unit next to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    473
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
709
532
35
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom unit for three nights in September. At first we were disapointed that our room did not have one of the large patios that are pictured on their website. We were soon won over by every other aspect of this place. The room and the bathroom were immaculate; the grounds, including the heated pool, are beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And yes, the coffee is great! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bax_Delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed three nights with the fall package. With the dinner certificates, it was a very good value. The room was exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly. the walls were a little thin, but considering we were on an end unit it wasn't bad. We enjoyed the deer that was right outside our door. Acadia was so close and it was just a short trip to get anywhere in town. We enjoyed two of the three restaurants in the package. Jack Russell's was the best, good service, good food. We did not like Poor Boys, we were seated in a corner by a steady flow of people going up steps. The waitress did not understand the certificates and was not very knowledgible about the menu. We ended up leaving and going back to Jack Russell's that night. West Street Cafe was goood also. We more than enjoyed our stay and plan to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends are very private, but if you prefer coffee in the morning stay near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I chose the fall package, and we stayed 3 nights in the 2 bedroom family unit and got 6 dinner certificates to 3 different restaurants in the area. What more could you ask for? A big, spacious room that was super clean and comfortable. The king sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge and super clean, the shower was great. The people at the front desk and the housekeeper were all very nice. The setting was calm and relaxing, with Acadia National Park literally right out the back door. All of the shops and restaurants were all close by. And if you didn't feel like driving, they have a shuttle bus that leaves and takes you into town every 30 minutes or so. The only thing I didn't like was that the walls were VERY THIN. You could hear the housekeeping ladies cleaning, people snoring, and full on conversations. That was a little disturbing, plus I felt like I had to be very quiet or everyone else would hear everything I was saying or doing. Other than that, my husband and I were very satisfied :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tishiz2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT,RI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in a family suite. The location was wonderful, it is on the shuttle line and close to Acadia and downtown. The staff was very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

On a recent trip through Maine, PEI, and Nova Scotia, we stayed at nine different motels. The Bar Harbor Motel was the nicest on the trip. Although an older model, the (large) rooms and property were impeccably maintained and spotlessly clean. The service was extremely courteous. A maintenance man even apologized to my wife for the noise while cutting the grass!

My wife and I enjoy the convenience of drive-up motel rooms, and this fits the bill. On the negative side, rooms in Bar Harbor are generally pricey, but the cost here was reasonable. Breakfast is not included. Although the grounds are lovely, go elsewhere for an ocean view. Coffee and juice are available (although I found the coffee to be terrible.)

Room Tip: Rooms in the rear of the property are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan,England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed 2 nights in Sept.Located a few minutes drive from the centre of Bar Harbor and the entrance to Arcadia national park.Motel set in beautiful grounds with several units of four rooms each.Deer and numerous other species of wild life seen in the grounds.Staff friendly and helpful and the only downside was no coffee making facilities in the room but drinks available most of the day at reception.Well worth it to stay here to discover the Bar Harbor area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterWigan_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,233 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#14 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.9 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,638 reviews
1.5 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing