We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Bar Harbor Motel is a fantastic place to stay in Bar Harbor, enough off the beaten path to get away from the massive influx of largely geriatric cruise passengers that swarm downtown Bar Harbor every day; but also close enough to town that a short walk (or very short car ride) can plunk you right where you want to be for meals and entertainment. Rooms are always clean, and the coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby until 11 PM is a very nice treat. This is our second stay at the Bar Harbor Motel, and it fits virtually all of our needs, including easy access to the Park's carriage roads, something that no downtown hotel can offer.

Room Tip: We find that the further one gets from the main road, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCskadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    481
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
732
542
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I decided to stay here based on the reviews on TA. I wasn't disappointed. The "motel" isn't anything fancy really, but my room (and everything else there) was absolutely immaculate, spotless, and virtually perfect. The area and patio furniture in front of my room was enough to relax with a paper and a picnic table is close enough to bring lunch back to the motel. The main area of Bar Harbor is a little too far for me to walk but there is bus service if you're there "in season", and driving it's only a few minutes away - as is Acadia. I'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KGordon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Byron, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We wanted to stay at a Motor Inn on our trip and we stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel. It was a great location and a great place. Everyone was very nice, and the hotel was so well maintained and clean, and that was our most important reason to book. We have always wanted to stay at a motor inn type hotel and we were so happy this was our first experience. We also booked the package with the breakfast and that was also amazing, the scones were delicious!
Don't hesitate......can't imagine a better place in BarHarbor to stay!

Room Tip: The back building has a patio which is great for a group of travelers together. We sat on the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Kingsclear
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel for the MDI marathon and it was a great place to stay. The room was very large, extremely clean and the finishings were nicer than expected. There was a flat screen tv and the bathroom counter was granite. The mini fridge was convenient and the location (less than 2 miles from Main Street) was excellent. Very quiet overall. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they gave us an end unit next to the forest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed in a two bedroom unit for three nights in September. At first we were disapointed that our room did not have one of the large patios that are pictured on their website. We were soon won over by every other aspect of this place. The room and the bathroom were immaculate; the grounds, including the heated pool, are beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. And yes, the coffee is great! Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bax_Delmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed three nights with the fall package. With the dinner certificates, it was a very good value. The room was exceptionally clean and the staff was very friendly. the walls were a little thin, but considering we were on an end unit it wasn't bad. We enjoyed the deer that was right outside our door. Acadia was so close and it was just a short trip to get anywhere in town. We enjoyed two of the three restaurants in the package. Jack Russell's was the best, good service, good food. We did not like Poor Boys, we were seated in a corner by a steady flow of people going up steps. The waitress did not understand the certificates and was not very knowledgible about the menu. We ended up leaving and going back to Jack Russell's that night. West Street Cafe was goood also. We more than enjoyed our stay and plan to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ends are very private, but if you prefer coffee in the morning stay near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I chose the fall package, and we stayed 3 nights in the 2 bedroom family unit and got 6 dinner certificates to 3 different restaurants in the area. What more could you ask for? A big, spacious room that was super clean and comfortable. The king sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge and super clean, the shower was great. The people at the front desk and the housekeeper were all very nice. The setting was calm and relaxing, with Acadia National Park literally right out the back door. All of the shops and restaurants were all close by. And if you didn't feel like driving, they have a shuttle bus that leaves and takes you into town every 30 minutes or so. The only thing I didn't like was that the walls were VERY THIN. You could hear the housekeeping ladies cleaning, people snoring, and full on conversations. That was a little disturbing, plus I felt like I had to be very quiet or everyone else would hear everything I was saying or doing. Other than that, my husband and I were very satisfied :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tishiz2fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,273 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.9 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
280 reviews
0.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
0.1 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing