We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cozy”
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Crescent Springs, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet and cozy”
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have stayed here two years now for a fall vacation. The price is right, is very cozy and quiet, and the staff is very friendly, We love being back in the trees (seems a little secluded, but not really).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyTraveler2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    476
    58
    10
    0
See reviews for
717
537
38
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I was here in October 2011 while in town to run the Mount Desert Island Marathon. I have stayed here in the past and they have always provided friendly service and great value. The motel is in a park like setting and the carriage roads of Acadia are accessible from a trail at the back of the property. The location is very good if you are in town for the marathon. Registration, expo and post race dinner were loacted just accross the street. The rooms are clean and comfortable and you can pull your car right up to the door. They have great off season rates in the fall, but they do close down shortly after the marathon weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarathonTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is a lovely place to stay in Bar Harbor with easy access to the town. It is a vintage motor inn with units scattered along a long driveway back from the main road. At the end of the drive is a pathway into the woods that connects to a carriage road in Acadia NP. We stayed in the family unit at the rear of the motel. It was very quiet and peaceful and the price was quite reasonable. The rooms were extremely clean and well maintained although not luxurious.. The staff at the front desk were uniformly pleasant and helpful. I had to change our reservations at the last minute and it was done quickly and easily without any implication that it was a problem or inconvenience.

Thanks for a wonderful stay. I will certainly stay here again if in Bar Harbor and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2dogone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
300 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Good location, with shuttle right in front of the motel. Room is big with a nice size fridge. The only drawback is that there's no coffee pot in the room. There is coffee/tea/juices in the lobby in the morning.
Our room faced east, so it's nice to be able to sit in front of our room and look at the sunrise. Room is large and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The Bar Harbor Motel is a fantastic place to stay in Bar Harbor, enough off the beaten path to get away from the massive influx of largely geriatric cruise passengers that swarm downtown Bar Harbor every day; but also close enough to town that a short walk (or very short car ride) can plunk you right where you want to be for meals and entertainment. Rooms are always clean, and the coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby until 11 PM is a very nice treat. This is our second stay at the Bar Harbor Motel, and it fits virtually all of our needs, including easy access to the Park's carriage roads, something that no downtown hotel can offer.

Room Tip: We find that the further one gets from the main road, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCskadoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I decided to stay here based on the reviews on TA. I wasn't disappointed. The "motel" isn't anything fancy really, but my room (and everything else there) was absolutely immaculate, spotless, and virtually perfect. The area and patio furniture in front of my room was enough to relax with a paper and a picnic table is close enough to bring lunch back to the motel. The main area of Bar Harbor is a little too far for me to walk but there is bus service if you're there "in season", and driving it's only a few minutes away - as is Acadia. I'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KGordon311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We wanted to stay at a Motor Inn on our trip and we stayed at the Bar Harbor Motel. It was a great location and a great place. Everyone was very nice, and the hotel was so well maintained and clean, and that was our most important reason to book. We have always wanted to stay at a motor inn type hotel and we were so happy this was our first experience. We also booked the package with the breakfast and that was also amazing, the scones were delicious!
Don't hesitate......can't imagine a better place in BarHarbor to stay!

Room Tip: The back building has a patio which is great for a group of travelers together. We sat on the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,240 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,642 reviews
0.1 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
605 reviews
1.5 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#18 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Property: Bar Harbor Motel
Address: 100 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing