We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bayview

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bayview
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Recently travelled New England area, staying at the Bayview Hotel on our visit to Bar Harbor. What a super place, cant recommend the facilities any higher than excellent! Great staff (they kept the lights on for us as they knew we were coming late), the great breakfast that makes your mouth water..........just a great place for all!

Room Tip: There were 5 of us, we stayed in the 3 bedroom townhouse...........excellent for families and shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thelees76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 7 November 2011
Thank you very much for that terrific review! I have to admit I really like the ones that tell the story with such enthusiasm. It was a pleasure to have you here as well. I know it is always easier for guests to arrive in the day time but wasn't it fun to wake up in the morning and have your first real peek at the view? Now that we are closed for the season I find myself actually looking at the view and appreciating it even more. Please come back again and we'll do our best to repeat all the good things!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    84
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
222
444
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This past summer we drove up the coast of Maine and visited Bar Harbor for the first time. We arrived on a gloomy day
and were surprised when we opened our door to our room on the second floor of The Bayview. The room overlooked
the foggy bay and the view was breathtaking! Our room was spacious and comfortable with a sofa and plenty of room
to sit with our friends sipping wine. The second day started with a gourmet breakfast and the sun sparkling on the water made our view even better. The staff was warm and friendly and offered suggestions for our visit. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cocoaguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Thank you for your review. We had a number of days this year where we couldn't see across to the mainland. It is so nice when someone appreciates the actual beauty of the fog too! This fall when we had all the cruise ships around it was very eerie. You could just see the lights on the ships and nothing else. I am glad the sun and skies were clear on the next day so you could really see. We look forward to having you return again and appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

There is so much good to say about this lovely property. Without question, the entire staff is friendly, helpful and does a wonderful job of maklng your visit enjoyable and stress free. It is easy to see why this is a Trip Advisor Top 25 for Service award winner. Our third floor room was huge, immaculately clean, nicely decorated and we slept so well in the comfortable bed. The view from our balcony was nice, but we did not like the uncomfortable chairs provided on the balcony. Each morning we enjoyed the delicious hot breakfast offerings as well as the pastry and fresh fruit selections. Unlike some properties, there is ample room in the attractive breakfast room for all guests of the hotel. This hotel is so clean, so well maintained and well managed that I hesitate to make any less than positive comments. We did, however, find that the absence of "grounds" or ouside amenities made the property somewhat "one dimensional" -- great inside, just OK outside. The hotel is a little over a mile from downtown Bar Harbor. It is walkable but the route is along a very busy and congested road. Of course, there is the shuttle service provided by the hotel if you desire a ride into town. If you are looking for activities outside your door, this may not be the place for you, however if you are looking for a location away from busy and congested downtown Bar Harbor, The Bayview is an outstanding choice to make.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rightboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 26 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of our property. I admit I am at a loss on how to respond to the comments of the grounds. I am not quite sure how we could add to what we have. We have an outdoor pool and beautiful lawns and flowers and oceanfront. With a property this size I don't quite know what else we should offer.Perhaps just something as simple as more outside sitting areas or lawn games? Acadia surrounds us with beauty and is full of outside activities. I am always open to suggestions and would like to ask you to contact us with your thoughts for what is missing. I've been here so long that sometimes I "don't see the forest for the trees" and am slow at catching on. We want to make everyone's stay as pleasant as possible so please let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We booked this hotel because of the references on Trip Advisor. We stayed in the townhouse that is located on the back side of the main building, up the hill past the pool. The bedrooms were on the bottom floor and the living room was upstairs with a great view of the harbor. Great kitchen, dinning room and family room. Great staff, our townhouse was very cozy and decorated well.
Breakfast was served in the main hotel. This hotel is a few blocks away from the hussel of downtown bar harbor. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your very positive review! Sometimes I think the town houses don't get the credit they deserve so to speak. They are great for families that rather eat in and relax, fun for couples because each person gets their space if needed but they can have the evenings together to enjoy without going to a "public" room if they want to play cards or just visit. Many people like the convenience of the cooking and laundry facilities and others just like the additional space and daily housekeeping! I personally like the decks and the view. I hope you return for a visit and again I thank you for taking the time to write about us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We happened on to the Bayview at the end of our travels in ME and were delighted with the friendly, helpful personnel, large hotel room which included deck with water view and free breakfast. It's true what others have said, it's close to town but quiet, set back off of the highway close to the bay. It was the last night it would be open for the season, glad we had the chance to stay and given the opportunity, I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramcyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here with my family over the Columbus Day hoilday weekend. Great accomodations and wonderful, friendly and helpful staff. Thomas was great at check in and giving advice on local dining establishments. The room was nice and big, with a wonderful view. By the way, Thomas is also a very good bartender and makes a delightful gin and tonic. The breakfast buffet is plentiful in terms of choices and has a wonderful selection of homemade pastries and breads. Al, the "doorman and driver" was a special treat and helpful with the luggage and what to do around the island. The inn runs a complimentary, "on demand" shuttle service to downtown so you avoid the hassle of finding a parking space on crowded weekends. Just call the Inn after dinner or shopping and they will come and pick you up. One night, the Inn's minivan was down with a bad battery, but Al brought out his own Saab convertible " Pup Dog" to give us a ride to town - what service!Definitely going back to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeRSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Thank you from all of us for the wonderful review! The end of season and holiday weekends always seem to have some type of calamity and you were right in the middle of it! Thomas is very talented at many things, and gin is one of his favorites! Al proves the point of what our "customer service" policy is and you and your family fit in perfectly here! We look forward to welcoming you back and for future reference, I bought a new battery for the van and we'll be all set to go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed in an ocean view room at the Bayview. It was fabulous; the rooms were huge, clean, and our view was gorgeous. Every afternoon; they bake fresh cookies which are delicious. The breakfast; while continental, is actually very good with a huge variety and they served one hot option every morning along with fruit; breads, cereal, etc. They also have a free shuttle that will take you back and forth from downtown which was awesome!! I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addicted2travel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We will look forward to the day that you return! The past few mornings the views have been spectacular with the sunrise and calm waters. Now that we are closed for the season I admit I take a few minutes to look at the view too. I hope you come back soon and I thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.0 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
0.2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
1.8 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Property: The Bayview
Address: 111 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bayview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing