We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Falls, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Resort is just excellent. Just arrived from May 18 to 20 week-end. Second time at the resort. Pool is warm, service is excellent, food is good, clean, close to everything, beautiful views. No complaints about this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    305
    116
    97
    61
See reviews for
327
519
9
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed here for a wedding in 2011 and it was a horrible value and experience. I would highly recomend staying anywhere but here. The website looks great, but the staff is bad and the facility is disapointing. Management made a number of mistakes and refused to correct them- the spa charged me for services I had ordered but did not recieve due to time and I had prof that I had canceled one of the 4 nights and they claimed I never canceled the 4th night. The rooms dont look like the quailty advertised- they are tired and need to have old carpets etc replaced. They have done a great job at putting lipstick on this pig. Dont get suckered.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tyler1800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed in April, which was a slow tourist season for this part of Maine. The Harborside hotel was fantastic -- and we were happy with the rate of less than $150 per night. A great location in easy walking distance from downtown, but calm and quiet at the hotel itself. We loved the heated pool as well, so that even in the cool air we spent a good amount of time outside.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I loved staying at this hotel, but it was purely by accident. We traveled in late October, when everything was closing down for the winter. The hotel we originally rented decided to close early, so they transferred us here- and upgraded us to an oceanview room. If you are going to spend the money to stay here, try and get an oceanview with a jacuzzi on the balcony. It was such a nice view and so peaceful. It was wonderful for us, and the service was good. We also ate at the restaraunt in the hotel and the food was good.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wanderlust3483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, MA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend the third week of October this past year. We had stayed here over the summer and had a great experience, sadly that was not the case this time around.

I booked our stay directly from the hotel website, they were advertising a fall promotion, and the cost for the room was $129 per night, a great price, as it is usually double that rate. However like the saying goes, you get what you pay for.

We were given a room that was directly above the lobby on the second floor, which was large, and surprisingly quiet, however disgusting doesn't begin to describe the condition of the carpet.

I travel frequently and an odd stain on a carpet can be encountered, however there were over 15 large stains on this one, and the overall appearance was just dirty. The carpet was so old it had completely pulled away from the wall on one side of the room, and as an added benefit at times the smell of vomit wafted from it.

Upon explaining this to the person at the front desk, we received an apology but were told they could not move us as the hotel was full, this despite the Vacancy sign clearly posted at the entrance to the hotel.

Additionally the robe hook on the bathroom door had apparently fallen off and was replaced by something that looked like it should be used to moor a boat. It wouldn't hold a towel, much less a robe or cosmetics bag.

The hotel did send a follow-up survey after our stay via email, I provided the same feedback as above in the survey, no response back from them.

The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, as well as the grounds, however when you stay at any hotel you expect the room you stay in to be clean, and as you can see from the pictures of the room, that just simply wasn't the case, and the management of this hotel should be embarrassed by the condition of this room.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CosmoKitty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed 2 nights here in October because we couldn't get into the Bar Harbor Inn (it was filled). What luck for us! I was hesitant because some of the reviews were not great, and were told our room was going to face the parking lot, but we found our stay to be a wonderful experience. The room & bathroom were stunning, the landscaping was beautiful, everything smelled so clean & fresh. Our view from the room did face the parking lot, but we were pleased to see that we still had a nice view of the water & had a lovely patio with 2 chairs & a table. It was an unexpected treasure. The last 2 nights of our stay took us to the Bar Harbor Inn which was much more costly, and seemed dusty & dreary after staying at the Harborside. Next time I will stick to the Harborside for my entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Harborside several times in the past. Based on the quality of our previous stays we decided to book the hotel for our Bar Harbor wedding. Once again, we were not let down. The entire staff is truly dedicated to making your stay enjoyable and they enjoy conversing and sharing their own stories.
The rooms are large, well kept, and if requested offer beautiful views of the harbor. Some rooms have mini-fridges, and I'm sure they can be requested before arrival (although since it was fall, it was the perfect outdoor temperature for my craft beers and wine.
The rooms are virtually sound proof as it is difficult to hear anything outside. The sliding doors could use some WD-40 as when it was open you could hear every door squeaking when it was moved. Perhaps this was because it was the end of the season.
They were extremely accomodating to our entire wedding party, bringing wine glasses, champagne flutes, corkscrews, and whatever amenity was needed at the time. Service was top rate and sincere.
The restaurant in the hotel is outstanding, everytime we've eaten there it's been a treat. The cocktails are inspired, and the food (especially the seafood) is prepared painstakingly. As a dessert one must try the blueberry pie, even in Maine, it stands out from the crowd.
The location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Bar Harbor, and even the park. While it is more expensive then surrounding locations the upscale atmosphere, friendly and attentive staff, and well manicured grounds cannot be beat in the area.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view or harbor view. Standard view looks over the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niwiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,275 reviews
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,665 reviews
1.6 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#12 of 41 in Bar Harbor
687 reviews
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
442 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Property: Harborside Hotel & Marina
Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing