We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Sad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This Hotel is for the wealthy out-of-state folks who come to Maine. The Resort is very lavish and not energy-conscious at all. Our room looked like something out of park ave NYC. This USED to be a small, quant Inn on the water and now it's an enormous conglomerate. Very sad to see Bar Harbor taken over by the 99%. Just sad. If you want a small, quiet Maine Inn look on Mt. Desert Street where you'll find many old, quiet B&B's. OR if you like the big resort, big bucks vacation - Harborside is your venue.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are limited for reasonable price. You have to pay big bucks to get a really nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,185 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

The exterior property is gorgeous, we loved the pool and how it ended where the ocean began and was littered with fishing vessels. It is very literally "harbor side" . Very nice. Our room was spacious, large bathroom, the only negative feedback we have is that in our bathroom we noticed a couple of ants circling the wall and the furniture fabric and lounge furniture is very dated. I would expect more modern or classic pieces in such a pricy hotel. Also at the beginning of our stay there was complimentary coffee but it suddenly disappeared when we were checking out and could have used it the most! Steven at the front desk was energetic and friendly. Unfortunately it rained most of our stay and because of that we spent a lot of time in the hotel. We dined at the in house restaurant at least three times and took advantage of room service. Breakfast is okay if you get a specialty meal (we liked the french toast) but as far as the meat and scrambled eggs I would suggest for them to use more organic products it seemed a little packaged for the price, the ham was tough. We ate dinner there two consecutive nights, the first night my son ordered a meal and the waiter Christopher had made an error but he apologized and was attentive and we quickly got a new meal and a complimentary mousse which was delicious. The next night he ordered the same thing and our waitress Ariana remembered everything without writing anything down, we were impressed considering we all ordered personal pastas with multiple ingredients, she also made sure the ingredients on our salad were okay with out diet which is nice because we would have had to send it back which we hate doing had she not checked first. With our bill all our waiters gave us TripAdvisor comment cards. In conclusion, we enjoyed our time in Bar Harbor, Maine and shall we ever visit again the Harborside Hotel will be the hotel we choose.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrierMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Harborside is an excellent hotel with a great location in downtown Bar Harbor. Guest rooms are very well appointed, clean, updated and very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel and will return in the future. The only reason that I rated the hotel very good instead of excellent is that the wine prices in their restaurant are extremely high. For example, paying $45 for a bottle of Kendall Jackson Chardonnay is gouging. This is Maine and not NYC!

Room Tip: Top floor, waterfront or water side have excellent views otherwise you might be facing the large par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rollc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The hotel is lovely and so was the room we stayed in, (mid priced room). The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. Liked having a separate shower. My only complaint was having to pay $25 extra on top of the room price for parking. Their prices were high but as I said, it was a very nice place. AAA discount helped.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank D0nnaS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Bar Harbor, the gateway to Acadia, is quite spectacular and this hotel could not have a better location. Right in the harbor next to the downtown, close to many restaurants, very explorable neighborhoods on foot and super scenic.
As of 05/12 they were doing some serious renovations, completely redoing rooms so there was a lot of construction going on but it gave me a chance to explore the place after hours (the doors were wide open to 100+ rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors, ha) and the rooms are spacious and generous!
They have an outside heated pool but it was closed due to the construction and the time of the year. There is a gym, too. Nice little beach by the parking lot. Reading other reviews, I think they are serious about getting their act back together and that this might be one of the best hotel choices in bar harbor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malamute04101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My mother and I stayed at the Harborside Hotel over Memorial Day weekend. We have been to Bar Harbor multiple times but this was our first stay at this hotel. It was lovely. Perfect location right on the water. Our room was on the ground floor without a view. I had requested this type of room because for the small amount of time we spend actually in the room, it wasn't worth paying extra for the view. We can simply walk outside and have lovely view of the water. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and had all he amenities you could want. Beautiful marble shower !! Even though the hotel was full, our room was very quiet. The location is perfect, close to everything. All in all, we had a wonderful time and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will-ken08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I went there for a conference and it was one of the best ever. They fed a large group of us and the food was wonderful. The hotel rooms are large and the staff is very helpful. Ask for a room that has a water view, and not one that overlooks the parking lot.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#25 of 41 in Bar Harbor
481 reviews
0.3 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,756 reviews
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
474 reviews
1.2 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#4 of 41 in Bar Harbor
714 reviews
0.5 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1825
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: $272 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing