We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value + great staff = great experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acadia Pines Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Acadia Pines Motel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value + great staff = great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

The motel itself, to be honest, is nothing spectacular. It is nestled a couple miles outside of the Bar Harbor main town center, but it is an incredibly easy journey into town and the park. It is quiet and comfortable and the staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. This area is saturated with lodging options, but I would never go anywhere else based on the great experience we had.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    99
    39
    6
    4
See reviews for
67
112
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
506 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

The only problem we had with this property was with wireless connections. Our room was second from the end farthest away from the office and the signal was not strong enough to work in the room. When it is raining you don't relly want to sit on the lawn with a laptop! There are no laundry facilities on site either and the only place to do laundry is in the middle of Bar Harbor and that place is a dump.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the office for a good wireless connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
214 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We booked this motel because it was well reviewed and the price was right.

It is a few miles before you actually get to the Bar Harbor village, so if you are thinking "drinks after dinner" it may be a challenge.

The rooms are pretty dated, but the beds seem new, as well as much of the paint, etc. It was very clean. I am a budget traveller, and you will get much fancier rooms down the road a mile or two, but I was here to see Acadia.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MO_outdoor_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We found Acadia Pines Hotel to be exactly what we were looking for - thank you fellow Trip Advisor travelers. At the end of our long drive from Maryland, we arrived to find it as everyone had described it. Clean, comfortable at an affordable price. It is not brand new with lots of what I call fluff. Instead it has lots of pride in ownership wherever you look. The rooms have had all the windows updated to high efficiency multi-pane glass. The staff are very friendly and helpful - no phony smiles here. We found our kitchenette unit had most everything you would need. We had a great sunset one night. The picture was taken next to Hwy 3 by the hotel. No guarantee that you will have a sunset like this.

The hotel is set back amongst the pine trees - far enough from the highway to eliminate most road noise. We slept with our room windows open and felt perfectly safe and enjoyed the wonderful fresh early fall air. I do not remember hearing any road noise, but the setting is so serene it may have been canceled out. One evening there were a few guests sitting on the lawn chairs enjoying the peaceful setting. The only negative thing I can say is that the outside lights by the doors can shine into the room - a minor issue.

Acadia Pines is only 4 miles from downtown Bar Harbor. They are on the free Island Explorer Shuttle route. I HIGHLY recommend using the shuttle. Parking in downtown Bar Harbor is like parking in downtown Washington DC, except all the parking lots have a two hour limit. To say the parking limits are rigidly enforced would be a understatement. This guy must get paid by the ticket. If you take a Acadia tour or a lobster boat tour you will exceed the two hours. The shuttle is free and very convenient - so choose your hotel wisely. (The free shuttle is sponsored by LL Bean) Post Labor Day traffic is bad, I would hate to see what peak season traffic is.

Would we stay at Acadia Pines Hotel again? A big yes!

Room Tip: Usu the free Island Explorer Shuttle to get into Bar Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gemini52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We are in the midst of a six day stay and are delighted. Acadia Pines has reasonable rates, a great room, a great location and really nice grounds. It is wonderful that after a long day of hiking you can even walk to dinner or dessert! The folks are wonderful and we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houston15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Nice place for the money! Rooms were clean, staff friendly, loved the various seating areas in the surrounding yard, to just relax, within walking distance of a couple restraunts, and a large putt putt golf, which looked to be alot of fun! A short drive to Bar Harbor! Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MITAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

Good location, near Acadia Park and Bar Harbor restaurants. I would say that is a little expensive, we paied 135$ per night. The room is very basic but clean. No breakfast. You can give it a try but also you may look for another hotel in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vulpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.8 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
6.7 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Colony on Frenchman's Bay
0.1 km away
Robbins Motel
Robbins Motel
#39 of 41 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 km away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acadia Pines Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acadia Pines Motel

Property: Acadia Pines Motel
Address: 389 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7550
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 6 acres of lawn and trees, just 2 miles before the Hulls CoveVisitor's Center for Acadia National Park, our family owned and operated motel offers 22 clean, affordable,comfortable rooms. Our guests say the eclectic decor gives our rooms a nice homey feel. A place to just relax and enjoy being in Maine. The rooms vary in size from the economy queen unit to a spacious king kitchen. For families we offer the roomy 2 queen bed units with or without a kitchen to the spacious two room kitchen unit. They feature one king, 1 or 2 queen beds and two room units with 1 king and 2 twins, 5 kitchenettes, all rooms have a refrigerator,hair dryer and in-room-coffee, king rooms include a mirowave. The 48 foot ,outdoor pool is open and heated from late June to Labor Day. There are picnic tables, lawn chairs and a gazebo for guest use. There is a woodland path to the property next door to our right which features a restaurant, ice cream shop and general store. Across the street is Pirates Cove Adventure Golf, a 2nd restaurant and gift shop. The Island Explorer Shuttle bus has a scheduled stop right next door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acadia Pines Hotel Bar Harbor
Acadia Pines Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing