We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic roadside motel: basic but clean”
Review of Robbins Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Robbins Motel
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“classic roadside motel: basic but clean”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

For $45 a night in October. This is gotta be the best deal in town for solo travelers.
Room is pretty small but clean, fits a queen bed and leaves about two feet in each way, and has a TV, some storage, a full bath (interesting to have to step up into the shower). It does not have fridge or microwave (not that I needed it). Bed was decent. The motel is right next to Route 3, but luckily not many people travel this part at night, so the traffic noise was not a problem for me. No cooking. Max two people per room. Free Wifi. Coffee is offered but no breakfast. All rooms are on the first floor. You park right outside the room. The motel is about 15-20 minutes drive away from Acadia NP's Hull's Cove Visitor Center

I had a good chat with the staff upon arrival and they offered me some good tips on the geography of the park and later offered me first aid kits when I mentioned I had accidentally cut my leg on the Precipice. That's certainly worth one extra circle/star :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beifangde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    100
    66
    26
    22
See reviews for
31
171
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg pa
Level Contributor
215 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Room was clean....was odd having to step up into the bathroom...a few stubbed toes in the middle of the night. Everything was very clean, but very old decor. Shelf along the long side of the room did turn out to be handy. For $45 what can you say. We stayed one night, but had a room next to the road and it was very noisy from traffic. We moved on for the next night.

Room Tip: Call earlier than we did so you get one in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

drove right by it because they don't have a light on the sign! I am not sure you can beat the price. I was there for an art fair. it is a way out of bar harbor, but it is a nice drive. we really enjoyed it, though the room is an odd setup. big king bed was very comfortable. not sure you can get two beds in a room at all. there was a shelf that ran the length of the wall, and NO other furniture but two chairs.no phone, but who needs it with cells these days. shelf worked out great for us with food we brought and other things to store under the self. bedside had a built in tiny tiny shelf! bath you stepped up into and was super small. one of those really cheap plastic stalls with ketchup-like packets of shampoo. but water was hot, and i wasn't complaining. the door to the hotel was really really thin. maybe walls too. but there was NO noise at night. could be because i had a center room. oddest thing- they would clean the room and always leave the window open no matter the fact we closed it to keep our stuff safe. i think it was to air it out which it probably did need. i think it could be cleaning supplies. air conditioner worked, but seemed to have to run a while to get it cool. the people at the front desk were great! had to go there to get ice, so had to be before 10. night guy was awesome, lots of suggestions on acadia. we followed them and loved the trip. two good family restaurants right nearby. you have to rank this place high! when we come back, i might look around, but my guess is i will end up here again. we paid 59 at the height of the season. book ahead. we booked about 10 days out, got a room, they they moved us to a better one to avoid road traffic. NICE. for that, 5 stars, though a bunch of great reviews might make it harder for me to get a room here next time!

Room Tip: better to be in an interior room to get wifi and to not get road traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thomas_h_BJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

As others have remarked this is a very basic motel from the 60's. They have a tv, radio and wifi. Very old and dated BUT it is super clean, the facets look like they had been polished and owners are very friendly and offer to show you the room. If you want a clean place to spend the night at less than half the cost of in town this is it. Call ahead as we spent 4 nights in Sept and they were full every night by mid afternoon. $42 plus tax

Room Tip: Call ahead ask for a room behind the office as it would be quieter and further from the highway. Alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Robbins Motel as other reviewers have stated is an excellent value. Décor wise it looks like it fell out of a bad 50’s movie but was spotlessly clean and the bed was great. It cost $36. a night in June. In my mind how much is a pretty bedcover really worth when the true beauty is outside the room. The bus picks up right across the street for the park system and downtown and we loved that it was free, hop on hop off and environmentally friendly. Excellent choice for backpackers and those for whom a trip to Arcadia would not be possible without a clean inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djptrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Warning: Small rooms, very thin walls, shower is a small plastic box, no phone, no breakfast, no amenities to mention, very firm bed. Typical old 1960s roadside motel. If I had booked online I would be disappointed. However, I was a walk-in and I saw the room before committing to it and therefore I give this place an “Excellent” because it lived up to what it is and we had no problems to mention. At $58 in summer, it is certainly a low-cost option for Bar Harbor. The Wi-Fi is good and ATT cell phone reception is good in this area. The room was clean and the owners are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the "larger" rooms near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells ME
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We first stayed at Robbin's on our honeymoon 30 years ago and have returned many times since. This past weekend the rate was 42. a night. Why pay more to sleep?! We would rather use what we save on a fancy room and use that to go out for a nice meal. We love Robbin's, its clean, comfy beds and the owners couldn't be nicer! What's not to love?!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bar Harbor
3.8 km away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
326 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
15.5 km away
Kimball Terrace Inn
Kimball Terrace Inn
#2 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#32 of 41 in Bar Harbor
372 reviews
0.1 km away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#26 of 41 in Bar Harbor
245 reviews
4.1 km away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robbins Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robbins Motel

Property: Robbins Motel
Address: 396 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7541
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Robbins Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bar Harbor no frills option. We offer clean, comfortable rooms with today's conveniences at nostalgic prices. All rooms have one queen bed, cable TV, AC, WIFI. All rooms are non-smoking. Owned and operated by the same family for over 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Robbins Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robbins Hotel Bar Harbor
Robbins Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing