We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McKay's Public House

McKay's Public House
Ranked #17 of 143 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sugarloaf
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Squeezed us in at a pub table as they were super crowded. But our dining experience lacked for nothing! I think we might have gotten better service than the folks in the dining room since the bar wasn't anywhere near as busy. Food was flavorful, freshly made to order and drinks were kept full. service was great and everyone was attentive yet truly pleasant. Probably my favorite eatery this trip.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Patty136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    303
    136
    70
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a good meal and fairly priced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I live in Bar Harbor and have occasion to recommend restaurants to tourists often. I sent people to McKay's because it's my personal choice as well. The menu is varied from pub fare to unique seafood dishes, the wine menu is kept current and I enjoy trying Brian's latest picks. Personally, I love the lamb burger but their salads are really great as well. The comfortable, friendly atmosphere is good for a family or a romantic dinner. You really can't go wrong at McKay's.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oceansidemanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“the best of Maine, even in off-season”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Have happily dined at Mckay's in high-tourist season in years past . And yet, on the last day of March, when tourists are all but unknown in downeast Maine, Mckay's served up a fresh Middle-Eastern spiced cod dish that satisfied both hunger and taste. The menu was diverse enough that it was difficult to choose just one entree. Yet, two of us chose the same entree: fresh-caught cod seasoned with Moroccan spices and served over minted cous-cous. The meal was hearty, satisfying and nuanced, all at once. Our server was knowledgeable, friendly and on the mark. McKay's is a seriously satisfying establishment - in season and out of season.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt14617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
302 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Ásk for the lobster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

On the far end of Main Street away from harbor. Local haunt with very reasonable prices and good food. Choose the fresh steamed whole lobster.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank pjf000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surry, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“McKay's Public House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

A local from Bar Harbor once told me it's his most favorite place to eat and we liked it, too.

Helpful?
Thank Trudi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKay's Public House also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to McKay's Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing