We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The Best of Bar Harbor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 31 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“The Best of Bar Harbor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hello to all that are considering a stay at bar Harbor..

Me and my Wife had the distinct pleasure to have stayed at the Ullikana
in Bar Harbor Maine.. Our stay was for our 32nd anniversary Sept 1st . Labor Day weekend had much to offer for all at Bar Harbor and Dersert Island. But most of all , the best of our time in Bar Harbor was our stay at Ullikana. The Inns at ullikana are truly the remaining history of Bar harbor. The staff at Ullikana is a direct reflection of the Inn keepers Roy and Helen'e. The Family atmosphere made us feel as if we were personal guests of this home. Not enough can be said about the breakfast. Oh Boy! Thanks again Helen'e for the love we experienced in every bite.. Roy was always close by with comforting words and assuring we had all our needs met. From the most relaxing music to the best way to see all Bar harbor and desert Island had to offer. And lets not forget the rooms. we stayed in room # 7. we could have not been more pleased. so we reserved the room again for our next anniversary, And also reserved the Audry room for our daughtrer which as soon as we saw it we new she would love it too.. So what ever room you choose to stay in be sure you will feel at home at the Ullikana and The Yellow house. The inns at Ullikana..

Room Tip: every room is uniqe and offers a different experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmoore111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
230
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

A totally charming and fabulously located B&B/Inn. The owners and staff at Ullikana are all friendly and helpful, though when we showed up at about 7pm we had trouble finding someone to check us in. Our room, Audrey, was very spacious, as was the bathroom. The decorating was great too. Breakfast is a diet buster, but worth every calorie. It's a very comfortable and social time as well. Loved the happy hour that went way longer than an hour. It was another nice way to socialize with other guests and transition from our active day to a mellow evening in town or wherever we went. The location is great. Just a block down a private road from the main drag with a patio view of the harbor, but not town noise. Some of the rooms have views too. The only reason why I don't give a an excellent rating is because it is kind of pricey. However, I don't know if it's any more so than other similar quality lodgings.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 8 since it's right off the living room and under the main steps, so I was to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mebnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We had such a delightful time at Ullikana, and have already recommended it to friends. We loved the relaxed breakfast schedule (they even accomodated us being late everyday), the food was delicious, and setting was gorgeous. Roy and Helene were consummate hosts and were very helpful with advice about local activities. We can't wait to come visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

The positives: beautiful historic inn, right in the center of Bar Harbor. Wonderful multi-course gourmet breakfast, friendly hosts.

The not-so-greats: no one to greet us upon arrival, no a/c in the room (and it was hot/humid!), invisible staff/hosts -- except during breakfast, noisy (from within and outside), creaky brass bed that made movement or getting in or out of a "community" event.

This inn is expensive, around $300 a night and definitely NOT worth that kind of money. Even the shower curtain in the claw-foot tub was just a liner. B&B's at this level use fabric with a liner. Breakfast was lovely, but overall, this place did not match our many other experiences at B&B's at this price point.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

I highly recommend The Ullikana. My wife and I got there and were immediately greeted with a big smile by Cyd. Our room was clean, well kept and uniquely decorated.

On the second day Roy and Hélène gave us a box of chocolate truffles congratulating us on our marriage. The grounds at the Ullikana are simply beautiful. Each afternoon we sat on the back porch area and had wine and cheese (provided by the Inn). In the morning the breakfast was delicious ranging from Belgian Style Waffles to an egg baked in a crepe type thing. French cooking I'm guessing but not sure. The view from the outdoor eating area looks at the water. You can see boats coming and going along with some people watching.

Roy, one of the Inn Keeps is extremely knowledgeable of the area and really had a huge positive impact on our vacation. Each morning he would spend a good 15 minutes with us looking at a huge map of the island. He sent us out on some great hikes as well as bike rides. Definitely talk to Roy if you are looking for outdoor stuff to do.

In terms of location, you can't beat it. It is just off the main strip so you can walk to everything, food, music, water, bike rentals, etc. However, it is still tucked into this cozy little spot overlooking the water. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

The property is historic and beautiful, the location is ideal, and the breakfasts are inspired. Most of all Roy and Helene have always made our visits a delight. We feel we are among friends and family when we are there. We have stayed at many fine B&B's, but the Ullikana is unquestionably the best.

Room Tip: If you take one or two kids, room 5 is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Perfectly located between shops and restaurants of Bar Harbor and the Harbor itself. Though is was raining quite a bit while we were there, we walked everywhere we went. The B & B had large umbrellas we borrowed. There is a trail that walks along the coast a short walk from the B & B. There was a wine and cheese hour that was well attended by the guest so a very enjoyable time meeting people and getting ideas for restaurants, etc. We did not have an advance reservation so took the last room they had available. It was very nice, clean and quaint but I probably would have liked something a little larger with perhaps more privacy if I had the choice. The owners were very nice and accomodating and they gave us excellent advice on restaurants/coffee shop. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: This seems to be a very popular place so I would recommend advance reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.5 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.0 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#8 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.2 km away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
2.0 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.2 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullikana Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullikana Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ullikana Bed and Breakfast
Address: 16 The Fld, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1801
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1800's large Tudor house owned by a wealthy Boston Merchant who also owned the Bar Harbor Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullikana b&b
Ullikana Hotel Bar Harbor
Ullikana Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing