We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Central Maine
Level Contributor
173 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wake up and fall asleep to the sound of the ocean!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have wanted to stay here for many years and decided to stay when we saw their very affordable packages for off season. This Inn is one of the originals and while it has been updated and many rooms added to the grounds, the inside of the main inn dining room still hold the beauty of a bygone era. The desk staff that greeted us was genuinely welcoming. The gift shop manager was welcoming as well. Our room was very clean and while a little outdated in the color and furniture department, was comfortable and clean. Bed was comfortable and had plenty of warm blankets and duvet that allowed us to leave our deck door open at night to listen to the sounds of the ocean and not be cold. We ordered room service for our breakfast and it was delivered hot and delicious. Dinner in the dining room was beautiful, delicious and very enjoyable. While there is no "dress code", a nice night of dressing up makes the evening that much more special. The package deal we had included the room (we stayed in the Ocean Front Lodge - directly on the ocean with a private deck, dinner for each of us, breakfast in the dining room (we had room service at no extra charge). Dinner and breakfast included ANY choice on the menu, not a select few items. We did a one night package and added an extra night separately so we could eat at another intown restaurant we enjoy. The continental breakfast is wonderful - fresh fruit, cold hard boiled eggs, assorted fresly made muffins and quickbreads, bagels, assorted breads for toast, cereals, juices, coffee,etc. You will not be hungry. Overall a very enjoyable stay and a great bargain in the off season. Within walking distance to shops, restaurant, and sits directly on the Shore Path trail. It is kid friendly, though there were not many when we went, but we would not hesitate to bring our children with us to enjoy this as well. Well behaved of course!

Room Tip: If you want to stay literally on the ocean, choose a room in the Oceanfront Lodge. The Newport sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Momof2inMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,045
    388
    94
    48
    12
See reviews for
376
849
31
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed in an ocean front lodge.
Very clean room. Housekeeping were super friendly.
We had dinner one night in the Reading Room. The food was very good and service to match.
Walking distance to everything including nearby hiking trails and ice cream store.
What more could you want.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1simon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We arrived out of season with no booking and they were incredibly accommodating and helpful. The room had an incredible sea view, was a good size and well equipped.

The second night we ate in the restaurant, which was just perfect... Watched the sun go down over the islands, great food and incredibly well mannered waiting staff.

The hotels location is just spot on, convenient for Main Street and a short drive/run/cycle in to the national park.

Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_O_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloeil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 days, in April 2012, at Bar Harbor Inn, in a lodge with balcony on the ocean front. We saw there beautiful sun rising. Everybody in this hotel has been so nice: at the front desk, at the dining room (with an extraordinary bay view), in the lobby (with the fire place, the tea and biscuits in the afternoon) and at the continental breakfast room (what a huge breakfast!!!). Our room was very comfortable and quiet: all what we need for a relaxing trip.The meals were so good in the dining room. In the area, we took beautiful scenic roads in the Acadia Park. In the village, nice pubs, restaurants and boutiques were opened. We also took nice walks on the ocean path. We will remember that trip for a long time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Bar Harbor Inn was excellent during an April 2012 weekend on every account, from location (exceptional), to restaurant cuisine, to service, to quality of the rooms in the Ocean Front Lodge, to the friendliness and class of all personnel from front desk, to maitre d', to waiters, to room cleaning person.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krockmalnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Bar Harbor Inn has a great location with spectacular views. The service was excellent, everyone went out of there way to help. People were very friendly. We stayed in the main building in a 2 bedroom suite with a deck overlooking the water. This was perfect for our family of five.. Shopping and restaurant are an easy walk from the hotel. April is a great time of the year to visit Acadia. The rates are reasonable and no crowds

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdhmarkdhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
274 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in a first floor lodge room in early April. Here are our observations:

1- The lodge has a very nice location with a beautiful view. It is not necessary to pay extra for a second floor room. Also,the lodge location is preferable over the main building.
2- The room was very nice,clean and quiet with very comfortable beds
3- Even if it was somewhat cold, we enjoyed sitting in the private balcony. Fun to watch the effects of the tide and ebb.
4- Excellent service all around.
5-Free use of computers in the lobby.
6- Breakfast is served within the lodge. Very nice selection,much better than a typical continental breakfast.
7- We paid $122 including tax and breakfast(Off season price). An excellent value.
8- I would definitely recommend this hotel, at least in the off season.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
2.0 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.4 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.3 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#23 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.5 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Property: Bar Harbor Inn
Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing