We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
  
Ways to Experience Alcatraz Island
from US$108.00
More Info
from US$110.00
More Info
from US$108.00
More Info
Reviews (50,859)
Filter reviews
50,859 results
Traveller rating
38,025
10,552
1,770
265
247
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38,025
10,552
1,770
265
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio tour book in advance night tour cell block cell house boat ride own pace al capone weeks in advance park ranger buy your tickets self guided great trip take your time worth the trip angel island bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
3,330 - 3,335 of 50,859 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The complete audio tour helps a lot. We discovered great facts about the island, not just the prison topics. The video is a must stop, and the have a nice walk around the prison.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank arce69zamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Alcatraz Island is an amazing place. I would definitely recommend the audio tour as it guides you through the prison and helps you to understand what it must have been like to be there at that time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

It was great weather for us on Alcatraz Island, which can be unpredictable at times in San Francisco. There is a video when you get on the island about the history of Alcatraz island. It was first a fort for the Union during the Civil War. It was also a prison for Confederate sympathizers at that time. Then it was a prison mainly for inmates known to escape. Then it was abandoned, where Native Americans then took it over as a political protest for over a year. We were late for our appointment for the day we booked. They were very accommodating, putting us in a standby line where we got on the very next boat.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank fellowtravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Do this....brilliant, brilliant, brilliant....

Informative, iconic and exactly as you’d imagine.

I’m off home to watch The Rock!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Temp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have been waiting to do this tour. It was worth the money. It was really something to c up close. The movie is good but to actually c it. WOW!!!! And we were able to use audio for the tour. Which was very helpful. Enjoy:)

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Boogerbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews