We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Audio Tour and book early”
Review of Alcatraz Island

Alcatraz Island
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.35*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Alcatraz and Aquarium of the...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Park rangers conduct tours by recounting the prison's thrilling history along with intriguing anecdotes about Al Capone and other legendary figures that made a "home" here.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Make sure you book your tickets early as tickets sell out quickly (we were there on March 25 and the next available ticket were not until April 8). My teenage son and I did the typically self-guided day tour and the audio tour included in the day tour was good. The views of SF from Alcatraz were fantastic.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RenYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50,858)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"audio tour"
in 11,259 reviews
"book in advance"
in 1,536 reviews
"night tour"
in 3,349 reviews
"cell block"
in 860 reviews
"cell house"
in 565 reviews
"boat ride"
in 1,869 reviews
"own pace"
in 1,569 reviews
"al capone"
in 473 reviews
"weeks in advance"
in 538 reviews
"park ranger"
in 422 reviews
"buy your tickets"
in 423 reviews
"self guided"
in 407 reviews
"great trip"
in 669 reviews
"take your time"
in 434 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 408 reviews
"angel island"
in 385 reviews
"bucket list"
in 411 reviews
Filter

3,329 - 3,333 of 50,859 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This visit was a dream come true. It was everything that I’d hoped it would be. We booked tickets in advance from the UK. The boat trip from pier 33 was very easy and the staff were first class.
The audio tour of the cell block and other areas, were magical. The views of the city from the island are breathtaking. The official gifts on the island are very reasonably priced.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank SixtyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The complete audio tour helps a lot. We discovered great facts about the island, not just the prison topics. The video is a must stop, and the have a nice walk around the prison.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank arce69zamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Alcatraz Island is an amazing place. I would definitely recommend the audio tour as it guides you through the prison and helps you to understand what it must have been like to be there at that time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

It was great weather for us on Alcatraz Island, which can be unpredictable at times in San Francisco. There is a video when you get on the island about the history of Alcatraz island. It was first a fort for the Union during the Civil War. It was also a prison for Confederate sympathizers at that time. Then it was a prison mainly for inmates known to escape. Then it was abandoned, where Native Americans then took it over as a political protest for over a year. We were late for our appointment for the day we booked. They were very accommodating, putting us in a standby line where we got on the very next boat.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank fellowtravelerFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alcatraz Island also viewed

 

Been to Alcatraz Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing