We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Cable Cars
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$75.00
More Info
from US$89.00
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
Reviews (22,419)
Filter reviews
22,419 results
Traveller rating
12,843
6,202
2,361
583
430
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12,843
6,202
2,361
583
430
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass union square california line per ride the powell hyde line single ride muni pass fisherman's wharf fun ride california street great fun market street fun experience nob hill few blocks public transportation bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
2,003 - 2,008 of 22,419 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We hopped on the cable cars at the start just off of the Fisherman's Wharf area. The office was closed and we were directed to pay once we got on the car. It was very confusing. Do not cross the tracks or hop on a car until you were told to do so or you will be chastised by staff. Someone could have made this easier by giving us a little bit of Direction. Once we got on, the cable car driver and a rider began a confrontation until a young mother shut them down reminding that there were children within earshot. While I realize that visitors can be very rude the cable car driver should not have engaged with the customer in this fashion. The ride itself was fun but for the $7 once was enough. I can't see using it for transportation. We got off in Union Square where we picked up our tour bus.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mommermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had fun return ride from Fisherman’s Wharf to Union Square. Great ride and good views. Hopped in a few stops up from square to avoid queue. Good view of Lombard Street

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Stop by the cable car museum to see its history and how they work. Definitely a step back in time. Interesting to watch them turn around at end of each run.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LakeLodge454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

A cable car trip is a must do in SF. We went on the Union Square (Powell Street) run down to Fishermans Wharf.

We took the 8:30am cable car and only had to wait for 15 minutes before we managed to get seats with a great view.

The experience was fun and the cable car driver showed plenty of animation as he managed the steep hills.

Our return in the mid afternoon requires a 45 min wait for a standing place on the rails. This was fun (not the wait) and nice to experience.

We weren't able to find the sweet spot time where we were able to just jump on a car and go somewhere without a long wait - maybe next time we can discover this.

But an early morning start is close and a joy to experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ASM2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Honestly this makes the London underground look clean and efficient. But has to be done. How many people does it take to turn a truck around! Sorry I got cold and bored waiting for it all to hapen. Then had all my fillings shaken out on the way up. And it did not actually go where we wanted to go. Ho hum...

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Bucephalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews