We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumbersome activity”
Review of Cable Cars

Cable Cars
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.00*
and up
San Francisco CityPASS
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Since 1873, cable cars have run up and down the hilly city, though after the 1950s, these cars have been kept in operation more out of historic nostalgia. Seventeen miles of track remain and have been deemed a historical landmark.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Hard to resist the allure of riding one of SF's iconic cable cars and are on most must do list for first time traveler. However, you may have to endure long waits and a hefty price tag for the privilege of riding one. A tip is to hop on the car at one of the stops along the route instead of the terminal stops, but signage for these cable car stops can be confusing and hard to spot.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RenYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"day pass"
in 1,194 reviews
"union square"
in 1,295 reviews
"california line"
in 289 reviews
"per ride"
in 250 reviews
"the powell hyde line"
in 210 reviews
"single ride"
in 176 reviews
"muni pass"
in 381 reviews
"fisherman's wharf"
in 1,227 reviews
"fun ride"
in 451 reviews
"california street"
in 250 reviews
"great fun"
in 678 reviews
"market street"
in 364 reviews
"nob hill"
in 252 reviews
"fun experience"
in 268 reviews
"few blocks"
in 173 reviews
"public transportation"
in 207 reviews
"bucket list"
in 188 reviews
Filter

1,989 - 1,993 of 22,398 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Riding a cable car is a San Francisco tourist tradition. A lot less crowded than when I visited San Francisco previously, probably because Uber and Lyft have taken over a sizeable percentage of ridership. Nevertheless if you board a cable car at a turnaround point be prepared to wait. It is still worthwhile to jump on to get a picture.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank LouisM565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We hopped on the cable cars at the start just off of the Fisherman's Wharf area. The office was closed and we were directed to pay once we got on the car. It was very confusing. Do not cross the tracks or hop on a car until you were told to do so or you will be chastised by staff. Someone could have made this easier by giving us a little bit of Direction. Once we got on, the cable car driver and a rider began a confrontation until a young mother shut them down reminding that there were children within earshot. While I realize that visitors can be very rude the cable car driver should not have engaged with the customer in this fashion. The ride itself was fun but for the $7 once was enough. I can't see using it for transportation. We got off in Union Square where we picked up our tour bus.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank mommermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Had fun return ride from Fisherman’s Wharf to Union Square. Great ride and good views. Hopped in a few stops up from square to avoid queue. Good view of Lombard Street

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Stop by the cable car museum to see its history and how they work. Definitely a step back in time. Interesting to watch them turn around at end of each run.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LakeLodge454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Cars also viewed

 

Been to Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing