We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cable Cars
from US$100.87
More Info
from US$74.00
More Info
from US$73.60
More Info
from US$58.67
More Info
Reviews (25,107)
Filter reviews
25,107 results
Traveller rating
14,527
6,837
2,583
667
493
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14,527
6,837
2,583
667
493
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day pass union square california line per ride the powell hyde line single ride fun ride fisherman's wharf muni pass california street great fun market street fun experience nob hill few blocks public transportation bucket list
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 25,107 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2020

We loaded the SF muni app and it gave us the facility to purchase tram and cable car tickets. We loved the trams. It is busy and we struggled to get one for our return trip from Downtown but definitely a must do when here in San Fran

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Widget12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 18, 2020

So firstly I'll admit I was a bit confused by the various modes of transport in SF. Cable car vs street car and then interchangeably called trolley. This review is about the cable cars that ply on 3 routes and use turn-tables to change directions (this turn-table itself is an attraction).

There are 2 lines that leave from Powell & Market - the queues get super long - so try to go as early as possible. Stand on the right side so you get uninterrupted views (instead of crossing other trolleys along the way). The Powell to Hyde is probably the best and the longest route.

If you want you can hop off at Lombard street - walk down the curved road - walk a bit farther - and catch another cable car from Taylor street (diff line).

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

You cant go to SAN Francisco with our going on the trolleys. Loved by all the drivers were helpful as well.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Shantel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 15, 2020

No visit to SF is surely complete without a trip on a cable car. Trundling up and down the hills from downtown to Fisherman’s Wharf, this is iconic transportation. Single trip is not cheap ($8), but get a MUNI day pass for $13 and use the buses, trams, subway and cable cars all day - great deal !

Date of experience: January 2020
2  Thank tonye585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2020

We took the Powell-Hyde route last December 21, 2019 at around 8:30 pm and started from the Fisherman's Wharf (Ghirardelli Square). It was supposed to be for the full route until the final stop at Market St. However, when we reached somewhere in the middle of Washington Street (just about halfway of the tour), all of us passengers were told by the conductor that that was the final stop and were told to get off. And it was a full train by the way! Everybody complained of course but both driver and conductor just told us that we were at their final stop. It wouldn't have been a big deal had we been told in advance that we were getting just a half tour and if we hadn't paid the full price! After that everybody was just left to their own devices to look for a way home or wherever. it was such a sad way to end an enjoyable tour of the city.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank jed1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews