We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a reasonable price”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #124 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Palo Alto, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice place for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have spent 5 nights here while attending a conference.
The room was clean and comfortable.
The staff was nice and helpful, a nice extra is the complimentary hot drinks and fruit all day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aditrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    314
    128
    43
    24
See reviews for
58
312
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Centrally located in the city and well away from Fisherman's Wharf (which otherwise is easily accessible by trolley car or even on foot) this is not your typical US city centre hotel. It was perfect for us to see the city and surrounding area for the first time without paying the inflated prices of the well known names 'just around the corner'. We had a sitting room and a bedroom, both clean and comfortable . Space is not great in the bedroom but we just wanted a base from which to go back and forth so was fine for our needs.
The complimentary continental breakfast set up in the corridor of each floor was adequate enough but could be a bit of a lottery if less considerate guests plundered the items early and in amounts theat were beyond what was reasonable. No replenishments were made by the hotel in such circumstances.
Complimentary glass of wine in the foyer each early evening was pleasant and after a hard day sightseeing was a good start to the evenings.
The Italian restaurant in the hotel was very good but very popular, being frequented by the general population so need to book most evenings....especially as there always seemed to be a convention in town and this restaurant was obviously on their recommended list.
We were there in October/November and even then had to have the windows open at night so in the absence of air con I hate to think what it is like in the summer months!!! Also, with the windows open, street noise can be an issue especially when the garbage and cleaning trucks roll up every day in the early hours.

Room Tip: See the comments about street noise and air con. There are rooms that are not on the street but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our visit to SF. We found the location to be very handy and were able to walk to most places that we wanted to see. The hotel provided us with a nice opportunity to stay in a large town house in the central area. The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful. The reception area was very small but did have some seating. The rooms were clean, but were quite small - much as expected of the type of building. We had a lovely room on the corner of the building with windows on the main street and side street - but on the 3rd floor noise was, surprisingly, not a problem. Breakfast was served in the corridor of each floor. You had to be up at 7.00am when it was served to be sure of getting something to eat and drink. Supplies ran out very quickly and nobody seemed to come around to replenish stocks, although I think you could phone up for more. A lot of hassle! There is a bathroom on the top floor which you can use to freshen up (a clean towel is also provided) if you have a flight late in the day well after you've checked out and had a day tramping around the city. There is a lovely restaurant on the ground floor where we ate one of our evening meals. It was extremely busy. We would stay here again on any subsequent visit to the city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at this this hotel for one night. The staff were very nice. Rooms are a bit small. Serve breakfast to your room at your door. 24 hour room service. beds were okay. rooms have tv and dvd player.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estellee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We recently stayed at the Andrews while moving our daughter out of her dorm at The Academy of Art University for winter break. While our primary reason for choosing it was its proximity to her dorm, we ended up being very, very happy with our choice.

The thing that struck me from the beginning (even before we got to the hotel!) was how very friendly and helpful the staff is! I had to call a couple of times with questions before we drove up to the city, and each time the person I spoke to was cheerful and able to answer all my questions. This trend continued during our stay...from check-in, through many trips past the front desk with our daughter's things, right through check-out, we got the impression that the people who work there like their jobs, like their hotel, and like their customers.

Our room (a "comfy queen" on the third floor) was very pleasant. Everything looked and smelled very clean and in good repair. The bed truly was very comfortable, the writing desk was actually situated near electrical outlets (not something I've come to expect in hotels, more's the pity) so we could plug in our laptops, the closet was generously sized (the better to store a semester's worth of stuff!). It wasn't a huge room, but it wasn't tiny either...there would have easily been room for a roll-away, had we needed one. We really appreciated the window that actually OPENED, as well as the ceiling fan, as it was an unusually stuffy evening for San Francisco for December! It was also surprisingly quiet. I used to live on Post St., so I knew about the fire station, and was actually surprised at how well the street noises were muffled when we closed the window at bedtime.

Our room came equipped with an iron and ironing board, a hair dryer, a radio, and a very nice flat-screen TV that got a good selection of channels. The free wi-fi worked very well (they have a server for each floor).

I also loved the shower, by the way, which put out GREAT water pressure, and was easy to adjust for temperature.

For those who might be unfamiliar with San Francisco, I just have to add that one of the best things about The Andrews is its location. Some of the reviews have expressed reservations about the neighborhood, but I've lived there and my daughter lives there, and I can tell you that it's a very safe part of town, even late at night. It's urban, sure, and if you're used to suburbia it may seem a little gritty, but it's really a great place to be if you really want to experience the city. The Andrews is only two blocks from world-class shopping at Union Square, Maiden Lane, and the Crocker Galleria. It's surrounded by the city's best theaters, and some of its best dining (Everything from hot dog carts to five-star gourmet! Not to mention some outstanding ethnic eateries...particularly Thai and Indonesian). It's an easy walk to Chinatown, to the Powell & Mason and Powell & Hyde cable car lines, to Powell Street MUNI/BART station, to the Museum of Modern Art, the Jewish Museum and Yerba Buena Gardens. You're also perfectly situated to get public transit to just about anywhere you'd like to go in the city (you don't REALLY plan to drive in San Francisco, do you?). As locations go, it just doesn't get much better.

There were only two things that kept me from giving The Andrews an "excellent" rating, and they're pretty minor:

1) The door between our bathroom and our bedroom had a frosted glass panel in it that allowed bathroom light to shine into the bedroom. Normally that wouldn't be a huge problem (just don't turn on the bathroom light if you need to use it when your companion is still asleep), but, as in many downtown buildings, our bathroom also had a window that opened onto an air shaft shared by another bathroom. Unfortunately, the occupant of THAT room chose to leave the bathroom light on all night, and that made our bedroom pretty bright. It wouldn't keep me from staying there again (in fact, I plan to when we have to move our daughter out again at the end of spring semester), but I will definitely bring something to cover that glass panel! Perhaps the hotel might consider installing some kind of shade....

2) The other less-than-perfect thing was breakfast. It's very nice having it served in the hallway outside your room, but not so nice when some greedy person on your floor grabs all the pastries and rolls as soon as the breakfast is set out, so that when you get out there at 7:15 a.m. there's nothing left but fruit. That's not the hotel's fault, but they might want to consider having an employee check the breakfast stations periodically during the morning and replenish things.

Those two things aside, I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel, and would (actually will) happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If you're really bothered by urban noise, ask for a room near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedwolfCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

A very nice single room with double (Queen?) bed and private bath. Excellent lighting for reading and in bathroom. Room small but fine for one person. Clean, helpful and a convenient location just 3 blocks from Union Square.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnatros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The carpets were frayed and worn. The (old) elevator had very badly broken tiles. Worse of all -- BEDBUGS!

Good things? Nice staff. Impressive breakfast, right outside your room door!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ewindisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
644 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fitzgerald Hotel
#169 of 229 in San Francisco
384 reviews
Chinatown
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
Executive Hotel Vintage Court
#108 of 229 in San Francisco
1,116 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#129 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Property: Andrews Hotel
Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing