We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$239
US$200
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
US$179
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$255/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$218
US$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton San Francisco Financial District(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$255
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$241
US$215
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$384/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$476
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$353/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$269
US$238
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$277/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,814)
Filter reviews
3,814 results
Traveller rating
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,348
1,386
609
283
188
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsredwood roomredwood barphilippe starckunion squaretrendy hotelgeary streethotel barjunior suitetenderloinlobby arealocation is greatvalet parkingcorner roomtwo blockshipsfconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 3,814 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Room was tidy and clean, modern but with neat traditional flair. I stayed for business and would gladly return again for either biz or a holiday stay in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fastabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

The Clift has a great central location with most places in easy walking distance. The hotel itself is ok, good for just a couples of few days. We were “upgraded” (this so wasn’t an upgrade) to the top floor and the room had obviously converted from something else. Philip Stark design mostly means design over substance so not especially comfortable and it was all a bit dated. The room itself was very noisy with the hotel elevators and could easily hear the guests on either side of us but the view was great. The staff were really friendly and informative.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ctp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear ctp1000,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback from your past stay. We appreciate you candidness regarding your room and we are sorry that the room was not as expected. Please feel free to reach out to any manager on duty to further discuss your experience.\
We truly hope to see you on your next visit to San Francisco.

All the best,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

It is a good option to stay . The hotel is close to union square and China town. In front of the hotel you have a Starbucks for
Cheap breakfast. If you don’t use the housekeeping service you will get a 15 usd per day cupon for use in the Restaurant or bar, but they won’t give you early at morning... so take precautions !

The bar is very entertained! We enjoy the stay !

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alejandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear Alejandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide some feedback of your past stay, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Clift. We know that there are many options while staying in San Francisco and we thank you for choosing us. We are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

An older building that has been enlivened by a great fitout . The Redwood after set the theme with friendly staff in a funky space.

The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. With great proximity to the city we had a fabulous time in San Francisco. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominic_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Dear dominic_cook,

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in our "funky space". Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback from your most recent stay. We are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

I have stayed a few times in San Fran at this property and it is always a good experience. Friendly and efficient staff. Breakfast options seems a bit limited, but the Omelets were tasty and well prepared. The city however needs to do something about the homeless people and they seem to be focused on Geary street.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clift_Rooms_Manager, Front Office Manager at The Clift Royal Sonesta Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Dear Charl B,

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback from your most recent stay, we will definitely pass on your concern regarding the breakfast options to the F&B team. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your loyalty to the Clift. We look forward to your next visit.

All the Best,
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews