We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
667
126
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
126
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastro areamuni stationbrown roomother guestspatio suitehost janhome away from homeevery morningprivate bathbreakfast was delicioustwin peaksbed and breakfastf linerestaurants and barspublic transportationlocation was perfecta wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 817 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the apartments on Caselli, which is part of Inn on Castro's establishment twice so far (May 09 and September 11) and we are sure we will go back.

The owner Jan makes Inn on Castro (guest rooms and apartments) a very special and pleasant place to stay in beautiful San Francisco. If you want to have your own experience with some independence, the Caselli apartments are ideal. Our apartment was on the ground floor with one bedroom, fully equipped open plan kitchen, nice living and dining area and a lovely secluded patio. There isa TV, DVD, Video and stereo in the apartment. the kitchen equipment are sufficient, well-thought and clean as well as the utensils. Whether you want to enjoy a quick breakfast before you hit SF life or have a quick bite for supper, this open plan kitchen gives you some flexibility.

The location of the apartment is excellent. Just off 18th Street, this apartment is 5 minutes from the Castro and all is offers. There are great bars, restaurants, clubs, supermarket, deli, grocery shops, cafes, dry cleaners, shops... You name it (and i name them in my SF review). The neighbourhood is lovely and very friendly. We were taken how many people were ready to greet and share a small joke with you as you walk around. Castro, as you can imagine, is well linked to the rest of SF with excellent transport links. You are minutes from the MUNI station, the lovely F line trams and buses.

Jan's friendly yet off-hands management is the icing on the cake. He is there to help whenever you need.

I would go back to the Caselli apartment of the Inn on the Castro without a doubt. And we will go back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbugLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2011

The Inn On Castro is a gem - more of a home from home than just holiday accomodation. At the heart of this experience is Jan, the wonderful host. His welcome, his advice and his breakfasts - more like visiting a friend. Thank you Jan, We won't forget you for a long time

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2011

We've just come back from San Francisco and had a great time, thanks in great part to this lovely Bed & Breakfast, a stones throw away from the Castro. Jan is a pleasure, taking the time to speak with everyone, great advice and made this visit very personable. The Breakfast was well presented and the muffins simply delicious. Fantastic location, ideal for getting around. Clean and convenient and great little touches such as the complimentary cognac. Very comfortable we will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at Inn on Castro for 4 nights in September 2011. The location is very convenient since there is a MUNI station close by. There are tons of restaurants in the area. The breakfast was excellent and there is always fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt and baked loaves. Jan also prepares hot breakfast made to order (pancakes, waffles, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, etc). We would recommend the garden suites because it's quiet and has its own bathroom. The green room faces Castro Street so it's noisy and the bathroom is down the hallway.

Room Tip: Green room is facing the street and a bit noisy at night. The garden suites are much better.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The host is charming and helpful, and breakfast is nice, though it doesn't start until 8. Rooms, however, are past due for refurbishing. Furniture is held together with duct tape and badly worn. The biggest problem is the noise from the street, which is quite overwhelming, because the inn is located at an intersection that is wildly popular with a young crowd that parties into the wee hours of the night. Trams also contribute to the noise problem. The advantage is that this is the closest you can get to the main stretch of Castro Street, so it's perfect for gays wanting to explore or hang out. Probably not so great for straight people. The rival inn is the Parker House, which is much nicer (and quieter), but further from the action.

Room Tip: Stay only on the lowest level (no view but less noise)
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews