We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Putting the 'effort' into effortless”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay at Inn On Castro. We stayed in The Red Room and could not endorse that room or the Inn nearly enough. Jan is an excellent host - acting as ringmaster to a superb venue, fantastic breakfasts and a welcome that is genuine and experienced.

The Inn caters for everyone. It is better than "gay friendly". It is friendly full stop. Over eggs, waffles and lush fresh fruit we met all sorts of people from all sorts of backgrounds. The communal breakfast room is neither daunting or impersonal but a great space in which to hear old and new tales and ideas about the city from a mix of newcomers, returning guests and overnighters - all the time punctuated by Jan's agenda-free own take on a city that has been his home for many a year now. There was a lot of filtering ideas and tourist suggestions round that breakfast table that saved everyone from wasting their San Francisco time (which is a real concern when there is so much to savour and experience). I cannot see why anyone would not stay there.

Our room was tidied every day with fresh towels and the complimentary carafe was topped up when the alcohol fairies drank some of it. Furthermore - soft drinks and and guilt-free sized chocolates share corridor space with tasteful and locally produced artwork, there is a spacious lounge and the whole Inn is decked out with a lush, cosy-making carpet.

We never had a problem with any noise. Central San Francisco is a thriving, busy arena. Of course there is going to be the sound of passing traffic. If anything, The Inn On Castro is just off the main thoroughfare anyway.

The position could not be better. The Castro is naturally a perfect destination for the gay or lesbian traveller but offers everyone a wider, more genuine take on San Francisco (don't get distracted by staying in the city - that is not the real San Francisco). And the Mission and Market districts are a walk away with great restaurants and their own cast list of bars and meeting places. Plentiful buses, trams and subways cite in the Castro area mean the Inn as ideal for all sorts of travelling (and not travelling) throughout the city and we never once felt off the beaten track. In fact, the track starts at the Inn On Castro.

Room Tip: The Red Room has great views and was perfect for us. Ground floor, at the back of the building and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MarkyMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Such gracious host. I love to go to a completely new city setting and somehow feel right at home! NO HOTEL can match that experience...the location here is undoubtedly the best! A+ to the Red Room and the Green Rooms!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJeepGuyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at the Inn on Castro beginning september 2011. The rooms are very good, the breakfest is famous and the owner is very friendly and helpfull. For me a way better option then a hotel. And yes, if you want a bathroom for your own, then book a hotel. If you are not affraid to meet other people at the breakfest table: book here. Do not hesitate!! Robert Witlox Amsterdam

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We so enjoyed staying here. Located in the most exciting part of town with loads of amenities & a first class breakfast. We will always stay here when in SF.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takeitorleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Inn in early October and had a really nice experience. It is clean and well kept, with nice furnishings and a homey feel.

The owner/innkeeper Jan is a lovely man and an excellent cook! He was very gracious with his time, and we could tell that he really loves his city. He told us about local events happening at the time, how to get places, restaurants to try, etc... He was also very accommodating with our very late check-in time, which we much appreciated.

I highly recommend the Inn! If we are ever in San Fran again, we plan to come back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hideaway room in the basement. It was nice because it had it's own private entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macuser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed in in one of the apartments on Caselli. The apartment was clean, had it's on laundry, open plan living, modern kitchen. The kitchen was stocked with everything you would need to cook for yourself and even entertain. The kitchen was also stocked with basic cooking essentials, eg; salt, pepper, oil etc. The apartment also had it's own little courtyard and free wifi

The area was very safe to walk late at night. It was close to restaurants, shopping, bars and a great supermarket. It was a short walk to the subway, trams and buses. it was close enough to Castro St,3 blocks away, and far enough not to be affected by the noise.

On our arrival, we were given a map and a list of restaurants grouped by price range, we were also advised on things to do. Will defiantly go back and have recommended it to all my friends travelling to San Fran.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cybergreetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

I had such a lovely stay in the Patio room, which has a garden area and views (patio/garden is shared with one other room). The location is superb, you can walk to just about every neighborhood or hop on muni to get downtown. The room is nicely appointed and has everything you need to be comfortable. I made coffee in the morning and sat out on the patio as the sun came up. Some guests commented on the noise but I have to say I didn't find it noisy at all. I slept with the window cracked open both nights and slept deeply - and I am usually a light sleeper. I loved staying here, it really does feel like "home".

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bklynintl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,520 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,545 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
444 reviews
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
231 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $169 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing