We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveller rating
687
128
16
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
128
16
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castro area muni station brown room other guests breakfast table host jan hideaway suite patio room home away from home every morning fresh fruit private bath breakfast was delicious twin peaks a wonderful place to stay f line restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 839 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have stayed at this lovely Inn 3 times now. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location, the service, the owner, the amazing breakfasts, proximity to transit and amenities, the delightful atmosphere make this the quintessential place to stay.

Room tip: The front room can be a tad noisy on weekends.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This guest house is convenient and the operator (Jan - pronounced Yan) is remarkable. He truly makes you feel as if you're in a home. An incredible breakfast every morning (no two alike) and wonderful advice on how to get the best out of the city. He knew which museum exhibits were worth getting to...what was going on in town at that time.

Room tip: This is essentially a gay owned/friendly guest house. If you're not comfortable around gay people it's not well suited for you. Nothing is "in your face" but you are staying in the gayest neighborhood in the United States...Castro. We stayed in the White Room which also had an incredible view of the city.
Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BEARDEDMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a definate stand out of my trip to the USA this year.

The Inn on Castro is a gem, absolutely lovely and well appointed rooms, beautiful breakfast served daily by the owner, Jan, who was also very helpful in pointing our worthwhile tourist attractions.

The hotel is located in the heart of the Castro district, very close to the train.

Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesThomas2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2011

I no longer think there's any other way to stay in San Francisco. Wonderful location right in the heart of the Castro and Jan was an excellent host and cook. The room was spacious and full of amenities, more than I expected for the lower price.

Room tip: The lower suites are secluded and private (perfect for a romantic getaway). Breakfast time gave a great chance to mingle with the host and other travelers.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Perfect location for hanging out in Castro. Charming house, clean and Jan the host is very kind and fix a very good breakfast. We liked this place very much, price point is fine considering SF hotels.
The only minus point is the noise created by the staff. No traffic noise - you will sleep well. However it feels like the staff is slamming those thin wooden doors and it resonate like crazy in the whole building. They were setting up the bfast table the evening before and my bedroom was below the dining room and I could hear blasting the cabinet doors for a good while .... same with the laundry door, or the minibar door in the hallway .... I think all these can be fixed if the staff would get this feedback. We don't hear any walking which is good. They have thick carpeting but for a reason that I don't know we hear all the door noises ... so they need to be more gentle and I am not kidding on that one. I was tired and got irritated but did not say anything. Finally I discovered in two different places a bowl filled with earplugs .... so I realized that maybe this is a common thing ...
So a friendly advise to Jan : check with your staff on that point

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teuscherchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews