We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!!”
Review of Parker Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Parker Guest House
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying five nights at The Parker Guest House in San Francisco, it was a wonderful experience. From the reservation at the on set to them reserving a car for us back to the airport , it was very professional. The staff is the best in the business! They are knowledgeable with recommendations for restaurants, very helpful with any needs or questions and they are so warm and friendly while at the same time remaining very professional. The rooms are impeccable, tastefully decorated with top quality furnishings and very clean. The breakfast is in a very cheery room overlooking a lovely garden sitting area. The location is great, close to all that the city has to offer. The proprietors of the property continue to provide top notch accommodations, service and quality for what in my view is a very modest price. You can tell there is pride taken here, and there's something to be said for caring if your guests are happy. An interesting note is that our driver back to the airport, who was great, told us how much he enjoys driving guests from the Parker House because they always come out happy and in a good mood. I recommend a visit without hesitation.

Room Tip: I think most rooms would be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    143
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
89
444
172
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Not only is the victorian Parker Guest House beautiful to look at, the guests are treated with utmost attention. When I sat in the living room to read, one employee immediately lit the fireplace for me, Breakfast was lovely and the grounds are wonderful with many outdoor well- appointed seating areas. The rooms was extremely clean and well appointed.
I have no hesitations about staying in the Parker Guest house every time I visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at Parker Guest house and must say that it is probably one of the nicest small hotels I have ever stayed in. I travel a great deal and get to see many hotels and this would be right up there near the top.
My wife and I arrived quite late in the evening and were greated with a warm welcome. Everything about the hotel was in excellent condition, it looked as if the place had been decorated only yesterday and the fixtures and fittings were of a high quality. Our room was immaculate with a lovely ensuite.
Breakfast is taken in the bright and sunny dining area and was plentiful with a good choice of cereals, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, etc. available.
Lastly, it is in a great location just outside the centre of town, but close to the Castro district with lots of bars/restaurants within a short walk.
Would definitely book again when back in San Francisco.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonBernie_bolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Had a wonderful time staying at Parker Guest House, just our cup of tea. Lovely house, nice room, great hot shower, comfortable bed. We really appreciated the relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Breakfast time was great (lots of fruit, cereal, toast, waffles and good coffee to help yourself to) - in the sunny spacious breakfast room we chatted American politics with other guests over coffee (fascinating to 2 Brits!). Nothing felt rushed in the way that upmarket hotels do. Staff were super friendly and helpful. This place was recommended to us and we'd recommend it highly to anyone. Nice to stay in a pretty, residential neighbourhood too.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calpicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a great B&B in between the Mission and Castro districts. My partner and I were very pleased with our room, the grounds, and the repair of the property itself. Breakfast included fresh bread, fruit, cereals, etc (and occasionally fresh bagels). Our room was a large king overlooking Church Street. Loved the room. We sleep with a sound machine (luckily) since the streetcar will most certainly wake you up at 5am otherwise. I am very sensitive to noise. Overall, I would give this a very good rating and will most certainly return. My only complaints were the room could have been cleaned more thoroughly daily and one of the staff members seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. I will recommend. I think it helped that we had amazing weather the whole week as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tampa33629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Eschew the downtown hotels and lofts and stay here. You'll be a stone's throw from dolores park, close to some of the best bakeries and bars in town and in the thick of the mission and castro districts. The B&B is lovely - the house gleams from the tremendous care and love its owners have put into it - dark wood paneling, thick sturdy doors, an inviting fire. But the best thing about the Parker Guest House is the staff. Considerate, inviting and *warm* - I could feel their genuine pleasure in inviting me to stay with them during my first sojourn to San Francisco.
- Charlie Moore

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are more quiet - I preferred being up high (the streetcar didn't tr...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carolynmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Loved the outdoor courtyards. There are two main houses which share a manicured courtyard. Everything was freshly painted. The kitchens (two) and rooms have the pottery barn appeal. We stayed in a tiny room. The walls are thin, making it possible to hear a snoring neighbor. There is also a commuter train that whizzes by around 7:00 a.m. The bathrooms could use some more shelves and/or hooks. The reception area needs an update as well to match the rest of the inn. Scott was a lovely host. He went out of his way to welcome us "home." The inn is within walking distance to the Castro as well as Noe Valley (albeit a very steep hill). If you are staying during the week and have a car, pay the extra $ for parking. It's a lot easier to find parking on the weekend near the inn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ohana143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,081 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 228 in San Francisco
1,446 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
5,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parker Guest House

Property: Parker Guest House
Address: 520 Church St, San Francisco, CA 94114-2023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parker Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parker Guest House is a 21 guest room inn located between San Francisco's vibrant Castro and Mission Districts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Parker Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parker Guest House Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing