We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #9 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

When traveling, boutique hotels are my first choice. This place had a European flavor. It is an old building, so there are small, but insignificant signs of age. Every staff member was friendly and I had the feeling that they were sincere in their gestures of hospitality. The location is great. Our room was in the back, so even with the window open it was quiet in my opinion. The complementary soft drinks were a plus. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The fireplace was an added romantic amenity. Breakfast was adequate for my needs and the wine and snacks in the evening was a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylark205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    478
    106
    32
    12
See reviews for
314
948
75
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Overall good value and location for a tourist. Blocks to Union Sq, & Chinatown. $ blocks from the pickup spot for Dylan's Famous Tours ( Which I would recommend) It's a quaint, traditional British decor with spacious rooms and a very nice breakfast and evening wine and snacks provided The city noises were heard even in the back of the Inn but we heard no noises from other quests because we were on the 5th floor so no one above us. I don't think it would be completely quiet in any room. I would avoid being near the elevator, it's very old and the metal gates and doors make noise when closing. ALL the staff were friendly and helpful. I had asked for extra pillows and they were in the room when we arrived.

Room Tip: 5th floor in back & away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I asked for a quiet room and was given an inside room on the top floor. I never heard a sound the whole time I was there. The room was big, and I ran the fireplace in the evening and in the morning just because it was there. The common room is quite nice. I missed the wine reception, but I stopped in after and finished the leavings. The morning breakfast was excellent. I had quiche, yogurt, oatmeal, and fruit, but there were also pastries, hard-boiled eggs, cereal, and more. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Here are a few nitpicks - you decide if any are important to you. 1. The building is old, e.g., you open and close the accordion door of the ancient elevator yourself (I thought it was fun, but it doesn't make for quick trips to the room). 2. The rug in my room was not a sparkling hotel commercial carpet, but it fit the feel of the place. 3. The coffee both in-room and at breakfast is Folgers-ey. 4. The shades in the room don't block out all the light - I brought my eye mask and I was fine.

I had a great stay at White Swan Inn, and I recommend it.

Room Tip: I wanted quiet, so I asked for a quiet room. I got an inside room on the top floor and I was very ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My teenager daughter and I spent two nights at this hotel in early April and we enjoyed it very much. It has a lot of character. We had a king room on the top floor, overlooking Bush St. The room was clean, large, bright, the bed was comfortable, and we enjoyed the city scene from our windows. The location of the hotel is perfect -- it is within walking distance to everything -- Union Square, Nob Hill, Chinatown, the cable car lines. The breakfast had a nice variety, the afternoon cookies were a yummy treat after returning from a busy day sight-seeing, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The staff also puts out snacks at 5pm. I also liked that the front door to the hotel was locked 24 hours a day. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to city sounds, request a room away from Bush St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sierra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very friendly and prompt service with an aesthetically pleasing common space for guests were some of the positives to this b and b. What really impressed us even more was that, a last minute change in our plans, resulted in our having another person with us and requesting a cot in our room. The said they'd be happy to accommodate and ended up upgrading us to a suite at no extra charge! This made for much greater comfort for all concerned.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street may be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleson, TX
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is a great little hotel with charm. I traveled to San Francisco for a vacation and this place fit the bill. It is 2 blocks from the cable car, and within walking distance of Chinatown. My room was on the 5th floor facing Bush St, which can be a bit noisy some mornings. Breakfast is adequate, but I was saving room for seafood so didn't want a huge breakfast anyway. Parking is a nightmare unless you valet, so keep that in mind, but that is anywhere in SF. Nice amenities and spacious rooms. I loved it here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freebyrd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We spent 4 nights in the 'White Swan Inn' of San Francisco and we loved every second of it. The Hotel is in a great location, very close to Union Square, China Town and all the main attractions of San Francisco.
This little boutique Hotel is really a diamond in the heart of San Francisco. Rooms are quite big and decorated in a lovely way (flowered wallpaper in each floor/room). The bed is extremely comfortable and the bedroom offers all the things you might need, from the closet, to the big tv including an electric fireplace (very useful considering how cold and rainy San Francisco was).
The room's price includes an American Breakfast and complementary soft drinks.
The staff is kind and very helpful, always available.
Since it is a boutique hotel in the heart of San Francisco, the building is quite old and it may cause some little problem (ex the sink gets always flooded) but these are very small issues compared to the great advantages this Hotel offers.
We highly recommend to everybody, especially to who's in San Francisco for his honeymoon, as we were :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zizza55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,757 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#6 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing