We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in San Francisco”
Review of Sleep Over Sauce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sleep Over Sauce
Ranked #18 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2015

This is a great gem of a B&B in San Francisco. Locals have their friends and family stay here because of the great location and incredible price. It is not a "traditional" hotel (or B&B). It is self-service, with standard amenities. The rooms are a bit dated, but who is going to sit in their hotel all day? If you arrive before the restaurant opens there is a good chance that housekeeping will be there to help (and they are great).

Just be happy you have a clean, safe room at an incomparable price and go out and enjoy the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms without bathrooms have private bathrooms across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MoLellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2015

This is a small hotel over a Restaurant - "Sauce",. So you Sleep over Sauce.
If you are looking for a really ritzy place with a Reception Desk, a Lift and all mod cons give it a miss. But if you are looking for something clean, comfortable, good price and do not mind climbing the stairs this is the place for you. It is about 10-15 min easy walk from the BART. Close to the bus routes and heaps of restaurants. Even though you are above the Restaurant it is very quite. We ate at "Sauce" twice. It was so good food. If you arrive after 5pm to check in the Barman will do that for you. The staff in the restaurant are so friendly and will help you with anything. Some rooms have there own bathroom others a share arrangement. One the first floor there is a giant common room with microwave, fridge, food plus a large lounge, TV, books, board games. A great area to relax. They also have a 24 hour business centre. A really great hotel - a hidden gem!!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015

I was alone for a business travel and i was looking for a quiet place, with good location. It was confortable, clean and the best of all is the person at the B&B are very helpful. The breakfast was very nice and it has a lot of things to taste. If i come back to San Francisco i will come again.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VictorFarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

I booked a stay because we attended the Music Fest this past weekend. It's always nerving for me to have to book in unfamiliar territory, but I took the gamble at Sleep over Sauce. I have no regrets! good location...room was comfy...and it being over the restaurant/bar was not noisy at all, BUT what hooked me to come back one day was the customer service. THANK YOU AMANDA AND NINA!! I hope their superiors value that they have a great energy & welcoming staff. Amanda was the first person who saw us coming up (stairs! yes! but still worth it) She greeted us...offered us water/coffee even a snack :) & showed us the "common room".. if we needed a moment to rest since our room wasn't ready (not hotel error...we arrived super early) (Last, but not least...I can't forget Roel..When I was still in limbo of where to book..Every time I called with "another" question...Roel was always super kind so thank you too...Their restaurant was yummers! we were not disappointed) Take Care all! Ciao...

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Yvette V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We stayed here with our big family for a wedding and it was perfect! They have a common room where we could all gather and 2 floors with maybe 4-5 room. Every room was unique & had it's own story. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank freeTVEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights at Sleep Over Sauce. It was very clean and we loved Amanda who took very good care of us. We were a little worried about it being noisy because it is over a restaurant and on a busy street but it turned out fine and the noise didn't bother us at all. It is in a great neighborhood and great location. We will return.

Room Tip: Our top floor room-Presidio--was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dottie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2015

Normally when we're in S.F., we stay at one of the "chain" hotels near Union Square; however, since we were attending a play at the Orpheum, I decided to look for something different. After reading the reviews about Sleep Over Sauce, I booked a room for a very decent price. Communication from the hotel was excellent what with confirmations, follow-up emails with directions, etc. When we arrived, I realized that this hotel was on the "other side" of Van Ness in a neighborhood we hadn't really explored, the Hayes Valley. Walking down the street, I was amazed at the number of restaurants! This is an area that definitely needs more exploring.

Our room was over the restaurant (that's another review), up a pretty steep flight of stairs (not for anyone with mobility issues ....). We were in the front room which was nicely furnished but a little spartan. One BIG issue with the front room is the noise! When you're not used to "city noise", it can be a little overwhelming -- especially on garbage day. They do have a lovely Common Room and we availed ourselves of fresh coffee every morning. Parking is an issue as there's nothing right next to the hotel. We ended up parking at the Performing Arts Garage, a number of blocks down the street, which was fine. Overall, it was a lovely stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again ... in a back room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
996 reviews
Hayes Valley
Hayes Valley Inn
Hayes Valley Inn
#14 of 72 in San Francisco
306 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
233 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
335 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Over Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Over Sauce

Address: 135 Gough St, San Francisco, CA 94102-5919 (Formerly Albion House Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Hayes Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: $201 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shows, Travel, Business or Pleasure this is the place. Sleep Over Sauce is a unique, 9 room, boutique inn located in San Francisco’s #1 shopping and entertainment hub, Hayes Valley. We are located in the center of the city. With the shopping in Hayes Valley, the shows and events in the Civic center, and only a short walk to both the Castro and the Haight Ashbury districts, Sleep is truly in the heart of the action. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sleep Over Sauce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Over Sauce Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing