We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The rooms, service, and restaurant were wonderful!!! I loved the style and Japan Town is so fun!!! Loved it!(:

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylatrapani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,503 - 1,509 of 2,081 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

From the beginning of our stay to the end my family felt cared for and catered to. The friendliness of the staff and the first rate facilities were exceptional in every aspect of our experience. We look forward to staying at the Hotel Kabuki again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traps5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Love to stay here when I am in town for business, right in the heart of Japantown

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My son and I stayed at the Kabuki last week. The room we had was very clean, comfortable beds, very quiet and had a small balcony overlooking the city. Loved the deep soaking tub too. We were able to park in the attached parking garage with no problems. The staff was very helpful and the neighborhood felt safe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4dkidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Before my husband and I flew to San Francisco, we did a little bit of research on hotels, but as we were in the city for the Metallica Fillmore shows, there was a good rate going for this one and the pcitures we seen looked lovely.

When we got there, we were delighted with the hotel, the lobby area looked nice and we were greeted with a beautiful smelling hotel, however, when we checked into our room (King) we were left very very disappointed. The room was very tired, the carpet worn and it needed a refurb. The room was quite small as well and the balcony area was grotty.

Anyhow, the room was at least clean and the bed comfortable and ideal if you want a comfortable stay.

It's near a few diners and restaurants so plenty of places for breakfast and dinner. If you don't mind a 20 minute walk to Union Square or the other direction to City Hall, it's in walking distance. It takes a bit longer tio walk to Haight-Ashbury (about 35 minutes). I'm accustomed to walking so I found the hotel accessible and convenient though many took taxis into town but be care late in the evening if you're walking between Union Square and the Kabuki - it's a bit scary with the homeless hanging about - but as long as you're vigilant, it's fine!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_Orr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were a little challenged by the room size and layout; if my husband sat at the desk working, I had to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom. The bed, however, was very comfortable.

Climate control in the room was tough--we had to open windows to get cool, then shut them before we went to bed.

Nice Japanese-influenced bathroom, with deep, narrow tub (with shower), then another shower area (for standing after one's bath?), then the glass door to prevent water getting on the main floor.

Front desk help did not seem to be available either late at night (after around 10:30) or early in the morning (6:30); we had to leave our keys and trust them to charge our card in lieu of checking out.

Overall, our stay was okay, but we'll probably choose another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolby05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This place is great. Great service, great rooms and great bar. Deep soaking tubs in every room. Japantown is so much fun too, and not too far out to walk to downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephonmyknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Kimpton Buchanan
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
537 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#76 of 230 in San Francisco
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laurel Inn, a Joie de Vivre hote...
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
71 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1625 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94115-3603 (Formerly Miyako Hotel San Francisco)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Japantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#63 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $205 - $693 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a unique blend of Eastern and Western influences, Hotel Kabuki offers sleek and serene accommodations in the heart of Japantown. Unwind in style. Our rooms offer a refined and serene ambiance and an aesthetic that marries Eastern and Western sensibilities. Some feature luxurious amenities like Japanese-style soaking tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kabuki, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kabuki Hotel San Francisco
Miyako Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Kabuki San Francisco
Kabuki San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing