We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best low-cost hotels in SF”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“One of the best low-cost hotels in SF”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Normally this hotel is a three in my book, but it's so difficult to find a good low-cost hotel in SF I gave it an extra bump. The breakfast is meager at best...just hard-boiled eggs and toast. Our room was also extraordinarily loud. If you're room is a 15 or 16 ask for a new room, those face Lombard Street, which is never silent. Normally it wouldn't bother me, but part of this hotel's charm is it's old fashioned look. Unfortunately it features old fashioned windows which don't block much noise. There's also no A/C, so we had to keep the windows open to stay cool and we could barely hear each other speak.

Those to poor points aside the hotel is actually quite nice. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is not your fancy brand-name, but is still pleasant in it's styling. A BIG bonus goes to the area. There are plenty of cheap hotels in bad areas of San Francisco and this one is in a fantastic location. We never felt unsafe at night unlike other areas we saw on the airport shuttle where I wouldn't want to walk during the day. Overall I would stay here again...just not in the same room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Lombard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelbuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    152
    151
    68
    59
See reviews for
47
231
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our first few nights in the USA were in Marina Inn and we found the room and hotel clean, the room a good size and in a great location for discovering the city. It's not in the centre of everything, but Fisherman's Wharf is walkable and buses are in easy reach to explore further afield. Although the breakfast was basic, for the price this was great value. Staff were also friendly and really helpful when we wanted to stay an extra night, and even manged to keep us in the same room. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairyexplorerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Marina Inn is an affordable place to stay in San Francisco. Nothing fancy and the place would need refreshing but nevertheless, for the price, the place is good. The bed wasn't too comfortable and the street noisy but we could sleep good anyways after walking all day long in SFO. The location isn't downtown, as it name says, it is in the Marina district but close (10-15 min walk) to the Fisherman's Wharf. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would still recommend it as a very good low cost option, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jean-Philippe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Old hotel with a little character. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and they provide a lot of good fluffy pillows. The location is good. Close to Fisherman's Wharf, Union St cafe's and shops as well as Chestnut St which is full of coffee shops and quaint stores. The bus is easy to catch on Lombard or Chestnut and will take you all over the city. The TV is old and does not offer many channels. The shower nozzle faces the wall so showering was so so. The breakfast they offer consists of cheap wheat bread to make toast and hard boiled eggs. Not appetizing. Overall, it was a good experience and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face Lombard St. Lombard St is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

The hotel was nice, the room was very cute. It was close to everything and the staff were pretty friendly. Only complaint would be the breakfast, which was only juice, porridge and croissants, without anything to put on them. We ended up buying our own cereal. Other than that it was a good hotel at a reasonable price and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendive, Montana
Level Contributor
454 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Spent two nights here recently on my first trip to San Francisco. Definitely shows its age, but the Victorian style atmosphere is charming and comfortable. Rooms are very clean. Amenities are basic. Staff is excellent. Free wireless internet is fast enough. Breakfast is probably the most meager offering I have ever seen at a hotel that offers breakfast. Good location - centrally located to everything "touristy" in San Francisco (within 2 miles of almost everything - walking is the way to tour San Francisco, so for those reviews who complain about walking, all I can say is "get used to it." I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not a tip about a room, but about dining. I noticed there are several reviews complaining there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfercharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The staff was so friendly and informative. The deluxe room suited us. I had not visited SF for 25 yrs, and was nicely surprised that the neighborhood was still great. the Inn is close to everything due to transportation choices. I will definitely recommend this Inn. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Get the deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmvs921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#148 of 228 in San Francisco
456 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#77 of 228 in San Francisco
567 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#145 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
487 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#121 of 228 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing