We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget stay”
Review of Marina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Inn
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic budget stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I found Marina Inn on Tripadvisor, and despite some hesitation, I booked here because the location and price ultimately won out. Essentially, I found what was described by other reviewers to be, more or less, true: place is loud with the constant rumbling of Lombard Street; my sheet was stained; could hear the snorer in the room next door; and I did see a couple of ants in the bathroom.

Nonetheless, I would still recommend to those who are on a budget. The location is tops (a morning run along in the nearby marina towards Golden Gate Bridge and Palace of Fine Arts was a highlight for me on this trip). The Victorian decor was sweet. Room was cleaned everyday. And though the room was small, the bathroom was relatively huge.

I was a solo traveler, and would recommend to other solo travelers who are okay with trading luxuries for a decent stay at a great price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nova S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    152
    152
    68
    59
See reviews for
47
231
53
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights. The accommodations were basic, but enjoyable! I liked the homey feel of the hotel. Two complaints-PARKING (there is absolutely no parking in the area. They need to work with another hotel and charge the guests to use the lot) and the BREAKFAST (it was a joke...pieces of bread piled up on a plate and hard boiled eggs). The room was kind of small, but we weren't in the room much except for sleeping and showering. Overall, the experience was nice. I doubt I would stay here again, it was too far from most of the touristy stuff. The girls at the front desk were friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphys, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The price is what makes this hotel attractive. For about $50 you get a small, fairly clean room in a decent neighborhood. There is absolutely no parking available - anywhere! There are fun places to walk to and the neighborhood feels safe. The noise level is HORRIBLE, though. I felt as if I tried to sleep on a freeway overpass. I kept checking the window, certain that one of them must be open!! That, with the steady snoring of the person in the room next door made for a sleepless night. Free tea/coffee and juice was nice in the morning - although I wasn't interested in the white bread and jam set out. Would I return? Only if a was dead broke - I need my sleep too much!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopping2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed between 23-27 january for 4 nights with our friends.
It is an old building.Amenities are very basic.There is no taking care of.Pretty dirty place.
Location is average, far to walk to the restaurants or entertaiments.
The reception staff was friendly.
Our room was small and very basic.Sheets and towels were dirty...almost gray.Carpets are filty.Noise made impossible to sleep.The old windows dont block the noise.
Closet size bathroom were difficult to use.
The breakfast was not appetizing and accually breakfast room smaller than our room.
İf you are on a budget and looking decency than ok.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelybulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel has very different reviews on tripadvisor and google. We went ahead and booked for one night and extended for two more. The price was low enough to take some disadvantages. On the plus side; the staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel offers no parking, they do work with a local travellodge. For ten dollars a night we parked the car at their motel (10-15 minute walking distance). The atmosphere of the hotel is very nice. Although the glory years seem to have passed, it still has character.

There were two major downsides though. We followed the advice from different reviews and asked for a room not facing Lombard street. We got one, but there were loud noises from the boiler room. Even more annoying; the heating is controlled by one thermostat for the entire hotel. We asked if the heat could be turned down for three times. In the middle of the night the room heated up again and it was really really hot! We asked if the heating could be turned off permanently, but it wasn't possible.

The main function of an hotel is to be able to sleep. The noise and heat made it quite impossible for us three nights in a row. If you go for cheap and character, Marina Inn is a good choice. But you should be the person how can lie down their head and sleep everywhere.

The breakfast consists of toast and boiled eggs. The coffee was nice (a bit stronger than the American average).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RubenB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Normally this hotel is a three in my book, but it's so difficult to find a good low-cost hotel in SF I gave it an extra bump. The breakfast is meager at best...just hard-boiled eggs and toast. Our room was also extraordinarily loud. If you're room is a 15 or 16 ask for a new room, those face Lombard Street, which is never silent. Normally it wouldn't bother me, but part of this hotel's charm is it's old fashioned look. Unfortunately it features old fashioned windows which don't block much noise. There's also no A/C, so we had to keep the windows open to stay cool and we could barely hear each other speak.

Those to poor points aside the hotel is actually quite nice. The staff was extremely helpful and polite. The hotel is not your fancy brand-name, but is still pleasant in it's styling. A BIG bonus goes to the area. There are plenty of cheap hotels in bad areas of San Francisco and this one is in a fantastic location. We never felt unsafe at night unlike other areas we saw on the airport shuttle where I wouldn't want to walk during the day. Overall I would stay here again...just not in the same room.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Lombard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelbuddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our first few nights in the USA were in Marina Inn and we found the room and hotel clean, the room a good size and in a great location for discovering the city. It's not in the centre of everything, but Fisherman's Wharf is walkable and buses are in easy reach to explore further afield. Although the breakfast was basic, for the price this was great value. Staff were also friendly and really helpful when we wanted to stay an extra night, and even manged to keep us in the same room. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairyexplorerlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Redwood Inn
Redwood Inn
#152 of 228 in San Francisco
458 reviews
Marina District
Francisco Bay Inn
Francisco Bay Inn
#144 of 228 in San Francisco
545 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#112 of 228 in San Francisco
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#132 of 228 in San Francisco
150 reviews
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#120 of 228 in San Francisco
748 reviews
Marina District
Town House Motel
Town House Motel
#134 of 228 in San Francisco
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Inn

Property: Marina Inn
Address: 3110 Octavia St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3009
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marina Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel San Francisco
Marina Inn San Francisco
Marina San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing