We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in San Fran”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Ranked #62 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Iconic hotel. Indulge in pure luxury and let yourself be pampered. Ideal for business, couples, anniversary, birthday present, etc.
Corporate gatherings are ideal here or business meetings. You can also get miles by staying in this property. You may inquiry when checking in.

Room Tip: Book early. High floor is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Powerargie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

539 - 545 of 2,591 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

This hotel was cheap and old and also famous so I decided to stay here but I did not expect the room to be so nice, jazz music was on when we walked in and there was marble floors in the bathroom and everything, it was worth the price and also had a lot of charm to go with it

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
Thank Ethan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Situated at the top of (S)Nob Hill this hotel is classy and charming. Upon checking in I was offered a free upgrade to a corner room which was very spacious and clean. On returning on my 2nd day I'd been left a fruit basket and card welcoming me to the hotel which was a nice touch. The California cable car line is across the street from the hotel or the Powell line is one block down so easy access to city centre if you don't fancy the (very) steep walk down the hill! Staff are all very friendly and helpful and always greeted me with a smile and "welcome back" or "enjoy you day". I enjoyed room service a couple of times and this was excellent on each occasion, on my last evening I used the restaurant and again, food was great, staff very friendly. I was told how to access the wi-fi but couldn't get this to work, however not a big deal to me and I'm sure if I asked again it would have been fine. My only complaints regarding this hotel were the lack of sound-proofing, I understand it's an old building and therefore difficult but for the first couple of nights I had very noisy neighbours who liked the TV REALLY, REALLY LOUD so loud in fact I was woken at 2am convinced there was a police shoot out in my room only to discover they had arrived back from a night out and we're watching a cop show!! The other slight niggle was not having curtains that closed in the room so I was woken early each day by the sun shining through ( I know I shouldn't moan about the sun in November but at home I have blackout blinds year round!!). My only disappointment was the "Top of the Mark" Sunday brunch but will review this separately

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShirazMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I stayed here to attend a conference at the Mascone Center. Decent room & amenities, nice view from Top of the Mark, excellent customer service. What I enjoyed most was it's location that allowed me to walk to the conference and to several dinners at the piers. It was a bit of a walk uphill to the hotel but I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank B K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We were terribly disappointed with what is said to be a luxury hotel. Upon arrival we were told they were not able to accommodate our request for a late check out but would up grade our room to a junior suite. The room was dated, very dirty ( piles of dust edging the entire carpet area, thick dust on lamps) and was located next to the very old elevators and ice machine. Some upgrade! We asked to be changed and were given another room (standard) which was in the same condition but not next to the elevator. Upon check out we were billed for two drinks from the Top of the Mark which we not only didn't have but hadn't even been there!

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms next to the elevators, they are old and very clanky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jose P, Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2015

Thank you for sharing your experience from your arrival at the InterContinental Mark Hopkins. We appreciate your feedback as it helps to see where our strengths and weakness lie. I would love to have the opportunity to discuss the details of your stay at your convenience. Please reach out to me at ICMarkHopkins@ihg.com.

Thank you for sharing your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,

Jose Pineda
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed a night here after visiting Sonoma Valley. I picked it because its location in Nob Hill. The hotel is charming and classy. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The Top of the Mark experience was wonderful. It's the 19th floor of the hotel. The restaurant and bars view of the city is unparalleled to the other luxury hotels.
Our room was a 13 floor city view and it was fantastic!
Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Blessedmama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2015

+
Hotel is really clean
neighbourhood is good. No homlesses etc.
Rooms are very big enough with a huge lcd, locker, safe, coffe machine, alarm clock etc.
Roof bar & breakfast room is nice
Staff are very friendly and helpfull

-
Hotel is on top of a hill and is very tiring to walk from market street
There isn't free wifi in the hotel. I think it is a shame for a business hotel like this.
Breakfast was great but it is very expensive (40$)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Özge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#30 of 230 in San Francisco
3,576 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,060 reviews
Union Square
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
Kimpton Sir Francis Drake Hotel
#96 of 230 in San Francisco
3,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,420 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,789 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco

Address: 1 Nob Hill, 999 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2228
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $238 - $701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC GRANDEUR ON THE CREST OF NOB HILL As splendid now as when it opened to great fanfare in 1926, InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco is one of the city’s finest hotels with a long legacy of service excellence. Located at the crossing of three cable car lines, the venerable landmark is minutes from Union Square, Chinatown, and the Financial District. Fisherman’s Wharf and the Golden Gate Bridge are short drives away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
Intercontinental San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing