We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,607)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveller rating
974
446
113
45
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
974
446
113
45
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews grace cathedral nob hill big restaurant infinity pool piano bar spa area cable car steam room california street upgraded to a suite union square an upgrade classic hotel room service one bedroom suite beautiful hotel mark hopkins
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent hotel with outstanding hospitality and staff.Recommend highly.Location excellent with easy access to public transportation, walking distance to Chinatown, Financial District, Fisherman's Wharf.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Culture34342433665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeroenB_Huntington, Director of Rooms at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ken Y,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of your stay at the Huntington Hotel in San Francisco! We’re glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked our central location atop Nob Hill with easy access to Union Square and Fisherman’s Wharf. We’re looking forward welcoming you back soon when visiting our beautiful city by the Bay!

Sincerely,

Jeroen Buiks
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Loved the location and ambiance but there were some basics missing like a microwave-like my tea at all times but the restaurant was very accommodating about filling my cup. Our bathroom toilet had some subtle and not so subtle areas that were dirty. This lead to me wondering about the discolorations on the tile grout across from the toilet. The decor was fabulous-old world nice. Wonderful robes--the best I've experienced. I rated the noise poor but SF is noisy; the hotel should provide ear plugs. No noise from other rooms. The bar has lots of history and a wonderful piano player. Wine pours are stingy.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 92pamela121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 92pamela121,

Thank you for your anniversary visit and review! I am glad that you loved our location, ambiance, "fabulous decor", lush robes as well as the Big 4 Bar, rich with history and live piano music nightly. I also appreciate all your very helpful comments, and have already have begun chasing down with our team the points you raised. While the days of Pavarotti cooking pasta in his room before an Opera performance are sadly long gone, we have tea kettles and microwaves we are happy to send up to our guests upon request (in addition to the Keurig single serve coffee makers in all guest rooms). So we hope you and all our guests will please not hesitate to ask for this or anything else you might need. Cleanliness is a chief priority, and while our scores on that are high, we always like to stay very much on top of keeping everything spotless, so your feedback is valued. We are grateful you chose us for this special anniversary stay, and sincerely look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018

Lovely hotel in every way. Exceptional service. Spa is absolutely beautiful--on the expensive side but well worth it . It should be noted the hotel is much more on the quiet, understated side...If you are looking for something super modern and trendy, not the best choice.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Voyage36254162463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2018

Dear Voyage36254162463,

It is a joy to receive a review like yours, thank you very much! Our team is committed to providing exceptional service, so your confirmation that we hit the mark brings lots of smiles--again, much appreciated. The Nob Hill Spa is indeed a uniquely relaxing San Francisco experience, from the beautiful space and views to the many excellent treatments, to pool-side dining, and more. We're so glad that you enjoyed it. Please come stay with us again soon, we look forward to welcoming you back!


Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2018

Jacques helped us get situated with a beautiful suite for our Engagement photoshoot. He was very kind and helpful. He made sure everything was perfect before we arrived and made booking so easy! We would definitely recommend staying here. The spa and massage area was fabulous and just what we needed before taking pictures for 4 hours. Though we were not able to eat dinner at the restaurant, the breakfast was amazing. It is also a bonus that they are located right next to the Grace Cathedral!

Room tip: Any room as long as it is in this hotel.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freedom29255415183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Freedom29255415183,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you chose us to be part of such a happy time of your lives, and are equally pleased that everything at our Hotel, Restaurant and Spa was as perfect as you had hoped. A wonderful aspect of the Huntington Hotel, which your review highlights, is how well the entire team--from Sales, to Front Office, to Spa, to F&B and even our support departments-- all come together with genuine enthusiasm focused on the well being and happiness of our guests. We are honored to be a part of life's special events, and devote lots of "tender loving care" behind the scenes to ensure that everything is "just right," not only for grand celebrations, but also for everyone calling us "home" during their time in our beautiful City. And we agree with you, it is a true privilege to have as our neighbor Grace Cathedral, such an exceptional place. We look forward to welcoming you back soon --and congratulations!

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in Nob Hill and is at the top of a steep hill. You are a good walk or taxi ride away from restaurants/bars and tourist attractions.
The hotel itself is very modern. Everything was clean and tidy. They had a problem in the kitchen when I was there, and they laid out pastries, tea and coffee for all guests in the morning so that no one missed breakfast.
They have a nice little bar with a good choice of drinks. All staff were very welcoming.
I haven’t given 5* purely due to the location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus A, General Manager at Huntington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Vicky H,

Many thanks for your kind words, I am glad that yours would have been a Five Star review except for our location atop Nob Hill. Next time, why not catch the California Street Cable Car right outside our entrance for a beautiful ride down the hill, and for your return, call for our complimentary limousine service to whisk you back to our quiet, clean oasis on lovely Huntington Park? We appreciate your compliments on our staff and excellent service, and on the Big 4 Bar, which also features live piano music nightly. The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Klaus Atzmueller
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews