We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to San Francisco”
Review of Bernalview B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bernalview B&B
Ranked #13 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 May 2017

I was only in San Francisco for a few days and had never visited before.I was on my way back to the UK via New Zealand. I was on my own and found Bernaliview extremely comfortable, wonderful views, very tolerant and helpful hosts who were able to answer a myriad of probably tiresome questions with a smile. I loved the freedom of having my breakfast when I felt like it, helping myself to delicious supplies from the fridge and being able to go out into the beautiful little enclosed garden. I would definitely recommend staying there - very relaxed, quiet and lovely part of SF.

Room Tip: There is only one room available with beautiful views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tricia598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2017

My wife and I stayed here at the beginning of May for the weekend and absolutely loved this place. It has gorgeous views of the city from the main living room, the backyard patio was a stunning place to sit and have breakfast while enjoying the sun, and the bedroom was spacious and comfy. Breakfast options included a large assortment of high quality meats and cheese and oatmeal and whatever else you could really want. Alan was friendly and inviting and we felt like we were friends that he had staying in his home. We would 100% stay here again next time we visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Bernalview B&B added to the overall San Francisco experience! The room was comfortable and cozy, we slept as good as we do in our own bed back home. The view from our bedroom window was stunning-overlooking the city; add to that a beautiful garden patio off the kitchen for breakfast and coffee. The hosts, Alan and Chris were terrific, offering fascinating facts from San Francisco's past as well as "touristy" attractions off the beaten path along with restaurant suggestions where the locals frequent. We will definitely stay at Bernalview B&B again.

Room Tip: This B&B is located in a quiet neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

With a last minute change in plans before our trip to San Francisco we struggled to find a place that was both well situated AND affordable. As such, this accommodation was an exceptional find.

After a fairly quick drive from the airport and we were able to find this house, WITH free street parking right out front! Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and made the stay that much more enjoyable. The view from the living room was lovely and the back patio was quite simply a sunny garden paradise where we enjoyed our breakfast both days we were there. A full fridge and access to the kitchen was indeed provided, and the bedroom itself was cozy and comfortable. As the room looked directly onto the street there was some noise, however it was still very acceptable (especially with the view!) as the neighborhood is fairly quiet. We would be thrilled to stay here again if it was available!

Room Tip: Only 1 room. Use main floor WC, shared upstairs bathroom for shower. Friendly residential neighborho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CatWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Bernalview B&B and their amenities are great. Tastefully decorated in Southern California colors with awesome views of San Francisco and downtown. Only minutes walk to Mission Street where there are tons of authentic restaurants, and very close to Church Street and Castro area by car. Also only 5 minutes walk to Bernal Heights Park which overlooks the whole city !

Host Alan, (an accomplished published writer) goes above and beyond in terms of fresh foods in the kitchen, and hospitality in general. His knowledge of the city and it's unique restaurants and places to see are also impeccable.

As the house is not on a main street, you will get a comfortable quiet sleep. With a half bath next to your bedroom and shower facilities a few steps away. Comfortable, reasonable, well appointed with an interesting back yard and patio to enjoy off the dining area as well. Totally enjoyed the hospitality and room and will not hesitate to book again in future. (We stayed in October of 2016)

Room Tip: Book in advance ...as it is a popular spot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walterofnewwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

It was a real pleasure to stay in this place - we loved it. Beautifully appointed room, with a five-star view across the city. We liked being a bit out of the centre but it was easy to reach the city with a short walk and a bit of transport. We were looked after really well during the reservation process and all the way up to arriving at the front door.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank QSMPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We enjoyed our stay for several reasons. One is that the view from the room, especially at night is beautiful. A private half bath is right next door to the room and the kitchen is stocked with healthy food and great coffee which you are invited to eat and drink. The back porch is a lovely area to sit and read in the morning with a hot french press. The host, Alan, is an interesting, intelligent guy and he's a published author too. The house is in a nice neighborhood too! Can't beat it all the way around, great value.

Room Tip: There is one room for rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dereklink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
999 reviews
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
335 reviews
The Grove Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
233 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernalview B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernalview B&B

Address: 37 Stoneman St, Bernal Heights, San Francisco, CA 94110-5240
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled high on Bernal Hill with a view of downtown and the Bay Bridge, this 1898 home features a bedroom with a view, breakfast in the garden on sunny mornings, a friendly dog and his owner. Easy street parking and accessible by multiple bus routes and BART a short walk away that can take you to the Castro, SOMA, Mission and downtown. Self-serve continental breakfast. Wi-fi. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing