We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reasonably priced motel with both pluses and minuses.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel Capri
Ranked #105 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced motel with both pluses and minuses.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

When I was checking out hotels/motels in San Francisco I really wanted something right in the Fisherman's Wharf area but quickly realized that it would cost between $300 to $400 per night. Crazy! Capri is located in the Marina district and is accessible to Fisherman's wharf by either a $10 cab ride or you can take a bus just past Lombard which will bring you right down to the wharf.
I will say this, the room was big enough, clean and the big screen flat HD tv with satellite was great. Laminate flooring was also nice to not have to deal with dirty carpeting.
The negatives were only a few, I constantly could hear people slamming their door when they went out so it was kinda noisy. Also, because it got quite warm when I was there last week it would have been nice to have airconditioning, unfortunately they don't.
A nice touch was every morning between 8.30 and 10.30 they put out fresh coffee with Vanilla creamers and a variety of breakfast buns. This is complimentary and was very sweet of the staff to provide it.
I must comment on how helpful Goppi was. He is at the front desk and is fantastic!!! He helped out a lot by calling taxis for me, assisting with travel plans and overall he was so courteous and well mannered. He provided excellent customer service.
All in all I had a great stay there, the price was right and it was clean which means a lot to me anyway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are best as you don't have anyone walking above your head all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cujoetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    203
    120
    36
    33
See reviews for
146
173
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

This motel doesn't have enough "excellent" ratings.

I was a little put off by the 50s exterior (which is charming, but made me think the interior would match..) but I was wrong. The room was very clean and updated with laminate floors, fresh paint and artwork, and new clean bedding. The TV was also very new and big. I like how they kept a lot of the 50's charm in the place without making it seem too "dated". Our room did not have A/C but I noticed a lot of rooms did, they were just undergoing renovation. The renovation didn't bother us as guests.

There is also plenty of (FREE) parking and it is in a great location in relation to SF's main attractions. The room was about $99/night which is very fair for the city and location in my opinion. The supplied breakfast are just prepackaged pastries but they are better than nothing and helped when we were in a bind.

There is no fridge/microwave but we just had a cooler and refilled it at their ice machine each day. We went to safeway (nearby) and bought some food items have in our room.

I would 100% stay here again. All of the staff (front desk man, manager and maid) were all super nice and I can't complain about the room at all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweeetleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

It's a cute motel in a decent area of San Francisco at a very good price. The rooms are of a decent size and were clean and comfortable. It's not luxury, but you'll be hard pushed to find it at that price!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Indeed the room is just perfect, big, clean and the furnitures are nice. Flat HD sceen that works but first thing first, the people at the front desk were very nice and tried to do their best to accommodate our staying. One important thing once in San Francisco and renting a car is to be able to park your car, we had no problem to find place to park. We certainly recommend the The Capri Motel, when ever we'll be back in SF we won't hesitate to get a room here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverSF_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Nice motel, clean rooms, great location to explore some parts of the city by foot, only a bit noisy.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Room not ready 1 hour after posted check-in time. Carpet filthy, stunk of smoke. Picture on wall (though scew-mounted) was hung upside down. Only power outlet in bathroom was inoperative. Had to reconnect power to TV converter box-had been left unplugged. No outlet to connect provided coffee maker. Noise from other guests late evening and middle of night not controlled by staff. Returned from dining out @ 10 pm to find no parking available on property resulting in having to find spot on street blocks away. Was promised 10% price reduction for our trouble by manager named Ricky. When checking out, price had not been reduced and Ricky was not there to authorize. Staff promised he would contact my mobile but never heard back from him and price was not adjusted. Many promised made but not delivered by staff. You can definitely do better then staying at the Capri!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank radio1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location: Nearby the Marina, short walking distance from the shops and wonderful restaurants and coffee shops of Chestnut and Union streets. Easy access to public transportation.
Quite neighborhood, safe to walk at night
Room is simple, but clean.
The staff is very kind and helpful. They really care about people (especially Mo)
I will come again if I will be around
Tip;
Across the street there is an excellent pub.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roni o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Marina District
Chelsea Motor Inn
Chelsea Motor Inn
#85 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#157 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#26 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#110 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Capri

Property: Motel Capri
Address: 2015 Greenwich St, San Francisco, CA 94123-3518
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel Capri 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel San Francisco
Capri Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing