We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for our dollar”
Review of Chelsea Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Motor Inn
Ranked #79 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Property lived up to website description and reviews. Room had recently been renovated, was clean and fresh looking. Within walking distance of many shops, bars, restaurants as well as Marina Park. Front desk staff a little cold but all in all, good value.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterBaby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Chelsea Inn.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and you appreciate the renovated rooms as well as the location. We are sorry to hear the Front Desk did not welcome you as expected and will address this to make sure everyone is always greeted warmly.
We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to San Francisco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 722 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couple days and were very happy to find this Inn while driving through. We were welcomed by a very helpful front desk agent who gave restaurant information as well as the bus routes to local areas such as fisherman's wharf and Union Square. After a quick check in and filled with the information we were happily surprised with our room. It seemed to be renovated and clean. Basic amenities but just right for what we were looking for. Old style decor but cozy with a European touch. We enjoyed our stay and neighborhood with many restaurants to choose from our restaurant list that was given upon arrival by the desk person. We were glad to have found this place nearby the shops and close to the water. Walked to the wharf, about 30 minutes and toured around.

We will surely come back and very convenient with free parking.
Great service and very friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank prich94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear prich94,

Thank you for your appreciation and for sharing all the great things in your review. We are glad to hear your were helped in the way we expect each guest to be served. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the neighborhood as well as the convenient location of our Inn.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Room was comfortable, nothing to get excited about. Covered parking provided for approx. 10 cars otherwise you leave keys with front desk and they park it. Great location, wife and I walked everywhere, Fisherman's Wharf, Presidio, Ghirardeli Square. Enjoyed breakfast at Mel's Diner, just a couple of blocks away. Overall we had a great tme.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fernandoo597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your comment.
We have additional parking in the basement for more than 10 cars, you must have only seen the ground level parking as well as you came during a busy weekend where all the parking spots were taken on both levels.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

We spent our last two nights here at the end of a California tour. It was MUCH better value than the San Francisco hotel we chose for our first two nights. The hotel was easy to find and although it is quite a way away from the main attractions (Pier 39 etc.) Uber makes life very easy. It was also in a good area in terms of safety and finding good restaurants for the evening and breakfast, so location wasn't an issue. The staff were helpful and welcoming, there is free parking and the views were excellent! Our rooms looked out onto the Golden Gate Bridge - and there was no extra charge for this so the Harbor Court Hotel could learn a thing or two!! The rooms were enormous, very clean and comfortable. There was noise at night from a bar opposite but that was the only downside, and clearly that's not the hotel's fault... All in all, a very pleasant way to end our holiday and if we are ever back in California, we would certainly be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back would be quieter, but then you wouldn't have the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear BinksyNr_York_UK,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at Chelsea Inn.

We are glad to hear your appreciate our location as well as transportation to all major locations.
We appreciate you point out the outside noise which is beyond our control as well as the free parking we offer to all our guests which we believe is one of the best value in San Francisco where parking is a real deal breaker.

We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was an easy distance by car to Fisherman's Warf. We had a toddler so walking was out of the question. No in room microwave or referigerator but rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Street traffic was noisy but rooms were quiet and we did not hear our neighbors. The price seemed fare for the location and compared to higher priced hotels we looked at.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank CNiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

The welcome was non existent. The first thing the guy said was 'do you have a handicapped badge to park there' as we had parked in the disabled bay (yes we do). Had to sign something to say the hotel was not responsible for theft in our room and told there would be a hold on our card till after we leave to make sure we 'hadn't damaged it or smoked in the room' (yes this is the norm but there's ways of wording things). We refused housekeeping the entire time after signing the piece of paper saying they are not responsible for theft as it made me feel very uneasy. Did NOT give a good first impression.
Lift is dodgy, will shut hard on you when it feels like and bounces around while in motion. After check in we sat in the room looking for other hotels in the area but as there was a convention on nothing was available. The noise from the road is unreal, we are both very heavy sleepers but we couldn't sleep much (they do offer ear plugs at reception I found from looking online however did not see this until the end of our stay). Very small double beds, we are a couple and ended up sleeping on separate beds for comfort. Cleanliness was fine. Bathroom needs updating, yellowed bath and tiles.
Would not return under any circumstances.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robynprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Robynprincess,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay.
We are sorry to hear you were uncomfortable in signing the hotel disclaimers. It is a standard procedure to sign such disclaimer in any hotel you check in, some might not be visible on your registration card because it is written in fine print, however, we prefer to let our guests know instead of charging without prior notice.

We ask our guests when they park in the Handicap parking to have handicap sticker because we want to make sure they do not receive a ticket without the handicap permit, it is a courtesy of the hotel to inform our guests.

As you may know and read in other reviews street noise is beyond the hotel control and for some people it may be a discomfort while others enjoy to hear the street noise. We understand and apologize to hear that it was a burden during your stay, we would advise you to change to a different room type should you visit us again.

All our rooms were renovated as well as our housekeeping cleans thoroughly the bathroom floor. The tiles you may have seen is the natural stone color and often mistaken as dirty by our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We found this little place after a lot of research on trip advisor. A few great things about this hotel :
The location - all the main attractions in the city are about 10 mins away at the maximum. Plenty of restaurants and bars open at chestnut street right across the hotel that you could walk to.
Cleanliness - really tastefully decorated rooms and everything was spotless in the bathroom as well

The reasons I reduced a star:
1. Even though we had booked using a 3rd party website indicating there were 4 guests in the room. The person at the front desk was a little rude saying that I hadn't mentioned that. He was able to cross check later after I told him I'm sure.
2. There was never enough coffee in the room. There are 4 people in the room - I expected to see atleast 4 packets of coffee when housekeeping came in. We had to run downstairs each time.
3. The beds were not queen size. They were probably a full size - which was not great for 2 people sharing

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Meera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#85 of 231 in San Francisco
625 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#70 of 231 in San Francisco
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#34 of 231 in San Francisco
1,616 reviews
Marina District
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
Cow Hollow Inn and Suites
#45 of 231 in San Francisco
1,199 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motor Inn

Address: 2095 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#79 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: C$203 - C$345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Marina District, between Fillmore and Lombard. Centrally located in a bustling and crowded neighborhood with restaurants, bars, shops and public transportation within walking distance. One mile away from Fisherman's Wharf or 25 min. walking distance.One block away is the Bus 30: takes you to Fisherman's Wharf, North Beach, China Town and Union Square. It is safe to walk and bike everywhere in the neighborhood. A few blocks away you will find a Bike Rental shop for $20.00 a day. It is just a few miles away from the Golden Gate Bridge and beaches. Weekends offer a lot of activity and a higher level of noise in the streets with young crowds around the hotel. We offer complimentary parking for one car per room. In the event all the parking spaces are taken, guest needs to be double park and leave their car keys at the Front Desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Chelsea Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Motor Hotel San Francisco
Chelsea Motel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing