We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$279
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$279
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$292/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$492
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$379
US$351
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$263
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$337
US$279
Hotel Carlton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$279/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$305
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Francisco Financial District(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$335
US$283
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
196
406
113
22
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
406
113
22
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslombard streetfree parkingthe golden gate bridgemarina districtgreat locationcow hollowfisherman's wharfmel's dinerchestnut stbus stopwalking distancelight sleeperbusy roadrestaurants and barsinterior roompriced hotelwould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 755 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a couple days and were very happy to find this Inn while driving through. We were welcomed by a very helpful front desk agent who gave restaurant information as well as the bus routes to local areas such as fisherman's wharf and Union Square. After a quick check in and filled with the information we were happily surprised with our room. It seemed to be renovated and clean. Basic amenities but just right for what we were looking for. Old style decor but cozy with a European touch. We enjoyed our stay and neighborhood with many restaurants to choose from our restaurant list that was given upon arrival by the desk person. We were glad to have found this place nearby the shops and close to the water. Walked to the wharf, about 30 minutes and toured around.

We will surely come back and very convenient with free parking.
Great service and very friendly staff.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank prich94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear prich94,

Thank you for your appreciation and for sharing all the great things in your review. We are glad to hear your were helped in the way we expect each guest to be served. Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the neighborhood as well as the convenient location of our Inn.

We look forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Room was comfortable, nothing to get excited about. Covered parking provided for approx. 10 cars otherwise you leave keys with front desk and they park it. Great location, wife and I walked everywhere, Fisherman's Wharf, Presidio, Ghirardeli Square. Enjoyed breakfast at Mel's Diner, just a couple of blocks away. Overall we had a great tme.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fernandoo597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comment.
We have additional parking in the basement for more than 10 cars, you must have only seen the ground level parking as well as you came during a busy weekend where all the parking spots were taken on both levels.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

We spent our last two nights here at the end of a California tour. It was MUCH better value than the San Francisco hotel we chose for our first two nights. The hotel was easy to find and although it is quite a way away from the main attractions (Pier 39 etc.) Uber makes life very easy. It was also in a good area in terms of safety and finding good restaurants for the evening and breakfast, so location wasn't an issue. The staff were helpful and welcoming, there is free parking and the views were excellent! Our rooms looked out onto the Golden Gate Bridge - and there was no extra charge for this so the Harbor Court Hotel could learn a thing or two!! The rooms were enormous, very clean and comfortable. There was noise at night from a bar opposite but that was the only downside, and clearly that's not the hotel's fault... All in all, a very pleasant way to end our holiday and if we are ever back in California, we would certainly be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room at the back would be quieter, but then you wouldn't have the views...
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear BinksyNr_York_UK,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful experience at Chelsea Inn.

We are glad to hear your appreciate our location as well as transportation to all major locations.
We appreciate you point out the outside noise which is beyond our control as well as the free parking we offer to all our guests which we believe is one of the best value in San Francisco where parking is a real deal breaker.

We hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

This hotel was an easy distance by car to Fisherman's Warf. We had a toddler so walking was out of the question. No in room microwave or referigerator but rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Street traffic was noisy but rooms were quiet and we did not hear our neighbors. The price seemed fare for the location and compared to higher priced hotels we looked at.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank CNiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile

The welcome was non existent. The first thing the guy said was 'do you have a handicapped badge to park there' as we had parked in the disabled bay (yes we do). Had to sign something to say the hotel was not responsible for theft in our room and told there would be a hold on our card till after we leave to make sure we 'hadn't damaged it or smoked in the room' (yes this is the norm but there's ways of wording things). We refused housekeeping the entire time after signing the piece of paper saying they are not responsible for theft as it made me feel very uneasy. Did NOT give a good first impression.
Lift is dodgy, will shut hard on you when it feels like and bounces around while in motion. After check in we sat in the room looking for other hotels in the area but as there was a convention on nothing was available. The noise from the road is unreal, we are both very heavy sleepers but we couldn't sleep much (they do offer ear plugs at reception I found from looking online however did not see this until the end of our stay). Very small double beds, we are a couple and ended up sleeping on separate beds for comfort. Cleanliness was fine. Bathroom needs updating, yellowed bath and tiles.
Would not return under any circumstances.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Robynprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Dear Robynprincess,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay.
We are sorry to hear you were uncomfortable in signing the hotel disclaimers. It is a standard procedure to sign such disclaimer in any hotel you check in, some might not be visible on your registration card because it is written in fine print, however, we prefer to let our guests know instead of charging without prior notice.

We ask our guests when they park in the Handicap parking to have handicap sticker because we want to make sure they do not receive a ticket without the handicap permit, it is a courtesy of the hotel to inform our guests.

As you may know and read in other reviews street noise is beyond the hotel control and for some people it may be a discomfort while others enjoy to hear the street noise. We understand and apologize to hear that it was a burden during your stay, we would advise you to change to a different room type should you visit us again.

All our rooms were renovated as well as our housekeeping cleans thoroughly the bathroom floor. The tiles you may have seen is the natural stone color and often mistaken as dirty by our guests.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews