We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
201
421
117
24
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
421
117
24
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lombard street free parking the golden gate bridge marina district great location fisherman's wharf mel's diner chestnut st bus stop walking distance light sleeper interior room restaurants and bars busy road palace of fine arts priced hotel would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 781 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2018

Well located in Lombard straat with own parking lot and plenty of busstops in front of te door. Large, well maintained beautifull rooms. Breakfast Diner at 5 min. walk. Friendly staff advises you on the City.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fastjoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2018

Pros: On the Hop ON/OFF bus line (but bus only goes one way- 2.5 hr round trip). Restaurants nearby (2 blocks). Friendly staff. Clean.

Cons: No pictures on the walls. Bare bones Motel. Not much parking in narrow underground lot. As stated everywhere in San Francisco do not leave valuables in your car. Safe in room as broken. Smoke detector missing. Window view of an enclosed vent shaft.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldWingnutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review.

We understand you wish there were some more pictures on the wall, this is what makes us different from the many rooms you have stayed in other hotels as you seem to remember this about our rooms. It is part of our rustic and serene room atmosphere. As for the parking it is complementary for our guests and spaces are for compact and full size standard cars. Big enough to park large SUV and full size passangers Cara. There is even space for long vans and pick up truvks available in our parking lot. Usually parking fees goes from $40-60/night in downtown hotels. Many of our loyal guests as well ad many tourists choose us for the free parking as it is very expensive yo park in the city. We are sorry to hear the parking was an issue, even though it is free if charge.

We appreciate for commenting the friendliness of our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

I booked here after reading Trip Advisor reviews. The location was perfect for being able to easily use the Muni system. Several lines stop either in front of the hotel or a block away. The neighborhood seemed safe, and there were many restaurants to pick from within easy walking distance. The twisty block of Lombard is within walking distance, as is the Palace of Fine Arts Park. We got a queen-queen room which had a generous bay windowed seating area too. A surprisingly large room for us to spread out in. The front desk clerk was very helpful giving us directions the first day to get a bus to Pier 33. Overall I was extremely happy with our experience and would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

Dear Ellen,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad you had such a wonderful stay at Chelsea Inn and appreciate your are sharing this with other travelers. Chelsea Inn us indeed located in a convenient neighborhood with many restaurants and shops, including the noisy bars during the weekend.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2018 via mobile

My family stayed for 2 nights, and at first had a decent stay. Yes, traffic can be loud, but we didn’t have an issue with that. On our second day our car, along with another car in the garage, were broken into. We were not there since we were out sightseeing, yet the staff failed to notify us of the break in (even though they knew it was our car). We found out ourselves later that night when getting something out of our car. And the manager, Mr. Lee was less than helpful when I had questions. I ended up later speaking with Carmen who was much more apologetic and kind about our situation.
My point in this review is to warn people that even though the parking is free, and they have security cameras, there is no one actually monitoring the garage, and no gate keeping non-hotel guests out. Our break-In happened around lunchtime. There are warning signs to remove personal items, however we were on a 2 week road trip. We took as much out of our car as possible, but had camping items in the back hidden from view. Our car had also been accidentally left unlocked, however the other car’s window was broken out.
Next time I would much rather pay more for secure parking.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank hklein1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2018

We are sorry hear about your car breakage. Unfortunately, no one was aware until you mentioned the staff about the issue as the camera 's are not monitored. As you mention in your review there are signs everywhere warning not to leave any personal belongings in the car, however, yout left your personal belongings in the car... The staff and manager has been very cooperative as to advise you and help you in this unpleasant situation.

Once again it is unfortunate it happened during your stay. San Francisco is not spared from those incidents as any other city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018 via mobile

After having spent a week in Napa, we elected to stay here our last night before flying out from San Francisco Airport. The property is conveniently located about 2 miles from the piers an easy walk. The room itself was was more than we expected for the price. There was plenty of room even with the king size bed. The room is very well appointed. We were on the street side, on Lombardy Street, but did not notice any Street noise. This is a great location for anyone looking to be within walking distance of many of the San Francisco attractions.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank fayesno1son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgr600, General Manager at Chelsea Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear fayesno1son,

Thank you very much for your great feedback, we are glad you did not have any noise issues on Lombard street and enjoyed the location and room space.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews