We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free Parking, Great location, Great View from Columbus street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Columbus Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columbus Motor Inn
Ranked #46 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Free Parking, Great location, Great View from Columbus street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I love the free parking, you will be guarantee for a parking slot.
I love the location, is only minutes walk to Fisherman Wharf, Pier 39, Chinatown, etc... we stayed for 4 nights in 314, thats a king size bed room, with the columbus street view. I love the view from our room, you can see the Coit Tower.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zzzlynnzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    554
    103
    22
    12
See reviews for
424
493
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I was so happy to find this hotel!
It had the most comfortable bed, a nice clean room and I could walk nearly everywhere! And the price was great, I paid only $155 a night, in a city where accommodation is pricy.
I have recommended it to anyone I know travelling to San Fran.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angebange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My son and I spent three days and two nights in SF before a weekend workshop at Esalen. The Columbus Motor Inn was our base due to a wise and generous suggestion from Le Boheme up Columbus just 5 or 6 blocks. The room was clean, renovated, quiet, comfortable and tasteful. The two-person desk staff was familial. We walked to City Lights in North Beach, Chinatown and Pier 39 for a Tiburon trip. We caught a comedy showcase of local comedians at the coolest comedy club I've seen, three blocks from this hotel. And the hopping Club Bimbo 365 is close too. Cable cars and buses run by. Walgreens, World Market, Safeway and Starbucks are hidden in a cool brick building two blocks away when you need a taste of home or some bargain stocks. Linens and ice are plentiful. The parking is easy to get and a snap for in and out. I drove by the patrons of the big Union Square hotels and felt sorry for them. Those institutions are Kant- the gemmish little Columbus Motor Inn, all cheap and humble and where it should be - it is a little Kerouac among the giant St. This and St. That. Let's call this hotel the CMI to give it cool. Everybody is welcome because it has what they need. It is a SF experience that opens up many others.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potosi, MO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Ideal location for walking the northern part of the city, very close to cable car stop, Fisherman's Wharf and all the associated sights. We ride a motorcycle, so safe parking was very important. Parking is under the inn itself, no extra fee. Rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Noah at the front desk could be a concierge at a five star hotel, no problem, he was an unending supply of knowledge and recommendations. Being small town people, the Columbus Motor Inn was a great fit. Definitely a top recommendation for this inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MORoadStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rensselaer, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed here with my brother and sister-in-law, in a 2-bedroom suite. The cost was half what the chain hotels were asking for single rooms. It is within a few blocks of both ghiradelli square and Chinatown. The #30 bus stops right across the street. The cable car is a couple of blocks down the street. These can get you to everything else. Room was clean and comfortable. Service was friendly (would have given five stars, except that we didn't get a replacement light bulb we asked for). Garbage trucks on the street were a bit noisy early in the morning, so an inner room might have helped, but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rrom away from street if you think the noise would bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ActiveTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

If you need to mix biz with pleasure, then this is a perfect motel to keep the family happy while ur at conferences and meetings. Free parking at the motel and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf (a few short blocks to two major Cable Car turnarounds at Hyde near Ghiradelli & Taylor streets) made it easy for me to get to my meetings, and for the rest of the family to get around on foot and public trans to major attractions. We bought 3-day passes for $21 each for unlimited rides on the Cable Cars and other public trans... best bargain ever.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biz_Lady_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

This was a cute inn in a perfect location! I was thrilled when I found such a bargain for a place to stay in such an ideal part of the city! We walked to the fishermans wharf and ghiradelli square in just a few minutes. The rooms were clean and spacious. Will def be back the next time i'm in the city!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlam10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#58 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Wharf Inn
The Wharf Inn
#113 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbus Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbus Motor Inn

Property: Columbus Motor Inn
Address: 1075 Columbus Ave, San Francisco, CA 94133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#37 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#39 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbus Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columbus Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Motor Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Hotel San Francisco
Columbus Motel San Francisco
Columbus Motor Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing