We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbus Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
US$249
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$418
US$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$338
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$309
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$259
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$169
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$385
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,291)
Filter reviews
1,291 results
Traveller rating
530
603
118
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
530
603
118
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree parkingpat's cafecoit towerfisherman's wharfcable cargreat locationlombard streetwithin walking distancebus stop rightsmall balconyfew blocksalcatraz ferrywashington squarelarge flat screen tvthird floorqueen bedwould stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
684 - 689 of 1,291 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was so happy to find this hotel!
It had the most comfortable bed, a nice clean room and I could walk nearly everywhere! And the price was great, I paid only $155 a night, in a city where accommodation is pricy.
I have recommended it to anyone I know travelling to San Fran.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angebange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My son and I spent three days and two nights in SF before a weekend workshop at Esalen. The Columbus Motor Inn was our base due to a wise and generous suggestion from Le Boheme up Columbus just 5 or 6 blocks. The room was clean, renovated, quiet, comfortable and tasteful. The two-person desk staff was familial. We walked to City Lights in North Beach, Chinatown and Pier 39 for a Tiburon trip. We caught a comedy showcase of local comedians at the coolest comedy club I've seen, three blocks from this hotel. And the hopping Club Bimbo 365 is close too. Cable cars and buses run by. Walgreens, World Market, Safeway and Starbucks are hidden in a cool brick building two blocks away when you need a taste of home or some bargain stocks. Linens and ice are plentiful. The parking is easy to get and a snap for in and out. I drove by the patrons of the big Union Square hotels and felt sorry for them. Those institutions are Kant- the gemmish little Columbus Motor Inn, all cheap and humble and where it should be - it is a little Kerouac among the giant St. This and St. That. Let's call this hotel the CMI to give it cool. Everybody is welcome because it has what they need. It is a SF experience that opens up many others.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rranucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Ideal location for walking the northern part of the city, very close to cable car stop, Fisherman's Wharf and all the associated sights. We ride a motorcycle, so safe parking was very important. Parking is under the inn itself, no extra fee. Rooms were immaculate, the staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Noah at the front desk could be a concierge at a five star hotel, no problem, he was an unending supply of knowledge and recommendations. Being small town people, the Columbus Motor Inn was a great fit. Definitely a top recommendation for this inn.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MORoadStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I stayed here with my brother and sister-in-law, in a 2-bedroom suite. The cost was half what the chain hotels were asking for single rooms. It is within a few blocks of both ghiradelli square and Chinatown. The #30 bus stops right across the street. The cable car is a couple of blocks down the street. These can get you to everything else. Room was clean and comfortable. Service was friendly (would have given five stars, except that we didn't get a replacement light bulb we asked for). Garbage trucks on the street were a bit noisy early in the morning, so an inner room might have helped, but it wasn't too bad.

Room Tip: Ask for rrom away from street if you think the noise would bother you.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ActiveTraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If you need to mix biz with pleasure, then this is a perfect motel to keep the family happy while ur at conferences and meetings. Free parking at the motel and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf (a few short blocks to two major Cable Car turnarounds at Hyde near Ghiradelli & Taylor streets) made it easy for me to get to my meetings, and for the rest of the family to get around on foot and public trans to major attractions. We bought 3-day passes for $21 each for unlimited rides on the Cable Cars and other public trans... best bargain ever.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biz_Lady_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews