We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and friendly staff but very thin walls!”
Review of Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Inn
Ranked #99 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I spent a night at this inn, and although the staff was helpful and the room looked nice and clean, I had barely any sleep that night due to the thinness of the shared walls. Let's put it that way, you don't want to be "sandwiched" between people arguing on one side, and people on the other side hitting the wall with the headboard. Also, if you plan on staying a little later in bed, just be aware that they stop serving the complimentary breakfast at 9 a.m. – If you miss it (like I did), you can find a very popular bakery, La Boulange, just a few blocks away on Green St. where they serve excellent coffee and breakfast - The hotel is in a safe location, and very close to nice restaurants, coffee shops and boutiques. Overall, this is not a bad choice as long as you bring earplugs just in case…

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarNat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed 3 nights with wife & 2 teenagers (girl 16, boy 13) and found it was a safe, relatively quiet & in a usefull location for sights (we walked to Fisherman's Wharf in 20 mins). Rooms were clean, staff friendly & helpful. Excellent value & would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ballyduff100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed seven nights in this hotel, which we only booked because of reviews on TripAdvisor. It probably would not have been our first choice, but in the week we were trying to find accommodation, hotel rooms were both scarce and expensive. (Turns out there were a couple of big conferences in SFO while we were there).

First impressions were not that positive. The building is not particularly attractive - think 1970s motel - and it is near the intersection of two busy streets. The room itself (332 from memory) had a rather dated decor and fittings. However, first impressions can be deceptive and such was the case here. Castle Inn is a brilliant place for a traveller on a budget who nevertheless wants comfort and convenience. This hotel ticks all the boxes. The room was spacious and extremely clean, the bed very comfortable and the water pressure in the good-sized bathroom excellent. The windows open (oh, joy!) and the service is efficient and friendly. Parking is free. This was originally one of the reasons for our booking, but as it turned out we decided not to have a car while we were in SFO. A good decision, because public transport is cheap and efficient. The location is excellent. Russian Hill is well served by streetcars and two cable car lines are within easy walking distance. Nearby Polk Street has excellent restaurants (try Rex Cafe and Leopold's - both are great!) and there are lots of restaurants on nearby Union Street.

Overall, this hotel is a gem. The only drawback, as far as we were concerned, was the lacklustre breakfast offerings. The hotel will not appeal to anyone expecting luxury and it may be a problem for travellers who cannot cope with a bit of traffic noise. In relation to that issue, we were on the top floor, near the front of the building and next to the lift. Noise was really not a problem.

If we ever get back to San Francisco - and I very much hope that we do - Castle Inn will be our first choice for accommodation. You never know, the breakfasts may improve in the meantime!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor and back from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMRSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

By sharing my recommendation I do not contend that the Castle Inn is a five-star accomodation. But this hotel has a number of great advantages:
- It's all about people, right? You can expect very friendly young and helpful people.
- Plenty of room space. I was surprised because even the bathroom is spacy.
- Great location. Not only close to everything (downtown, Fisherman's Wharf...) but also close to public traffic, to restaurants, pharmacies...
- Parking included, which is very comfortable
I definitely can recommend if you need a nice stay in order to discover San Francisco!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed 5 nites & loved every minute. The room was super clean, quiet (ask for back of the facility), comfortable and so convenient to neighborhood eateries and shops. Never had to drive or cab it to dinner. Many different selections and all reasonably priced. Small mom pop places. The staff was very helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is small selection, but there are at least 5 breakfast, cafes within a block walk. Parking was not a problem. We knew from other postings that it was tight, so we booked a small car there were 2 of us. We felt safe and secure. Will only stay here in the future. Wonderful price, free parking, and the convenience can not be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights, room 224. Room was clean and reasonably spacious with a fridge/microwave/coffee maker and comfortable beds. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was sparse, but at least free if you're on a budget - we used it to supplement the box of cereal we bought. Castle Inn was pretty easy to find and seemed to be in a good area - free parking another bonus. Thankfully the hotel had an elevator so we didn't have to drag our bags up to the 2nd floor (rooms have outside entrances). We didn't really try to walk anywhere from the hotel, so I can't say if it was conveniently located to things like the cable car etc. Our only complaint was the internet was terrible here, was really patchy and barely worked. We told the front desk but nothing really happened to fix it - being that other reviewers have commented on this, it was a little disappointing that this was still an issue. Other than some very rude guests calling loudly to each other back and forth outside at 2am (don't know why management didn't hear them?!) which due to the shape of the hotel facing the wall seemed to echo, we had a good stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trace123NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Thanks to TripAdvisor once again!

This was a great find. While there's plenty of hotels and motels to choose from in San Francisco, it's difficult to find that perfect balance of decent quality and excellent pricing. This place does it to a T.

The room seems newly remodeled with nice bathroom tile (no slopped on grout). Everything was present and worked find. The bed was very good and the continental breakfast was ok. Pretty much all packaged pastries (plus cereal and fruit) but for what it was, it was fine. I love the one reviewer who dragged the ratings down with criticism of the absence of a big lobby (yeah, it's just a place to check in, and to grab your breakfast and take it to your room) and the lack of room service. Say what?! Now that's funny, I don't care who you are.

The free parking is a big plus, and with enough spaces for the guests, even coming back in late at night. Fine neighborhood and excellent property. Just what we were looking for.

Room Tip: We were way back, off the street, which is probably a good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jazzfan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
610 reviews
Russian Hill
da Vinci Villa
da Vinci Villa
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
1,046 reviews
Nob Hill
Nob Hill Motor Inn
Nob Hill Motor Inn
#137 of 230 in San Francisco
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Buena Vista Motor Inn
Buena Vista Motor Inn
#111 of 230 in San Francisco
772 reviews
Marina District
Coventry Motor Inn
Coventry Motor Inn
#33 of 230 in San Francisco
1,584 reviews
Marina District
Motel Capri
Motel Capri
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Address: 1565 Broadway, San Francisco, CA 94109-2592
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $157 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Described by guests as "the ideal place to stay in San Francisco," Castle Inn offers beautiful rooms, a fantastic location, and wonderful, friendly service. With FREE PARKING, FREE wireless internet access, in-room coffee, cable TV with HBO, hairdryers, iron/boards, mini-fridge/freezers, microwaves, a/c, and mini-breakfast, you have all of the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for your SF visit, we are within walking distance to Fisherman?s Wharf, Chinatown, Cable Cars, Crookedest Street, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel San Francisco
Castle Motel San Francisco
Castle Inn San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing