We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
17
17
20
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
17
20
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tenderloin homeless population comfortable place to stay front desk boutique hotel there is no air conditioning bus stop hear everything great hotel spacious room parking garage checking in definitely stay here again coffee maker union square per night around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 68 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2018

A lovely boutique hotel at the edge of a very dangerous area. HTL 527 has a very attentive staff and really nice reasonable rooms. We are not nightlife people and are happy to be snuggled in our room early. Which, for this area, was good. Our first day walking from Union Square to the hotel was a bit dicey, so we knew then how to maneuver around the area. This place has heart. I hope it succeeds exceptionally. I think it will.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Htl 587, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Hi Janet, Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts on your stay. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us in San Francisco! We are excited to have the opportunity to provide our guests with a comfortable, calm, and convenient place to stay in the middle of the city. We are pleased to know that our property has heart, this is exactly how we feel too! Should your travels bring you back to the area, come and see us again, we would love to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Fernando Arizaga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018

I found this hotel to be somewhat of a hidden gem amidst the chaos of what's known as The Tenderloin District. The room itself met my expectations with regard to cleanliness & style, in addition to comfort. A little on the small side in a way (comparable to that of European-style hotel room square footage). Although the property itself is quiet within (no paper-thin walls in hearing your neighbors), you will easily hear the outside exterior of everyday life within the Tenderloin District. Welcome to urban life up close.

Customer service here is excellent! I greatly appreciated front desk agent Fernando's assistance in helping me find out exactly where to park. In checking in here, the loading zone is adjacent to the bus stop on Eddy Street. The hotel doesn't offer a parking garage, so you'll have to park in a lot that is shared with the Cova Hotel, located on nearby 655 Ellis Street (about one block up). There is metered parking nearby, yet I wouldn't trust it here. A lot of vagrants on this street who some say won't bother you. I just wouldn't give anyone the opportunity. Just my two cents.

While I didn't stay for breakfast, you'll notice that there are plenty of eateries up & down the street to choose from. I'm uncertain if the hotel offers breakfast (worth asking). The hotel itself has a slight nouveau-rich style feel to it, with a nod to the past with its old school elevator, and jazz contemporary music that plays at a soft volume within the hallways. Amenities such as a pool were not noticed (consider the space), yet that doesn't mean that they don't exist. Better ask the front desk.

All & all, I'd stay here again. Very unique in several ways. Oh, and thank you for the expresso + Keurig coffee in the room, hotel management.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erictO3582YF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Htl 587, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Thank you for your very positive feedback - it is always wonderful to be considered a "gem"! We are ecstatic to have provided you with a most memorable experience at our hotel. Our philosophy is that it is the personal relationships we establish with our guests that we value most, so if there is anything I or my team can do to enhance your next stay, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards,
Fernando Arizaga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 7, 2018 via mobile

Hotel with a strategic position to reach all the attractions of the city. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. The seriousness and professionalism of the staff guarantees customers an impeccable service.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank OTTO N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Htl 587, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Hi Otto, Thank you both for choosing to stay at our hotel, and for providing us with your feedback. We certainly appreciate your observations. At our hotel, it is the personal relationships we establish with our guests that we value most along with providing superior service, and we are pleased with your comment in relation to the professionalism of our staff. We hope that you will return to stay at our hotel when you make a return trip to San Francisco.


Best Regards,
Fernando Arizaga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018

What a nightmare! This hotel is located in the number 1 WORST area in San Francisco, Tenderloin. Homeless drug addicts line the streets, screaming and shouting all the time. Nowhere during our booking were we made aware of how unsafe the area was, it was a last minute rush to find another booking. The hotel also confirmed that we were not the first people to have booked then cancelled and left within the first hour of being there. Stay well away from Tenderloin!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank CandiceFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Htl 587, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear guest, thank you for your feedback. Our guests really love our central location close to the main attractions of the city as well as great restaurants and bars, but we are very sorry to read that our hotel location ambiance was not entirely to your liking, and we are sorry that you were so disappointed with this. Unfortunately, homelessness, just like many major cities, is evident throughout San Francisco, but the people who frequent this area pose no problem to our guests. We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to restore your faith in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Fernando Arizaga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2018 via mobile

I took the room for 3, it was unique, nice and clean, although bit smaller that what i thought. Surrounding was not so good at night.
The staffs are friendly too.
But just dont ask them for car arrangement, they strangely increased the price from the beginning to the end of ride, it was like double of uber price at the end.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Yenni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Htl 587, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Hi Yenni, We greatly appreciate your feedback on your recent stay - thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in the main, although we are sorry to hear that you received inconsistent pricing from car services that we arranged. We are happy to provide our guests with a number of transportation options, and our guests are usually very satisfied with the transport that we arrange, although obviously, we have no input into the pricing charged by the transport company. Despite this issue, we hope to be your hotel of choice for future visits to San Francisco.

Best Regards,
Fernando Arizaga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews